We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Roman rental”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lenore C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Roman rental”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed at Casa Vacanza Melinda during January 2015.

The apartment is lovely and Massimo and his family have thought of everything travellers could need. Massimo gave us a thorough introduction to Rome and there is lots of information available for guests.

The beds were the most comfortable of our trip. The plumbing is terrific (and not just by the standards of European apartments). The apartment stays warm very nicely in winter.

The kids upstairs are a bit rowdy but the nights are quiet and they do sleep in.

The number 81 bus gets you to most of the main sights slowly but stunningly (the Coliseum is only ten minutes away) or the metro does the same darkly but very efficiently.

The biggest advantage of staying in an inner residential suburb of Rome is that the local restaurants and bars, including Romolo and Remo and the new local bar Sacco are brilliant and as a tourist, you will be greeted very warmly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirby2015
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place and Great Owner”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is the first time that I have ever been moved to write a review. The Casa Melinda was exceptional. When we arrived late in the evening, the owner Massimo and wife greeted us warmly. They took the time to explain everything about the apartment and local attractions. The house was fully supplied with things you take for granted like garbage bags, paper towels, cooking oil, cooking utensils, dishwashing soap, etc. They even had some wine, bread and other food for us so that we did not have to go out before we ate our first breakfast. The Wi-Fi was fast and worked easily.

The apartment was beautiful and spotless. My wife is a little OCD about her cleanliness and she loved the place. We had three teenage kids. Massimo had brought a cot for the 2nd bedroom. The washer and dryer are "American style"...large and modern. There was even cable TV with 12 English channels if you want to watch the news. The apartment is located about 100 yards from a bus stop that takes you to the train station our you can walk it in about 10 minutes. There are several good restaurants in the area. A large grocery store is a 5 minute walk away. Massimo also helped arrange a taxi for us to and from the airport.

There was a little noise from the apartment above but we always bring a "white noise" make with us so we did not notice it at night.

Overall, we can't say enough positive about the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of the Apartment and the Extra Supplies
Liked least: A little noise from the apartment above
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
groovyson
Pembrokeshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous gem of a place.”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a great place to stay. The flat is exceptionally clean, fantastically well equipped and near to lovely bakeries and restaurants.
Massimo the owner took the time to greet us and thoughtfully provided some lovely supplies that were very gratefully received.
Taxis are plentiful and being middle aged we tended to walk one way and taxi back! Cost can vary but is around €12-€20.
Please don't be put off by the outside appearance of this flat- I recommend it highly and I am truly difficult to please!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous apartment near the centre of Rome”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I now find writing excellent reviews difficult as it means your precious gem will be harder to book again! Howvere, when you have wonderful hosts who go out of their way to make your stay special you must reflect that.
The photos do not go the apartment justice it is spacious with high ceilings and big windows in every room.
The apartment is so clean and every eventuality has been thought about. Our host booked our taxi both ways to the airport and greeted us upon arrival and even phone the local restaurant to make sure they would serve us food and then walked us to the restaurant.
The area is typically Roman , with shops cafes and bars to cater for every taste.
The 15 minute walk to the Collesueum was a lovely walk. The bus into the centre of town was also typical and sporadic. We did not use the metro but I think that is much more reliable but not as scenic.
We had 27 degree heat in October so our stay was not what we expected but the apartment was cool.
As a frequent traveller to Rome I will definately be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Traffic noise
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn_and...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for!”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

If you are looking for an apartment in Rome for a few days or more, we found this to be an exceptional find.

This apartment was perfect for us in every way. It was very clean, well appointed with all supplies we needed and even thought of (everything from bed linens to bathrobes), great apartment layout for us staying with another couple and in a safe neighborhood with all amenities.

If you are planning to cook, there are several grocery stores and fruit and vegetable stands within a few feet. If you are looking to eat out, we really enjoyed Remo e Romolo (2 blocks away). This is a typical Roman eatery with reasonable prices, good food, service and atmosphere. It is always full of locals and buzzing! For something fancier, we tried Roberto e Loretta (also a short walk away) and really enjoyed it.

With respect to location, we should put in context that we do a lot of walking and really enjoy it. The Colosseum is a 12-15 minute walk away. The nearest metro station (San Giovanni) is about a 20 minute walk and Termini is about a 45 minute walk. There is a very convenient bus (#714) from Termini which brings you within 5 minutes walk of the apartment as well.

The building has a porter, which worked quite well for us when we needed a package delivered and were not at the apartment one day. The taxi to and from the airport for 48 euros and is a good deal especially if you have more than 2 people.

Overall, this is a very well managed apartment and guests needs a well attended to. We attributed this to the owner, Massimo. He was exceptionally welcoming, patient, generous with pastries, supplies and helpful with information about the area and apartment. He was also very responsive in all communication with us before, during and after our visit. We would not hesitate to stay in this apartment again or recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing