We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyed the stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rome, Province of Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
eanda2015
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is absolutely as described, and was home base for my son and me for about a week in Rome. It is a nice apartment in a lovely neighborhood, not the center, and is walking distance (long walks) or an easy cab ride to many sights. A few advisory comments to those of you, like me, who have rented before (i.e. things I would want to know): (1) there are lots of stairs, both to get to the apartment (the elevator to the apartment doesn't always work) and once inside ; (2) while I would not describe the apartment as "luxury" it was very comfortable (certainly better than "basic") - dishes and linens were Ikea, clean, and new, and furniture was all in good shape; (3) appliances were new/ modern and functioned well; (4) there is lots of storage space, though not a lot of seating (except outside); (5) the owners and manager are very responsive and helpful -- information provided is often emailed or electronic and sometimes conflicts with print-outs in the apartment (so stick to the electronic, which is more up to date-- also, since they have a couple of apartments, make sure the directions provided (like how to get to the market) relate to the correct apartment); (6) everything functioned properly-- internet, a/c (make sure to close the shades/ curtains in sunny rooms-- you have to choose between the a/c and the view), hot water, etc. (7) the outside space is a staircase and a half from the kitchen, for those who are thinking of dining al fresco-- you have to carry everything upstairs, past the bedrooms, etc. (we went out, so it didn't matter to us, but thought you should know) (8) there are two bedrooms (with two queen/ double beds) which sleep 4, and fitting more people would mean putting them on a pull-out couch in an area that is loft-like/ hallway-like area out in the open-- it would be noisy and without any privacy. All in all, we very much enjoyed our stay at Attico Mercanti.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Thanks for your great review!
Rome is an ancient city and this magic penthouse offers a wonderful location within walking distance of the major sites. It is quiet and very comfortable. Services in Rome can't match those in major US cities so things like water pressure are not as good as in the US - but we provide the best you can get in Rome. Our WIFI is fiber optic and fast and all our appliances are new and constantly updated.
We send all our users a handy travel app that has everything you need to know about the apartment and Rome. And we are personally there for all your planning needs - even to reserve restaurants and taxis for you.
A presto a Roma!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place to Stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Casapicard is a lovely and well-situated flat to stay in while seeing Rome. Being right across the Tiber in Trastevere, it is convenient to many locales. It is on a quiet street, the interior is well designed (and on 4 levels!) and the rooftop terrace is perfect for enjoying some dine-in al fresco dinners and breakfasts. The apartment is well-stocked for a holiday rental. The owners, Elizabeth and Martin, put a lot of effort into making sure you have everything you need. I had helpful and frequent communication with Elizabeth. Thanks for a great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace and location
Liked least: the dark kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kldoor
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable apartment in wonderful location”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Mercanti Penthouse (CasaPicard) is located in the wonderful neighborhood of Trastevere, away from the large tourist crowds with lots of restaurants and shops. It is on the top (3rd) floor which can be reached by a small elevator. The main entrance floor has a compact kitchen, a dining area and a living room sitting area. Up the curved staircase is a small landing with a pull out bed if needed, and just beyond a master bath and king bedroom. Up another short flight of stairs is a second bedroom and second bath. Up a short flight of stairs from there you enter a beautiful roof top terrace with seating for at least 6, a wet bar, and this is also where the washer and dryer are hidden away in a cabinet. There is a marvelous view of the city from here.

There is air conditioning in each room. The wifi worked very well.

Around the corner from the Piazza Mercanti are plenty of places to stop for coffee or purchase supplies for meals. We recommend the Mirror Pizzaria for lunch and Enzo for dinner, the later requires a reservation in advance. The property owner, Martin, will send you much information about the apartment and the area and, along with his sister Elizabeth, answer all the questions you may have about your stay.

We recommend the car service for arrival and departure with bags, either from the airport or Termini train station. If you enjoy walking you can walk most everywhere from the apartment. If not, there is a taxi stand about 4 blocks away. We walked and used taxis for the longer hauls.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coming home to a quiet neighborhood
Liked least: Like everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen m
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A truly magical experience from booking to departure”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I am so very sorry it took me so long to write a review of this apt. We are well travelled and have high standards and high expectations of accomodations. This penthouse apt was nothing short or perfect. Martin, the owner took my husband and myself under his wing when he contacted him in desparation for a place to stay. Our previous rental had some "issues" and as a result there were 4 adults arriving in Rome within 2 days and we had no place to stay. In one email Martin solved our problem. He went way above and beyond to help us out. He worked with us for almost 24 hours non stop to be sure everything we needed was in order. Everthing from what type of pillows to making arrangements to have us picked up at the airport was handled by Martin in a expert way.
His sister Elizabeth was also over the top in the assistance she provided. Upon arrival we noticed there was no coffeee maker and so called Elizabeth. Within 1 hour, she had arranged for a young man to bring us a brand new coffee maker, coffee and milk for the coffee.
The apt itself is exactlly as shown. It was a little smaller on the main floor than i had anticipated but we hardly used this space for sitting. For us it was all about the rooftop terrace. It still makes me smile to remember sitting there, listening to the church bells toll and watching folks walking along the cobblestone piazza. Truly a magical experience.
The area was perfect for us. It is old Rome complete with narrow steets, limited access to cars, and local markets and restaurants. We were so surprised by the reasonable costs in the restaurants and the outstanding food. Enzo's and San Michelle were our 2 favourites.
I could go on forever about this apt and its owners. There was no down side and i cannot think of one thing i would do to improve the apt nor the services provided.
Book it and look forward to the experience of a life time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgo96
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1 706 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 551 helpful votes
“Feel right at home like a Trastevere local”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Very comfortable apartment over three levels (entrance level; mezzanine and terrace). Open plan kitchen and lounge area on the entrance level with fully equipped kitchen and full size fridge if you did want to eat in, although with so many options in the area, you don't need to. You have a view from the roomy master bedroom across the Tiber to the top of Circus Maximus. Plenty of storage space in the master bedroom and the air conditioning was welcome in early September. Shower in master bedroom ensuite was best I've come across in any apartment we've stayed at. I understand it replaced a jacuzzi which explains the lovely amount of space you have it in. Good water pressure too.
Highlight of the apartment was the terrace from which, amongst the rooftops of Rome, you can also see the bell tower of Saint Cecila; St Peter's Dome and Vittorio Emmanuel Monument. So lovely to sit up here and have lunch with a glass of wine. Wifi didn't cover out to the terrace but worked perfectly everywhere else in the apartment.
Whilst this is in the quieter part of Trastevere, I much preferred it to the other side of Viale di Trastevere. I preferred the cafes and restaurants on this side of Trastevere and found them less touristy but good luck getting a reservation to Da Enzo or Spirito Divino, the two places we really wanted to try. The closest grocery shop is in the basement of the OVS store (a bit like Target) up on Viale di Trastevere which is about 10 minutes walk away. There are other smaller stores including a nice health food store closer. I loved walking out into the cobble stoned area outside the apartment each morning into the quiet streets and feeling right at home. This is my new favourite area of Rome. If I was feeling exhausted from a big day out walking I could cheat and get the lift up to the apartment, which takes 3 suitcases comfortably, but no more.
You can walk to Campo dei Fiori in 20 minutes from here and it is a scenic 20 minute stroll down from the Garibaldi Monument as well (get a cab up there if you don't want to do the 40 minute walk up).
Martin the owner is an excellent communicator and can arrange other activities to enhance your experience in Rome. The highlight for us was the dinner with Barbara, a Trastevere local.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the wonderful terrace
Liked least: Kitchen a bit dark
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing