We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 651)
Filter reviews
1 651 results
Traveller rating
1 113
337
128
47
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 113
337
128
47
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red level premium room red glove pool area urban resort rose petals beautiful hotel lovely pool close to the vatican private garden junior suite breakfast buffet nespresso machine five star hotel tiber river our honeymoon busy city
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 1 651 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I visited the hotel at June. At first sight it looked like a great hotel. When I went in the staff were very nice and friendly. Also the swimming pool was spectacular and they gave us a great room with a great view. I stayed at Gran Meliá for 3 days and had a fabulous time at Gran Meliá. I think this hotel is a great hotel with family and friends.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all I wish to thank you for taking the time to report your stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We really appreciate any comments and feedbacks from our guests because they are a valuable tool to improve and assure a high quality of the services we strive to offer.

Thank you for emphasize our staff attitude and professionalism. Our staff daily work with only aim of turning each stay into pleasant experiences, in a suggestive location conceived for those guests looking for relax.

Really looking forward to welcoming you back soon and let you continue your unique experience in the historical heart of Timeless Rome…

Best Regards
Samuel Hamilton
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We stayed at the Gran Melia for our week in Rome. It's a beautiful property that honestly was so much prettier, lighter and brighter than it appears in the photos. Perfect walking distance to the Vatican, our room had a view of St Peter's Dome, and honestly the proximity to Trastevere made it superb. We walked an average of 8 miles a day while touring, so it was so nice to come back to sleep or relax at a quiet hotel on top of Gianicolo Hill...which is not as daunting of a climb from the Tiber River as it appears! The staff was friendly, spoke perfect English, and our room was cleaned twice a day. My only negative thing to mention is that the drinks (& food) by the pool at Liquid Garden were a bit pricey ($7 for an iced tea as an example), but the housekeeping staff delivered free treats and a large water to our room each afternoon which was a pleasant and unexpected perk.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank jsass04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel H, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for taking your precious time in sharing your feedback about your recent visit at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are really glad to learn how much you enjoyed our beautiful location few minutes steps to the most important touristic attractions as well as our facilities and our exclusive service we strive to offer every day, in order to turn each stay into unforgettable experiences.

Our warmest gratitude for your kind words addressed to all our staff for their professionality especially highlighting our housekeeping department for which we are very proud of.

Moreover, regarding our pricing, I can ensure you that we follow current market trends, being regularly adapted to maintain competitiveness with similar properties in the area, especially during high season periods.

We are really looking forward to giving you our warmest welcome back in your roman "timeless" home, in the nearest future!!

Kindest Regards,

Samuel Hamilton
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Echo many of the reviews here, just a tad bit away (near Vatican) but walkable or cheap taxi to main attractions. What sets this hotel apart is the property is more like a resort which is unusual in a major European city. The hotel and grounds are sprawling and immaculate. Service and food were outstanding as well. Pool time reminded me of lounging in the Caribbean.

Would have loved to give this hotel 5 stars but the air conditioning issues are tough. Many reviews cite the same issue, even the guest log in the lobby as well. Rome was well over 90 degrees and the tiny hotel room was simply too hot. I asked the front desk and they indicated they controlled the rooms AC levels (mind blown, basically the thermostat is fake?).

Any event, hate to discourage guests at such an incredible property but something to consider when booking.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ethan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our property at the occasion of your recent visit to Rome and for the time taken to share your opinions about the Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We highly value our guests’ comments in order to constantly improve the level of service we strive to offer.

While we are very glad to realize how much you appreciated our suggestive location, exclusive service and staff professionalism, we regret to learn of your discontent as to the air conditioning.
I wish to apologize for the incorrect answer you were giving while transmitting your disappointment to our staff, without being clearly explained how to proper use the system in the room, since the AC is actually working. Since we take the comfort of our guests very seriously at our Luxury Urban Resort, aiming to convert each journey into memorable experiences, we do regret very much not to had the opportunity to change your room at this occasion and let you live a more relaxing experience.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service, daily working to meet our guests’ needs and exceed their expectations.

I do sincerely hope you will decide to visit us again at the occasion of your future visit to the Eternal City.

Kindest Regards,
Samuel Hamilton
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This is an excellent hotel. It is calm, modern, spacious and clean. If you are in Rome then it is the place to stay. If you have business at the Vatican, then you can walk there. It's not cheap but the saying 'you get what you pay for' applies here and I got what I paid for.

The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The clientele is almost 100% English speakers the majority being American with Australians making up the balance. There are private grounds and a pool.

If you find, as I do, Rome to be a succession of chaotic events, it is relaxing to come back to this hotel shut off from whatever debacles might be going on outside its gates.

Only one thing: it doesn't have a business centre so if that inevitable IT issue arises or you need to print something off, then you are on your own. But as someone who has visited Italy many times, this is a small price to pay for being in a nice, quiet locale with otherwise efficient and helpful people. Italy being Italy, there is no guarantee that any other hotel would be better on this front and it is hardly a reason to not stay here. But it's mentioned for completeness.

I'd stay here again and I think it is the only hotel I would stay at in Rome.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor as you might get a nice view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leftbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Guest,

We really wish to thank you for sharing your feelings about your last experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina, in the heart of the eternal City.

We wish to express our gratitude for highlighting the professionalism of our staff, which reflect passion and devotion of who like us, make the best to turn the guests’ stay into a memorable experience.

We are pleased to know how much you appreciated the suggestive location of our hystorical building. Indeed, the resort allows our guests to enjoy their relaxing moments surrounded by the green of the gardens and its strategic position, letting everyone walk across the most beautiful attractions of the Eternal City.

We are glad to realize that you lived a pleasant stay with us while visiting the Eternal City, where we hope to welcome you back soon.

GRAZIE MILLE!!!

Very best regards,
Samuel Hamilton
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

This was an amazing hotel! They went above and beyond. Scelia helped us on check in with the room and She checked in on us daily. We upgraded our room to 610 because the view was out of this world. There was a large balcony and with a Jacuzzi which we used every night. There was also a jack and jill bathroom. We were traveling with our 9 year old and this hotel offered a pool which he enjoyed. We had the red service with our room so breakfast was included which is something not to miss. They had fresh everything. I picked this hotel because they do Disney adventures and I assumed that if they were affiliated with Disney then service had to be top-notch....and it was. Daniel was also such a great help to us during our stay always going above and beyond! I loved everything about this hotel!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Tovah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to report your outstanding stay at our Luxury Urban Resort, following the recent stay.

We are glad to learn how much you enjoyed your experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina appreciating our service, facilities and attention to details to make each journey a great one.

Thank you also for the kind words addressed to the staff professionalism and warm attitude, especially as regard to Daniel , who is one of our great Maitre. Please, be informed that we have transmitted your comments to him and shared them also with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Gran Meliá Rome soon and let you continue your great experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Arrivederci!

Yours sincerely,
Samuel Hamilton
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews