We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oasis in the city!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Storm72
Liss, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

Lovely place in the center of Rome! From beginning to end, pure class!

Communication with Jean Louis upon booking was good and very helpful. Felt he was very accommodating and answered any questions we had prior to arrival. Casa Virgilio is a 10min walk from Termini station, or even closer, if you walk from Cavour metro station. Slight hill coming up from Cavour, but nothing major. Road Casa Virgilio on is a residential area and is very quiet and hardly any traffic noise can be heard from the room. Jean Louis was there to greet us upon arrival and was very gracious and kind. He had kindly made a reservation at a local restaurant for us and provided us with a map of the area, all of 5min walk.

Our room was lovely. Very spacious and bed very comfortable, which is very important to any traveller. There was heating and air conditioning should you need it, but we were comfortable as we were. Lots of books to admire and read on Rome and other countries should you need them, comfortable reading areas in a tranquil setting. TV is also available, as well as a docking station to plug your phone into for music. We were lucky enough to have this amazing kitchen/dining area that had a garden within it. Was very nice just to sit there in the mornings having breafkast and what breakfasts!! Jean Louis totally spoilt us with combos of fruit and cheese, and yummy home made cakes, not to mention the amazing creme caramel!! Nespresso machine in the kitchen along with bread, eggs, milk and yogurts, every day all this was topped up! We couldn't believe it, but totally appreciated it!

Bathroom was adequate for our needs and there was soap/shower gel to use, as well as towels. The only small issue we had was drying towels whilst we were there, as like I said no heating was on, as we didn't need it, but Jean Louis provided us with horse racks to put our towels on so they could dry throughout the day, worked a treat!

All in all, Jean Louis is a perfect gentleman and host and we very much enjoyed meeting him and felt totally spoilt with the oasis in the city we had found and which he created. I would certainly come back to Casa Viriglio again!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2018
Dear Bianca and Dean
It's really a pleasure to have guests like you. Accurate, enthusiastic, ready to discover or rediscover the beauty of Rome. True careful and sensitive travelers. You are guests who we always wish to meet. Thank you for your compliments and articulate comments. Our commitment is to put our guests in the best conditions to enjoy their stay as much as possible. Thanks again for choosing Casa Virgilio in Monti for your stay in Rome. We hope to see you again. You will always be welcome. Jean-Louis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David E
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and helpful owner”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is a great location with easy walks to many popular Rome sites and the Metro line. Jean Louis was very kind, friendly, and helpful. I would highly recommend Casa Virgilio in Monti.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen F
1 review
“A wonderful tranquil accommodation close to everything”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was a fantastic find.
The previous reviews were the reason we chose it because everyone said how helpful Jean-louis was and although we did not meet in person because he was out of the country, he ensured we had all the information we required and kept in contact throughout our stay.
The apartment had everything you needed and the lovely Odette greeted us and ensured we settled in.
We were provided with a daily continental breakfast, which was delicious and set us up for the day.
There are plenty of supermarkets and cafes close by and everything is within walking distance, apart from the Vatican.
We did a day on the hop on bus, which helped to orientate us to the city.
Rome is a beautiful city, holding so much history and beautiful monuments.
Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
It was a pleasure to welcome you at home. Our commitment is to make our guest's stay as soft and enjoyable as possible, helping them to manage their requests and allowing them to make the most of their time for the pleasure of discovering the beautiful city and relaxing. Thanks for visiting us. You are always welcome at Casa Virgilio in Monti.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollyhk
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The flat is conveniently located near to Cavour underground station, the bus terminus at the railway station and a taxi rank at Santa Maria Maggiore. Rome is not big tho' and if you are fit you can walk to many of the attractions. The Colosseum is close by, so we were able to do a proper tour and then go back a few times to take in the atmosphere. The flat is in the Monti area but on a quiet side street - away from the late-night bustle of cafes and bars The small courtyard and adjacent conservatoire style living room is a lovely feature as you have an outside and semi-outside place to relax surrounded by greenery. I was staying with my elderly mum so the fact that the flat is on the ground level, with no steps was very helpful. The owner Jean Louis was very helpful with directions, suggestions of places to eat and provided a lovely breakfast. Don't miss the church of Santa Prassede, which is very close by. It's on a smaller scale to some of the other churches you will visit in Rome, but this made it feel more intimate and 'real' - and the mosaics were beautiful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Dear guests
We are happy that we helped to help you discover the beauties of the city of Rome, even some of the most difficult aspects to discover on your own. Thanks again for your appreciation and for choosing our home where you will always be welcome.
All the best . Laura and JeanLouis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph O
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent hospitality, wonderful owners”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay in Rome. The location was perfect with everything in walking distance. Safe area with plenty of great restaurants, stores, historical sites and just a short walk to the train station. The owners were exceptional! Very welcoming and went above and beyond to help us have a great vacation. The apartments were very clean, comfortable and each morning we had a terrific breakfast waiting for us. We highly recommend this rental to everyone wanting to enjoy time in the eternal city. It was perfect!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Dear guests
thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy to have helped you to contribute to make your stay as easy and happy a possible.
Rome is a beautiful city, sometime difficult to understand for the foreign language and its size. Our commitment is to help you and to make your stay relax and enjoyable.
Thanks again for choosing Casa Virgilio in Monti. You will be always welcome.
Laura and Jean Louis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing