We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
128
111
21
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
111
21
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel metro station booked a twin room really enjoyed our stay here rooms are modern min walk hotel is located hotel room centre of rome the hotel staff spanish steps balcony todis ostiense basilica reception taxi
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Hotel San Paolo was our first and last of five stops when we arrived to Italy and this hotel was definitely one of the best stays! The room we had was clean, up to date with enough room for a couple. The location of the hotel is also great in terms of access to subways...we were 4 -5 stops from the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain the Vatican etc. The area is a little questionable however we never felt unsafe when walking at night back to our hotel room. The cafe is also great for a quick coffee and snacks. All employees were quite helpful, understood English well and did their best to meet our needs!

Room Tip: Third floor air conditioning seemed to work better than the fourth!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexiis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

will not go too much into a review, but this Hotel is spot on from all the other reviews:
Its a nice modem hotel, staff are very friendly - the area is run down and can be off putting, on way to the Metro - yeap - there is the smell of pee on the pavements, lol
this is due to a small local park cafe that is open in the evening, but do not left this put you off.

is a good price hotel that is 4 stop to the Colosseum ( 8-10 minute ride ) and 2 blocks from hotel - 2 minute walk.

useful Info:
there is a small supermarket called Todis a block away where you can buy small bottle of water from 50 cent euro compared to Euro 1.50 so grab a bottle there.

if you are going to Rome during the hot period, August, take a 1.5 L bottle water - a smaller one will not do as you will be drinking alot and can fill it up at the fountains with fresh cooler water when you see one.

we took our food to go at the canteen before we traveled off into Rome.

we went August 2017:
Airport to Hotel
- Taxi was Euro 48 per person, i believe..!!! - 5-10 minutes ride.
Shuttle was Euro 20 per person - about 20 minutes ride. at the time we were the first stop.

Hotel to Airport - by Uber was appox euro 50-60 depending on time you travel.
On the Metro - Euro 8 about 30-40 minutes and a 10 minute walk to terminal 3.

Night bus back to Hotel is N3 & N23 when the metro is close is at Piramide, i think, but ask the hotel staff where to pick it up.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Av a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

I Want to Talk About My Bad Experience , And i want The Higher Management of the Hotel and All Reviewers Reading this Review to Know How An Unprofessional Manager and Other Staff can Give a Bad Image About a Good Hotel !
In General the Good things was :
(1) Its a Good Hotel with Nice Rooms
(2) The Staff on the Reception was Nice and Friendly
The Bad Disaster things and which make it a Bad Experience and NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL Was :
We Booked a 2 Triple Rooms , And when we Arrived and Checked in
we Noticed that one of the Rooms the AC wasn't Working , and it was Very Hot
when we contact the Reception they Called the Manager Silvia and told her she Said the Hotel is Full and we can't Do Anything for you and she was outside the Hotel !
After Spending more than hour on the Reception they Gave us a Double Room while we booked and Paid for triple room !
we were going from rome to Milan and then coming back to rome So when we checked out the Staff on the Reception asked us if we can book again when we come back so they Can Make it up for us for the Previous Mistake and we said OK .
the Disaster was when we came back After one week and checked in in the Hotel
we Faced more and more Problems which Gave us a Really Bad Image !
The International TV Channels wasn't Working and when we called them and asked for the Reason they Said the Rooms are facing Technical Problems with the TV's and it Can't be Solved .
Next Day Morning we called the House Keeping and she came to our Room and we asked her to Clean the Room and she Said that after 5 minutes she'll come and clean the room and we left , and when we came back to the Room we Were shocked that the room is not clean and that no body cleaned it .
Can you Imagine that we Asked to Clean the Room and they Didn't clean it
and the Manager instead of being sorry for that
can you imagine that she said we asked not to clean the Room !!!!!!!
I want to Reply for her
(1st) its their Job to Clean All the Rooms without waiting every Customer to remind them with their Job
(2nd) we Also Called the House Keeping and she came to our room and she said she'll come to clean after 5 Minutes .
so Instead of Giving this Silly Reply from the Manager Silvia its better for her to go follow her staff and to solve the Problems in the Hotel instead of she's all the time outside the Hotel and there is no-one in charge in the hotel to solve the Rooms Problems !
we were really Mad and Unhappy with all this Problems .
The Big Problem was when we went to the Reception to Complain the Manager Silvia wasn't there AS USUAL . and when they Called her and told her she wasn't Professional at all and she Simply Said Sorry i Can't Do Anything .
and the Silly Funny thing that when we Complained about her , instead of being sorry and trying to solve the Problem she started to try to blame others while she started to say silly things faaaaar away from the truth which all the Staff in the Hotel saw it .
Anyway
As i Said the Hotel is Good But an Unprofessional Manager Like Silvia which isn't doing her Job Probably can give a Bad image and Experience for the Hotel !

Room Tip: Not Recommended
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel San Paolo R, Direttore at Hotel San Paolo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Mister Obaid, we do evaluate your feedback therefore here I am to distress the downsides of your first experience here with us. In fact, you decided to come back and stay by our hotel one week later making a new reservation before your departure, despite the inconvenience with the room temperature and your negative opinion about our hotel. Starting from the AC, there was a technical problem only in one of your rooms (your reservation was for two rooms) and the reception staff quickly changed you the room with another one with a perfect temperature. Regarding the problem with TV channels, we had a problem with optic fiber that was solved in 4 hours. Concerning the room cleaning, you communicated to the housekeeping that for one of the rooms you didn't need the service: you asked only for two rolls of toilet paper, towels and iron. When the reception staff called me, at 8 pm because you wished to talk to me I received a lot of insults about me, the staff and the hotel. When you finished to talk, you close the phone call without giving me the possibility to reply. Despite this I asked a person to clean your room but you refused the service. We are very sorry that your stay with us wasn’t satisfactory for you. Hoping to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel, we thank you again for choosing twice the Hotel San Paolo Roma. Silvia Franti - Hotel Manager Hotel San Paolo Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights. I originally booked the hotel to stay longer than 4 nights but was unable to. Since my booking was nonrefundable...the hotel accommodated me by including dinner each night and the waiter even offered a glass of wine each night I had dinner on the house! They also allowed me to use the mini bar free of charge and upgraded me to a larger room with a terrace! The rooms were very clean & cozy. The hotel is in walking distance from the train station...about a 5 min walk.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Kandace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel San Paolo R, Direttore at Hotel San Paolo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Kandace, thank you for your special review. The customer's satisfaction is the best gratitude for those who work in the tourism, especially at the reception front desk. Our reception staff is always ready to give suggestions and information, book city tours or private car services and offer a personalized concierge service 24h a day to satisfy the various needs that all our guests may express. It's true that Hotel San Paolo Roma is situated in a great location. You can easily find all means of public transportation to reach the heart of the historical center in a matter of minutes. Just 200 meters from the hotel there is the metro Station of the B line "San Paolo Basilica" which is just four stops away from the awe-inspiring Coliseum! In addition, there are numerous bus stops that allow you to easily reach all of the hot spots of Rome. We hope to see you again very soon. Best regards. Silvia Franti - Hotel Manager Hotel San Paolo Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Great place worth of staying. Room was big and clean with big wide bed. Everyday was cleaned to perfection. Had really good sleep as room was very queit. Good breakfast and freshly made. All staff working there are friensly and helpfull.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ingad40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews