We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 650)
Filter reviews
2 650 results
Traveller rating
1 176
777
432
165
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 176
777
432
165
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews via veneto heavenly bed starwood points spanish steps american embassy beautiful hotel concierge desk classic hotel steam room villa borghese upgraded to a suite trevi fountain marble bathroom an upgrade five star hotel rooms are large hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 2 650 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We decided to do a short trip to Rome while on a long trip in Amsterdam. We picked the Westin as SPG gold members and used points for our stay.

We arrived early and didn't expect our room to be ready, check in was fine. The building is beautiful and the insides match most large hotels at this rate.

We went to the concierge right away to make the most of our 2.5 days. Our plan was to take 1 day and go to Capri. We knew it would be a long day but were eager to get to the coast. Elizabetta was a trainee who helped us and was by far the most engaged of anyone who we asked for help during our stay.

She offered our options of a tour or doing the trip ourselves. At first we opted for the tour and than decided to take the train and ferry our own, I highly recommend this approach. We left the hotel at 9:00 AM and were back at 9:30 PM but had a great day on our own and worth the extra cost of the train ticket and eating lunch at a place of our choice.

We did feel a bit of pressure to do the tour over our own trip, but that was more of the case when we wanted to cancel and the night concierge's opinion.

On Sunday when we went to the concierge to go to the Vatican, we were told it's closed today but we can take a cab to St Paul's. Fine at the time, but when we got there we were told the Vatican was open as it was the last Sunday of the month and it's always open. We left too late to enjoy the museum. I expect the concierge to know this type of thing as it's probably what they get asked about the most.

We also were asked if we wanted a late check out which we did and came back to find ourselves locked out of the room.

Our room was fine, but our TV kept switching off on it's own or changing the channels. Not the biggest deal as we spent little time in the room, but it was odd as we were winding down each night.

Our stay was fine, but it's the details that make a 5 star hotel a 5 star hotel and our stay here didn't meet that standard

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank paige2367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcL2018, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear paige2367
Thank you for your constructive review that will certainly help me to improve the service
issues you describe. Our trainee Elizabetta appreciated your comments
The fact that the concierge did not give the correct information is indeed unacceptable
and I regret it. I agree with you that the details make the difference and we failed
I hope we will have another opportunity to serve you better and please contact me
Marc Lannoy
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

I stay here every single time I visit Rome. The rooms are unique and beautiful, the staff are mostly excellent and the location is good - a short taxi ride to most major tourist areas.

It's not cheap, but worth it. It's in a famous old building and has a ton of history. The breakfast is great and you can sit outside in good weather.

Highly recommended.

Room tip: Upgrade to one of the small suites - they're amazing.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KatsuJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcL2018, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear KatsuJK
Thank you for coming back and for recommending us
This motivates us a lot
Arrivederci !
Marc Lannoy
Complex General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

This once grand hotel needs a makeover. The great location and beautiful structure is overshadowed by inconsistent service, and deferred maintenance. As platinum members we were on the concierge floor and had 3 rooms. After 3 requests to service the A/C, we gave up and managed in a warm room. The bathroom was beautiful, but the room needed paint and other repairs. The buffet breakfast was wonderful, everything self serve except coffee and capuccino. Good thing! For as long as it took for coffee, it would have been dinner time should this restaurant had table service.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcL2018, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018


Dear Esther M
Thank you for your review and for saying that the buffet breakfast was wonderful.
My apologies for the inconveniences in the room and the service issues
I will make sure to improve on this.
Sincerely
Marc Lannoy
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

For $500 a night, I expect carpets to be clean...is that too much to ask? The carpet was flithy in our room, orange stains outside the bathroom, in addition to big and small black amd brown stains all over. Paint chipping off door frames and baseboards inside the room and large black marls all over an entire wall of the room. Felt more like a motel 8...

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lauraarmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcL2018, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear lauraarmor
Thank you for your review. I am taking your comments very seriously and regret we did not meet
the standard you expected
Sincerely
Marc Lannoy
Complex General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

First off, let me say that the Westin Excelsior is in a very nice section of Rome. The hotel is a short walk to many of the fountains and gathering areas in Rome. You could be located closer, but we kind of liked not being that close to the action. The hotel is very impressive at a distance and when you walk in the lobby, but the rooms that we had (2 rooms) were not at near a 5 Star level, like at home or even at our hotel in Paris the Hotel de Sers. The rooms are old and dated. It may have been a 5 star Hotel 25 years ago, but not now. I agree with one reviewer that said it seems ridiculous you cannot get a King Size bed, but we had the same issue. Putting two twins together with using the sheets, is not a 5 Star experience. The staff was nice and attentive actually not as nice as the Hotel de Sers in Paris, but certainly adequate. The food was provided by the restaurant attached and it was very good. The breakfast buffet was included in the price and that was good, not like a great breakfast buffet at the Four Seasons or even at a Westin here at the States, but certainly adequate.

Overall we loved our stay in both Rome and Paris. The Westin Excelsior was Ok but do not confuse this property with any 5 star or even 4 star property you have stayed at in the US, the rooms are much too dated, the counters hazy from the years the carpet older, etc. Location and the food were the plusses for the Westin in Rome.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcL2018, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Michael S
Thank you for your review and for saying that the staff was nice and attentive
and that the food at the Doney restaurant was very good.
I regret that we did not meet your expectations with the rooms and are planning
a full renovation of the hotel
Sincerely
Marc Lannoy
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews