We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Regina Sofia

Regina Sofia
Ranked #139 of 2 109 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$68
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Il nome Regina Sofia nasce dal fatto che un bel giorno, nel nostro ristorante di famiglia dove cucinavamo solo pesce, ricevemmo la visita inaspettata dell'attrice Sophia Loren. La stessa ci fece la richiesta di accompagnare la pietanza con una pizza focaccia e non avendo noi un forno a legna, ordinammo una focaccia in una pizzeria a noi vicina. Lei la mangiò ma si accorse dell'inganno e con una battuta ci disse: "'O Napulitan se fa sicc ma nun mor" e sorrise. La nostra risposta fu: "Apriremo un ristorante con forno a legna e lo chiameremo Regina Sofia”.
Reviewed 25 October 2018

A Climatic place with very good, italian pizza. Great location and kindly staff. They serve nice home wine for reasonable price.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blawis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1 073 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

On a busy Friday evening, they managed to squeeze our family of five into a ‘small corner table upstairs’. With more than enough space, I’m glad they did.

Zucchini starters, pasta and pizza main courses ... cold red house wine and decent beers to wash them all down.

No rush to get us out of there which was very much appreciated.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank TheMemorialGround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We assumed it would be expensive and touristy given its proximity to the Piazza Maggiore, but surprisingly it wasn’t! The Tagliatelle alla Ragu was very generous in size, but the pizzas were amazing! My husband couldn’t stop raving about his, and I didn’t hear a peep out of my 6 yr old who sat and ate every last crumb! The Napoltean base was a winner and we were impressed to hear the chef leaves the yeast to rise for 72 hrs, so 3 days in the making! Service was great and very accommodating of our very short schedule. Absolutely recommended!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sharonhR1863DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Pizza was delicious: in their menu they propose classics, but also original recipes, like pizza with courgette flowers and potatoes. It was delicious.
Service was fast, and the staff was very helpful in helping us chose our wine. Reasonable prices, considering you are two steps away from Piazza Maggiore. They have tables outside, under the colonnade, which was nice.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 667claudiov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We had Tagliatelle al Ragù, it was perfect, big portion.
Forgot to take a picture when it arrived, here's after.
Recommend it.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Regina Sofia also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Regina Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing