We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful stay!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
826laurak
Stewartville, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful stay!!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I want to keep this place a secret because it is so wonderful. It is so close to the colosseum and if you lean out of any of the bedroom windows, you get a spectacular view of the colosseum. If walk down a small block and down a path on the hill, you are standing in front of the colosseum. It's amazing. The owners are so friendly and helpful and really make you feel at home. They provide you with a map and give you helpful hints on how to get around. And there was a delicious lemon cake waiting on the counter and a bottle of wine in the main bedroom. And the apartment is clean and comfortable. We were very excited to have a clothes washer to use as well. There wasn't a dryer but there was a line to dry clothes on. This was really the best place I've ever stayed on a trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Thank you very much Laura ! We hope to host you again in the near future. Warmest regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feebles07
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious apartment close to main attractions, with a stunning view!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this beautiful apartment with our teenage children, and found it cool, comfortable and convenient. The owner Luigi responded promptly to messages both beforehand and on the day, and he equipped the apartment with all the little things that make life easier when travelling - toiletries, some basic foods, dishwasher detergent, washing powder, etc. There was even a lemon cake that went very nicely with tea or coffee!
The beds were very comfortable and although the area gets a lot of tourist traffic at the nearby Colosseum during the day, the apartment was quiet at night.

My only other advice is to consider not eating at the place recommended by Luigi - Hostaria da Nerone (sorry Luigi - we appreciated the advice but didn't like the restaurant). The food was extremely salty (this coming from someone who likes salty things) and although two of our meals were fine (apart from the salt overload), the other two were not very nice at all. This place also had most of its meals in uncovered heaters in a big central bay inside the restaurant (which we didn't see till we were sent inside to pay the bill) which made us wonder about the freshness and temperature of the food. We also were asked several times if we wanted dessert (to the point of badgering) and were then made to wait a long time for the bill, and had to ask for it twice before finally the head waiter brought it to us.

On our last night we came home from a walk to the Trevi fountain along Via Urbana (really cute street) and ate at Scuie Scuie - I can highly recommend it for a nice dinner that isn't super expensive, with good service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view, comfort of the beds and apartment generally, convenient location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Many thanks, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our home. We hope to host you again in the next future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca E
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Room With a View”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most wonderful stay at Romance al Colosseo. Although the apartment and location are absolutely incredible, I think what stood out the most was the generosity and thoughtfulness of Luigi. We arrived into Rome with horrific rain, causing our luggage and all of our belongings to be drenched. Although we did not have access to the apartment until the afternoon, Luigi met us at 9:00 am to drop off our bags and offered to help in anyway to assist in drying our clothes. Upon entering the beautiful apartment, it was so lovely to be welcomed with home made baked goods, great coffee, and a refrigerator filled with necessities. Just what we needed after a full day of traveling. Lastly, when we called Luigi to explain that one of the air conditioning units was not working properly, he immediately contacted a repair person and had it fixed in no time at all. This is a gem of a rental and we cannot recommend it more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luigi, location and comfort and space of apartment.
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Thank you so much ! You and your family will be always welcome in our home :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill p
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“outstanding place to stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

First of all the welcome by Luigi and Christina was very nice, including the very nice welcome treats and a few things in the fridge to get us started.

Luigi who lived 10 years in California, gave a complete run through of how to use the European appliances/showers/washing machine etc. The differences in use can be a bit of a challenge for American travelers at times. Kitchen was fully functional for cooking meals if you want to.

If you are apprehensive about booking into an apartment and not booking into a hotel, have no fears with this property. The bathrooms were stocked with all standard bath needs (including shower products, even spare toothbrushes and slippers!). Luigi came in and changed out the towels after 2 days. The bathroom/ shower was the best of our 2 week stay in Italy in 3 different properties.

Two full bathrooms, a bedroom with a queen sized mattress, one with a full size and the third with two twins.

Location was excellent. Really can see the Coloseo from the bedroom windows - which by the way are truly sound proof. No problems at all with noise. Easy walk to the grocery store which has everything and accepts credit cards-Luigi will tell you where it is.

From here it is an easy, if not a little long, walk all the way to the Vatican (or a 10 Euro cab ride/three minutes walk to metro station) . Shorter walk to many other destinations (Forum, Domus Aurea right across the street. 20 mins Piazza Navona, Jewish Ghetto, A few minutes longer to Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Spanish steps). Short walk to St. John Laterano Church-put that on your list to see, and less than 5 mins walk to St. Pietro in Vincoli (Michelangelo's Moses).

Parking is available on street if you need it, daytime parking meters(which you pay all in advance, no need to run back and forth) nighttime free.

Any one of several restaurants/ bars in the area. Many are very touristy and overpriced. Luigi recommended Hosteria Narone just one block walk away which was solid (food was 4 stars but friendly staff and good value bumped it to 5 in my book). The real gem restauanrant in the neighborhood was Cuoco& Camicia on Via di Monte Polaccio. Truly 5 star food- a gourmet experience. A little tricky to find - you need to go down a staircase just left of St. Pietro in Vincoli church- offered a 6 course tasting menu for 39 Euro (69 with wine pours which were generous).

Overall couldn't be happier with the place. Will definitely consider for our next stay in Rome if we have the group to take advantage of the size of the place. ( With the price you wouldn't even feel bad leaving one of the rooms unused.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and well equipped kichen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thank you very much Bill, you've been such gracious guests. We hope to host you again real soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy T...
1 review
“Absolutely marvelous, beautiful place, friendly and helpful hosts, and great location.”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Romance al Colosseo is as beautiful as the pictures show. The apartment is clean (spotless) and beautifully decorated. Luigi and Christina are wonderful hosts who gave us great recommendations and advice for our few days in Rome. Close proximity to the metro stop, Colosseum, Forum and other highlights. View of the Colosseum from the apartment ... priceless. We highly recommend this apartment as the place to stay in Rome.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank you so much Nancy, we hope to have you and your family as our guests Real soon at Romance al Colosseo.
Warmest regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing