We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Silvestro
Nearby Hotels
US$218
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$230
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$580
US$357
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Condotti Hotel(Rome)
US$173
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$414
US$349
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$274
US$215
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$603
US$368
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$761
US$556
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$555
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
60
100
46
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
100
46
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrevi fountaingreat locationpiazza di spagnasingle roomother guestsstayed for nightsrobertomarcocolosseum
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Just off the Spanish Steps square, and practically within walking distance to most of the beautiful landmarks of the Centro Storico, the amazing location makes this hotel a perfect and natural choice for your stay in Rome. A typical small Roman hotel, clean fully equipped with all today's traveller needs, but what makes this hotel unique is the genuine interest the staff show and give to their clients. Roberto, Marco and the rest...you are very valuable to this sweet Hotel. Keep up the good work.....you definitely see me back.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

it is a lovely little hotel in the center of rome located aprox 200 m from the spanish step.
The rooms are not that big, but if you just want a place to sleep it is perfect. the staff are more than helpfull and are always ready with a joke and a smile. we had 4 wonderfull days in this hotel.
And when we return to ome next year we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Svenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

We wanted a centrally located hotel, so we could walk around in rome without using other transport facilities. Also, with a 9months old child, in our opinion, it's good to be quickly back in the hotel, if needed.

But thanks to Roberto, our experience became much much much more than just "a good centrally located hotel". He was very sweet for our little Elise, and he made her giggle every day!

Roberto, we will come back!!!

Xxx

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sofie_from_belgica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

We have stayed in Rome 5 times now and this is the first time we brought our 5 year old. The hotel - easy to find - could NOT be in a more perfect location. Yes it isn't a modern pent house but you are in ROME not Ikea. The breakfast was great, the room had everything you needed, toiletries were provided and WIFI and air con was available. But what really made this such an amazing stay - especially for our 5 year old - was the staff. Roberto in particular will now forever be referred to as "the nice man in Rome" and they could not do more for you. If you are anxious about taking a child to Rome - don't hesitate to book here. Having just seen a review with a complaint about mosquito bites (? confused how that was the hotel's fault!)ignore it. Great for families even if the bathroom needs a little makeover we found this to be a brilliant trip helped hugely by how enjoyable our stay way. Will return without a doubt.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel with any questions / request. They are great for responding and arranging
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dinawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

The little hotel has a great location friendly staff free Wifi and a nice breakfast of fresh pastries. Also the price was right until I woke up with 2 bites then 4 bites I believe I am up to 7 bites now. I was told it was Mosquitos but having grown up in Ontario I knew is was awfully hard to get bit while lying down on spots that were in direct contact with the mattress. Yesterday afternoon I found a brown bug on my bedspread by the pillow. My husband told me to flush it down the toilet. At 3:00 am I woke up scratching and decided to google BED BUGS. That's right bites that look and act like mosquito bites
Larva need the blood to grow and once fully grown they look just like the bug I flushed. When I quietly advised the staff the next morning on our check out they kept insisting it was Mosquitos and that the mattresses were replaced last year and they could not see bed bugs. I would suggest avoiding this hotel until they have remedied the problem. I had spoken to an English lady when we arrived and she had complained of mosquito bites. Very unfortunate as it is a great little place. Rooms are very tiny and so is shower. Bring your own make up mirror and facecloth as well shampoo and conditioner. Not sure if a bug spray can get rid of them.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneSSilvestro, Direttore at Hotel San Silvestro, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2015

Dear Madam, you stayed in our hotel for three nights and only the morning of your check-out when paying the bill you complained about bug bites and first you told us that you saw a bug in your bed and when we asked you to go up and see your room you answered us that the bugs where not visible so it was not worth going to see. We have no bugs in the hotel mattresses and there are unfortunately mosquitos that come in the room if you leave the window open that is why we advise to use the air conditioning. Somethimes it can occur that being out all day you can have insects on your clothes and bring them in your room from outside. In 40 years you might be the second person that says such a thing, after you left we rented the room again and there were no complaints from the guests. The bathroom has a mirror and we are sorry that the shampoo and soap we provided were not enough for you but if you would have asked for more we would have given it to you. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews