We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 761)
Filter reviews
1 761 results
Traveller rating
983
606
135
28
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
983
606
135
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station side street rooftop bar piazza maggiore the main shopping street excellent location roof garden central location breakfast room modern hotel junior suite centre of bologna great shower breakfast staff pastries quiet street wonderful city
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1 761 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We had chosen this hotel based on its location - close to Donatello Restaurant, walking distance from the station and close to Piazza Maggiore. It proved to be the right choice.

Showers good. One of our two rooms had a fridge but not the other.

The rooftop bar was delightful at sunset with a very friendly and helpful barman.

Front desk staff were friendly and helpful too and we left our bags with them at the 11am checkout as our train was a couple of hours later.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Trish, thank you for telling your stay experience on Tripadvisor. It is really a pleasure to know that you have been well with us and that you have also enjoyed the restaurants in the area. We hope to see you again soon in Bologna in the future. A cordial greeting from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Great location - walking distance of all the major spots in Bologna. The rooms are very modern and the bathroom is large for European standards (which is appreciated). The staff on the other hand was one of the worst I've ever encountered. I travel often for work and leisure and have never been treated by a hotel staff the way their team treated us. On our first day in town (after a long day of travel), we asked if the rooftop was open - they told us the rooftop was indeed open, but the bar on the rooftop was not. Since the rooftop was one of the reasons we decided to book this hotel, we went up to see the view and enjoy a glass of wine (from the wine we purchased in town). After about 5mins of being up on the rooftop - alone - the front desk worker followed us up to yell at us for having wine and told us to leave. We later found out she watched us on the cameras and followed us up to the rooftop. I would never expect a 4 star hotel to speak to guest in such manner and when I went down to discuss the mis-communication, she repeated to verbal accost us. Again, something I have never experienced in any hotel I've stayed at in 20+ countries. It was a horrible way to start our trip, made us feel very uncomfortable and not eager to come home at night. If you are looking for a clean, updated hotel in a great part of town and won't have any interaction with staff - then this place is great. Otherwise, there are better options out there.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cassandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Cassandra, thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor, although it is not very clear why you think the staff is "horrid". It's a comment that until now had never been made against our staff. It is clearly written everywhere that it is not allowed to consume drinks or food purchased outside, in our roof garden. It is a condition that is more than normal and common to all the activities and to all the hotels in the world, except perhaps for campsites or activities where it is explicitly allowed. You say to marvel at the behavior of a 4-star hotel, at this point I wonder if you've ever been in a 4-star hotel and have consumed a bottle of wine bought outside. These rules serve both for a security issue and for a health law. If then the communication between you and our staff was particularly angular, I apologize, but surely there has been a misunderstanding. The bar on the roof garden officially opens at 5 p.m. but if you had asked we could give you a bottle of wine with great pleasure, is not necessary a professional barman for this service. Despite the misunderstanding, which I hope I have clarified, we hope to see you soon in Bologna. a cordial greeting from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

We spent five nights here in early October and found the hotel extremely pleasant. The rooms are small but we were fortunate enough to have a sizeable terrace off our bedroom which certainly helped with any sense of claustrophobia. The design and furnishings are all sleek and stylish, the bed was very comfortable, and the AC worked quietly. Wifi was free. The roof top terrace provided a nice respite after a day of sightseeing. The drinks were pricey but I guess someone has to pay for the view. Very jolly bartender. In fact all of the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Lucca at the front desk advised us nightly on restaurants we might enjoy and he was always on target. Others have mentioned the charming and sumptuous breakfast display -- a feast for the eyes as well as for the body., and the breakfast staff couldn't have been more accommodating. This is the second very good Metropolitan Hotel that we have stayed in. I'm eager to try more of them, Despite being part of a hotel group it had its own character, one just right for a sophisticated, foody city. We would certainly return if we ever were to return to Bologna. All in all, a delightful experience and a very good value.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a terrace!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Craig1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Craig, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor. Your review makes us happy, especially because you mentioned the staff and the commitment with which they try to convey a warm sense of hospitality to our guests. I just have to clarify that we do not belong to any hotel chain and that perhaps for the other Metropolitan hotels in which you stayed it was simply a case of homonemy. Hoping to see you again soon in Bologna in the future I send you the most cordial greetings from our staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Hotels in the historic centre are all in old buildings, they’re all expensive, and, probably like the Metropolitan, work hard to make the available accommodation serve a clientele which is accustomed elsewhere to more space and easier access. The Metropolitan is in a side street just off the main Indipendenza thoroughfare. It has a bar on the roof with rather high prices and good views, but there is a very pleasant and much cheaper café 20 metres from the front door. It doesn’t need a restaurant because they are all around, although they do serve breakfast which is a master-class in how to serve a large number of people in a small space in a short time – and have them all leave contented and well fed.
Our room was reasonably sized, everything worked, including the wi-fi, and the worst thing I can complain about is that there were no tissues or armchairs. The TV had no English language channels which worked. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet at night, the window opened and the aircon was efficient. Service at the front desk was always available and most obliging. I’d stay again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Peter, thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We're happy that you felt well with us, and we're sorry you did not find the channels in English. We have more than 500 channels and satellite TV and English channels are more than numerous. If you had immediately communicated your problem to the reception, we would have definitely solved it. The reception is open 24h and available to our guests for every need. Hoping to see you again soon in Bologna, I thank you and send you the most cordial greetings from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

The Metropolitan is ideally located within a Prosecco cork’s throw of umpteen fabulous Italian restaurants and bars. The hotel is clean, stylish and ideal for three days in Bologna. It has a wonderful roof terrace bar - run by a charming, football-loving Italian barman. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient.
We loved Bologna for loads of reasons - few English speaking tourists (wish we had tried to speak more Italian), stunning architecture, great art galleries and quirky sights like the anatomical theatre. Thoroughly recommended!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank br0nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hmetro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Bron, thank you for sharing with other travelers your poetic vision of our hotel and our city. We are happy that you enjoyed it, and we are proud to read that you liked Bologna too. The anatomic theater is one of the attractions of Bologna and testifies to the great culture and medical tradition of the city. We hope to see you again soon in Bologna. A cordial " arrivederci" ;) from all the staff, Gianclaudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews