We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Line always out the door”

Gelateria La Romana - Roma, via Ostiense
Ranked #26 of 46 Quick Bites in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$5
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Neighbourhood: Testaccio
Description: La Romana ice cream parlour was born in the heart of the historic centre of Rimini in 1947, receiving the name of the founder's daughter. A few years later Vito Zucchi, progenitor of the family, took over the enterprise. Thanks to his fervent creativity and the use of a few ingredients then available, he created a wide range of high-quality flavours which are still made in our stores today. For this reason, we offer traditional flavours made exclusively with selected products, following old recipes of the past.
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Gelato was excellent. My only complaint would be the line was long and it moved slowly. It would be nice to be able to see the gelato flavors (lids on the containers) to be better able to choose if you don't speak Italian.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1 779 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2018

My evaluation title says it all. I stayed in an hotel right next to La Romana, and I had the pleasure of stumbling upon this awesome Gelateria. Everything was perfect, the place, the staff, and last but not least, the Icecream.

Best Icecream ever! No contest!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Vitor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

This is one of the most famous gelaterias in Rome, usually with a big crowd waiting outside. Unfortunately, the quality of their gelato is just average. The variety is poor (quite a few flavors but they don't ever change and oriented towards mass consumption), no real sorbets...I strongly believe that my Italian friends are right that this is not a real artigionale anymore and La Romana switched to artificial flavors.
There are definitely plenty of much better places to indulge in your gelato with quality ingredients and much more creative flavors!
My favorite is definitely Officina del Gelato, however it's quite a walk from there.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank martakM9397CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelateria L, Proprietario at Gelateria La Romana - Roma, via Ostiense, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Marta K,
Unfortunately, management of the via Ostiense store is no longer in line with that of our family of gelateria stores. We therefore can no longer guarantee the quality of our gelato or service until we rectify the situation.
We are trying, as quickly as possible, to return to our usual standard so that we can offer you that unforgettable experience that we want for you and for all customers that step into one of our gelateria stores.

If you would like to send us your email address through the Help form on the Contacts section of our website, we will contact you as soon as we implement the necessary changes in our store management.

In the meantime please visit our stores in via Venti Settembre 60 and via Cola di Rienzo 2, where the staff will welcome you with the warmth and quality that have always been a priority for us.
We look forward to seeing you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

As soon as we walked in at around 14:00, we realized this would be outstanding gelato because it was PACKED with locals. The long line was more than worth it. Our favorite flavors were pistachio and hazelnut which taste so full of flavor and non-artificial.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Venture790668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

I went to 4 top rated gelaterias in Rome and this one had the best Pistachio gelato. To note: 1) you pay first and cues can be mad 2) cone includes a dab of white or dark chocolate syrup 3) I enjoyed this pistachio gelato for its intense flavor, smooth texture, creamy mouth feel and that little bit of sweet at the end of the cone. There are several locations.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MTinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gelateria La Romana - Roma, via Ostiense also viewed

 

Been to Gelateria La Romana - Roma, via Ostiense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing