We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A really lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bologna, Province of Bologna, Emilia-Romagna

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
happyfrid...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A selfish bit of me wants to keep quiet about that this place so that we can go back without too much competition for space. But that would really not be fair, on those who might visit and on Brunello and Francesca who were the perfect hosts for our two weeks at La Sechita Rapita.

Whilst there we also met Julio and Chiara their children, during our second week. All were friendly and helpful about places to eat, shop, do the recycling, internet etc, in all a lovely family. We felt privileged to have had the opportunity to share their home and very sad to leave.

The accommodation consists of the top floor of a two storey villa and Brunello and Francesca live in the downstairs floor. It is really comfortable with plenty of balcony space around most of the villa to sit and take in the beautiful view all round. There is air conditioning in the bedrooms and the lounge. The pool is on top of the hill behind the villa and is surrounded by a hedge and has a little changing room and plenty of loungers. It is a decent size too, I think one of the previous reviews meant to say it was 10 metres long, not 10 feet as their review suggests.

Tip - It is a really lovely location in the hills outside Bologna, however suggest you take sat nav though, even the best maps we were able to get weren't really up to it. Locally Monteveglio Alto is worth a look. Brunello and Francesca can give you guidance on other places worth going.

Tip - Whilst it doesn't look much, the pizzaria opposite Conad supermarket is very good and reasonably priced.

Tip – the linen referred to on the website includes towels and beach/pool towels too, so no need to clutter up your bags with these.

As our first time in Italy on holiday (with teenagers inspired to see it by Assassins creed!.... who says computer games are not educational) we were keen to get a taster of a range Italian highlights. Whilst Bologna itself is definitely worth spending time in, (it has its own leaning towers, open squares and little back streets to explore) it is also ideally situated to access Venice, Florence and Rome via the cheap, fast and reliable train network. You need to reserve seats on the high speed trains, you can do this on line and all you should need thereafter is the PNR code to quote to the ticket inspector. The train stations are very close to the centre of each city.

To do the longer journeys we bottled out of driving into Bologna (its a bit bigger than we imagined) and drove to Castelfranco Emilia, where the station is reasonably easy to find. There is a little commuter line that goes through Bazzano that is nearer but trains are not so frequent and none were running when we there because of engineering works.

In Venice we initially used the Vaporetto water bus to get to St Marks square, they don’t exactly advertise the cost until you get to the ticket window which is a bit naughty ……… after a long queue. You can get a ticket providing unlimited journeys but this costs €20 each for a day, alternatively a single journey is €7.5 each. There are various routes, a number of which go down the grand canal. That said, the one we went on was so busy that you have virtually no view if you get stuck in the middle of the boat. As an alternative on our second trip, there is almost no Q for the water taxi’s which are stylish open topped motor boats. Whilst considerably more expensive than the vaporetto, the experience for the five of us by water taxi was a vastly more enjoyable one than on the vaporetto.

The coliseum is two stops on the tube from Rome Termini station. In Rome we had only a day and it is definitely worth booking the coliseum and forum on line in advance, the Q is immense otherwise. Only hassles with this is that you have to take what you printed off from the on-line booking to get a ticket for entrance to the coliseum at the exit to the forum, several hundred yards away off to the left after the second set of traffic lights on the road towards Trajans column. The ticket gives a time to turn up at the coliseum, don’t bother turning up before the allotted time as the barrier won’t let you through!

In Florence, definitely book the Uffizi on line in advance, again the Q is huge otherwise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to pick
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriel M
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace and perfection in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment of booking, everything with our stay at La Secchia Rapita was superb, firstly the owner, Giulio was extremely helpful and responded to any emails very quickly. His parents live in the apartment below and when we arrived we were given a very warm welcome by his father, Brunello, and a tour of the property, he had kindly provided some provisions (cereal, milk, water etc) for us which was very thoughtful. The property is very spacious and homely, and the air conditioning in the bedrooms was very welcome as it was 35C+ during our stay. The property has a large wrap-around balcony with lots of seating under shade and the views in every direction are spectacular. The pool area is lovely with loungers, deckchairs and a large parasol to provide welcome shade, and the pool temperature was a very comfortable 28-30C while we were there. The apartment is clean and very well equipped, the only thing missing is a washing machine but it was no problem to hand wash a few items at a time and of course they dried very quickly! Giulio's mother, Francesca, offered us the use of their washing machine which was kind but not needed by us.
We met Giulio at the beginning and end of our holiday and also his sister Chiara, and I can honestly say what a lovely, kind and helpful family they are. They all spoke good English and were more than happy to recommend places to visit, where to shop and good local restaurants - they even phoned and made bookings for us which was a great help as our Italian is rather limited. When we left this morning I really felt quite emotional as their personal touch made our holiday just perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre G
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Wonderful retreat and a home away from home”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 4 and we stayed here in July 2015. We met our hosts Francesca and Brunello on arrival and for the whole week we spent there they were excellent hosts. We were shown around the upstairs apartment and pool area and were very impressed. The house was very spacious, comfortable and clean and the pool area was clean with plenty of seating. Our hosts were so helpful. They drove us to the local supermarket which was about 5 minutes drive away but there is also a small shop within walking distance for fresh bread etc. The villa had everything we needed although we missed not having a washing machine. There are lots of seating areas outside and a really comfortable sofa shaded from the sun ideal for relaxing and reading. The apartment was cleaned daily which was great. Francesca and Brunello invited us downstairs where we enjoyed a lovely meal of local cuisine and local wines in their company. Brunello even brought us to the local winery to buy some of the local Vallona wine, which was lovely.
We also met their son Giulio who was really helpful also. He gave us plenty of information about our visit to Bologna and even printed out our boarding passes for our flight home. We visited the local towns and sights. A car is required for here and the roads are quite narrow but the countryside is worth the visit. Our teenage children loved the pool and table tennis. There was nothing that we didn't like about this accommodation. Our hosts went out of their way to make this an enjoyable experience and their lovely home and pool made it a perfect holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SABKENT
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A true rural retreat. Very special place in the Italian Hills.”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

From the moment you arrive at Ca Di Sole it feels special. Greeted by the wonderful Mauro & Francesca - both friendly & helpful in every way. Nothing is too much trouble. English well spoken as well as other languages. Stayed in The Fenile apartment. Absolutely lovely. The rural retreat in the hills has lovely grounds, outdoor pool & even a sauna. You can cook your own food on the bbq/pizza oven. All the apartments have their own space for outside dining & relaxing, as well as the grounds open to all who stay. You cannot stay here without booking yourselves into their restuarant & having Francesca and or Mauro cook for you. Very reasonable prices for a 3 course meal. Home made meals/honey/bread etc can be bought there too. All absolutely wonderful. Within 1hr - 1 1/2hrs drive to Modena, Bologna, Sienna, Florence, Pisa & Luca - all amazing places that we visited during our 2 week stay. Go on book & try it all out for yourselves. Thank you Mauro & Francesca x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzimarz
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This villa is lovely and was very spacious and the surrounding views were beautiful set in the hills with vineyards to one side. In the evenings we saw some stunning sunsets sitting outside as there is a balcony (and seating) running all around the outside. The pool is around 5ft deep and about 10ft long and secluded. The owners speak good English and were very welcoming and helpful during our stay and we felt very welcome and comfortable. They had thoughtfully left drinks in the fridge for our arrival which were very welcome.
The air conditioning in the bedroom made a real difference as it was very hot while we were there. We had a car which definitely made our stay easier.
We had a fantastic week here with Lamborghini and Ferrari about 40minutes away (definitely book the ferrari factory tour). Locally Vignola had a very interesting fortress to visit and Bologna towers with it's 508 steps (yes we counted) is well worth a visit. The only negative was we had only booked for 1 week as it would have been great to explore some more. A wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing