We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful,well equipt cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Little Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Cottage
plan the entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Little Cottage
plan
the entrance
the living room with the little loft
living room
detail
the living room and the kitchen
view from the little loft
living room
the kitchen
kitchen and the window on the little garden
detail in the kitchen
kitchen
little loft
loft
loft
the master bedroom
the studio in the master bedroom
the door window to the backyard
the backyard
the bathroom
the big shower in the bathroom
the logo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bologna, Province of Bologna, Emilia-Romagna

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Helen G
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful,well equipt cottage”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived earlier than the check in time but Clara went out of her way to enable us to get in. She really couldn't have been more helpful with the area, things to do, even booking taxis for us in the mornings to get to the train station.
The cottage isn't in the main town but it is a pleasant walk along the porticoed streets, seeing the sights.There is everything that you would need at the cottage, it is comfortable, beautifully decorated (Clara's own pictures are lovely) and the little courtyards were delightful to sit in in the evening. We had an amazing stay in Bologna and Clara is an exceptional hostess.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thank you so much Helen! I'm very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Little Cottage and in Bologna!
I wish you all the best! ciao! Clara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donveitch...
scarborough
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived Saturday 20th may
Owner was there to meet us she was very helpful and friendly
The little cottage was first class with everything you need
About 15 min walk to city centre
Bus service outside your door cheap and easy to use
Just about perfect
Don veitch

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thank you Don! I'm very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Little Cottage!
All the best!
kind regards
Clara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan2301...
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A magical retreat near the city centre”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This little cottage is gated and has its own garden at the front and back. It has been tastefully and lovingly renovated and maintained. It is clean, comfortable and well equipped and located in a quiet side street, yet only a 5 minute walk to the walled entrance to the old city. Two bicycles are available for use. There is a bus stop a few steps from the cottage and tickets can be purchased from the tobacconist across the street. On either side of the tobacconist, we recommend the local Cafe Mazzini which has excellent pastries and coffee and is reasonably priced, and also the Pizzeria Mazzini that provided good cheap pizzas on nights when we felt too lazy to go out or cook for ourselves! The hostess Clara is delightful and was very helpful on arrival and most attentive during our stay. We loved Bologna and hope to return one day and stay at the Little Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thank you Susan very much for your kind review! I'm really happy that you have enjoyed your holiday in Little Cottage and in Bologna!
Me too I hope you will come back again!
best regards,
Clara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASCaspar
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute, Romantic and Practical”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We luckily stumbled upon this super gem of a holiday rental. Situated a short walk from the old city walls or 20 meters from the bus stop going to the centre of the city, the location of this awesome property couldn't be better given that parking is also included !!

The cottage itself is well appointed, has the little touches covered that make you settle in she want to stay. We enjoyed the kitchen facilities and making dishes with the abundant produce of the area, including feasting by candlelight with a great local wine.

The value and quality of this property are understated and should not be discounted. I promise that a booking here won't disappoint !!i

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thank you very much Raphael for your nice review! I'm very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Little Cottage and I hope to see you again in the future! Best regards and wishes!
Clara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny'sMo...
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Welcoming, Comfortable, Sweet”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My sister and I arrived by train mid-morning and took a 10 minute taxi ride to the apartment where charming Clara, our host, allowed us to drop our bags off early in the day before check-in time and gave us keys to her sweet rental. The house is just off of the main road, with a private courtyard that opens to the front doors (two sets of doors, one large wooden outer door set and inside glass French floors). The weather was a tad gloomy during our visit do we didn't get to enjoy the patio area. The doors open to the living and dining room area, very cosy. There are lots of guide books and area info to help plan your visit. The kitchen, galley style, is off of the living room, and is very functional and well-equipped, and includes a washing machine. (Drying rack is available.) There is a ladder in the living room up to a small loft area, which we didn't use. Under the ladder is a doorway to a small hallway, off of which to the left is the bedroom, with a large bed, and a bathroom to the right. The nice-sized bathroom is very well-equipped and has great storage compared to many we've seen. There is a second patio area off of the bedroom, but due to the weather, we never ventured out there. Bologna is a wonderful city, so walkable and interesting. Our Main Street was just minutes to the walled city center, with shops and small cafes along the way. We walked everywhere, though we did initially take a red bus tour of the city to get our bearings, and since we had a two-day pass, took the bus/mini train up to San Luca (and then walked back down all the way - just lovely). We also took a 20-minute regional train to Ferrara for a day trip and highly recommend that town. But I love, love, love Bologna, and would go back again to explore more of the surrounding area. And of course, I'd highly recommend Clara's Little Cottage as the place to stay. High marks to our host, who could not be nicer or more energetic. (Clara was in the midst of preparing to open a shop while we visited, and we had a chance to go by and see it while in Bologna, and my sister bought a small treasure from Clara while there.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Comfort, location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
GRAZIE MILLE! it has been a pleasure to host you and I really hope that you will come back again! best wishes! Clara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing