We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice location”

Trattoria Dal Cordaro
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Trattoria Dal Cordaro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #865 of 14 093 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Trastevere
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We were glad to find this trattoria near where we were staying. The food was quite good, prices not bad for the location. The atmosphere is nice (off the busy streets), though for us it was ruined by a large table of American tourists who, judging by their conversation, must have assumed no one else in the place spoke English. (Other reviews indicate this is not a tourist place, but our experience was otherwise.) Note that this place was first a wine shop and later a restaurant, according to our waiter. Staff may try to push expensive wine, but we eventually found a respectable vintage at a reasonable cost.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Proprietario at Trattoria Dal Cordaro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thanks for your review. Sorry for the other guests but we cannot know them in advance. We confirm that our Trattoria is mostly attended not by foreign tourists, but we are glad and happy when they decide to choice our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Very nice place to eat amongst citizens of Rome. Friendly people and great value for money. I loved the atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 704jeroend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Proprietario at Trattoria Dal Cordaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you Jeroen for your review. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Great food and relaxed vibe :) All my friends, from abroad, enjoyed the amazing and tasty food; quality and quantity are definetely flawless!!!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank AliceG7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Proprietario at Trattoria Dal Cordaro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank you for your review. See you next time in Rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a traditional and non turistc restaurant to taste the traditional roman food, this is the right place. They kindly set us a table at their internal garden that is kept very clean and neat. During this season it's perfect cause you get to enjoy your food while feeling the evening summer breeze.The staff was very kind, they didn't put any kind of pressure during our meal even though we were the last table they had to serve. Furthermore, our waiter knew well the kitchen as he passionately advised us on the food choice. Their selection of wine is very characteristic and well chosen. The food was so good that we forgot to take pictures. I recommend you their second courses! Trattoria Dal Cordaro is one of the few places still alive in Rome where you can actually eat traditional roman dishes. If you're not from Rome you should definitely try it

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank cmaryrose04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Proprietario at Trattoria Dal Cordaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review Mary Rose and happy birthday even if with a little delay. we are very glad you had a so nice stay in our Trattoria and we are looking forward to see you again. You'll have a Prosecco in the house for sure. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

The place is a very traditional restaurant. After the new owners restored the premise, the look is very clean, quite bright but still with the original look, thanks to the old Roman bricks wall which is part of the wall that connects the house to the ancient city gate: "Porta Portese". Inside the atmosphere is full of joy thanks to the very friendly staff, and the smell of the very tasty traditional food is only the first bit of the tasting experience that will follow, a very traditional cuisine prepared by the local chef. In fact the menu is a list of really traditional local food from Rome, which of course is one of the best in Italy. We started with the Carciofi alla Romana (artichokes), super-good! (see picture). Then we had some pasta. This is called Cacio e Pepe. I don't remember having a better one before (I used to live in Rome so I know how a Cacio e Pepe must be, believe me). Then I could taste both maialino con funghi porcini (pork with porcini mushrooms) and Baccalà alla Romana (Baccalà is Cod fish, in this case cooked in the traditional Roman way). Both were tasty and perfectly cooked. I have absolutely no complaints. Everything was accompanied by wine. We have chosen the wine made by the son of a very popular Italian actor, Gianmarco Tognazzi. I have to say the wine is good and especially is a perfect match with the food we have got. So what else? Dessert of course! Torta with cream and wild strawberries: delicious. I really recommend a visit, you will not be disappointed. Salute!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Enzo_Flying_Italian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Proprietario at Trattoria Dal Cordaro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Fantastic review.... what else? See you soon. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Dal Cordaro also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Dal Cordaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing