We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious food, attentive staff”
Review of Taverna Angelica

Taverna Angelica
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Taverna Angelica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #400 of 13 897 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vatican / Borgo
Description: In the historical area of Borgo, in the vicinity of Saint Peter's Cathedral, we offer a modern and creative menu based on seafood and selected meats, in a cosy and comfortable setting.
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor we thought we'd give this a go. Seriously not for us. We've travelled the world and who'd have thought the worst Italian food we'd eat was in Italy. My wife ordered rabbit in a glass. What turned up was ice cold rabbit in a glass filled with oil. My risotto had "seafood powder" in, guess what - it was seafood powder alright. Food not nice for us but I understand some people may like this. My beer came from a small can, nothing on draft. Waiter was very attentive which is why I scored 3 and not 2. Limited food selection, no pizza, no traditional pasta dishes. Place was also empty which could tell a story. Trying to be something it isn't, but hey, if you like iced rabbit then pop in.

Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taverna A, Proprietario at Taverna Angelica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

We are sorry about the experience you had ,but we think you were looking for somerhing different. It is true, we don't have pizza and the most famous Italian food lasagna, cannelloni etc etc. but we have a menu on the website that tells you that we are different from the classic or old fashion italían food.
I'm also sure that you founded this information in most of the reviews you have read.
Thank you for rating our service, we are attentive because we care about people as much as we cared about you and your wife. My suggestion: is: when you have to choose a restaurant give a look at the menu, first, then at the reviews, eventually. Enjoy your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Francisco was a great and professional waiter that made our visit special. The food was great and the restaurant was very modern and beautiful.

Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Best place we’ve found to eat in Rome so far! Was more expensive but worth the price and the staff were professional and helpful. They were attentive and didn’t make us wait a long time for the check (in Florence we had to wait an hour before we could get someone to take our money) would definitely go back.

Thank krysten h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Found on trip adviser, we liked that it was out of the way. We got there for an early dinner so had the place to ourselves. Enjoyed some really great seafood options that started with a gormet adult fish Stick followed by grilled octopus that was the best I have ever had and a pasta with a delicious creamy but light red sauce. No room for desert but enjoyed a complimentary glass of Prosecco when we were seated!

Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Great location near Vatican City. Food is amazing, service is amazing... Mariella is absolutely the best! We will be back again and again! Grazie Mille!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesaarnio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Taverna Angelica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing