We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive restaurant featuring seafood!!!”

Ristorante Sardegna
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Ristorante Sardegna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 103 of 13 557 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$70 - US$76
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Description: "Ristorante Sardegna, la bonta del pesce sulla tavola. Locale interessante situato a due passi da Via Veneto, ambiente elegante, moderno ma non impegnativo con cucina a vista. Fondato da due sardi Giancarlo Garofano e lo chef Siro Sanna che ci propongono specialità di pesce davvero gustose con ingredienti sempre freschi e vari. In particolare da gustare sono i piatti di pesce crudi, dalle ostriche agli scampi fino alle tartare di tonno e dentice. Tra i primi citiamo gli spaghetti con i ricci di mare e la fregola con arselle, ragù di scorfano e gallinella e tra i secondi l’orata in umido, con menta e carciofi spinosi tipici della Sardegna, il rombo con pinoli, uva sultanina e vernaccia e il capretto in umido con cardi selvatici e pistilli di zafferano. Il tutto accompagnato da vini di qualità. Ideale per un pranzo o una cena di lavoro ma anche per una bella serata romantica. Servizio cordiale e attento. Consigliato."
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This restaurant was highly recommended by the concierge at our hotel. It was extremely expensive and not worth the money in our opinion. The appetizer was very good, the pasta course was ok but not worth 25 euros and the entree was hideous. It was supposed to be shrimp scampi but was 3 sliced shrimps, still in shell with head on, stuffed and grilled until they were like rocks. When we complained all they said was that's the way they do scamp!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ristorante Sardegna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Debbie L,

thank you for your review. We believe our restaurant has a good quality/price ratio, considering the area in which it's located and the high standards we offer to our customers. We are a seafood restaurant, and we assure all our dishes are made with passion and care.
Anyway, if you want to give us a second chance, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

We were recommended to this restaurant by the manager of Hotel Golden and we were not disappointed . Every detail was sublime , service impeccable and professional , we enjoyed our food and wine so much we went back on our final night . Thank you to all of the staff for making us so welcome on our romantic visit to Rome ❤️❤️.

Thank Pedrina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ristorante Sardegna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear Pedrina22,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed so much your experience at Ristorante Sardegna. We always want to give the best service to our customers, as well as the food and beverages.
We look forward to see you soon back again here in Rome, a presto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We went on the recommendation of our concierge at the Bilgotti Regina Hotel. It was our last night in Rome so we were looking forward to nice dinner. The hotel made a reservation. Upon entering I had some immediate 1st impressions. 1. At 9:00 the restaurant was almost empty. 2. The air-conditioning was not working at all. 3. The place had a distinct odor or rotting shellfish. We had a teenager with us who ordered Sprite, waiter replied with "Only Coca-Cola." That was enough. We got up and left. Frankly, I could overlook a pretentious waiter, but there was no way I could sit in that heat and smell for more than 5 minutes.

A shame really because every other restaurant the concierge suggested was wonderful.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank edubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel V, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ristorante Sardegna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. edubbs, we think your review was offending and disturbing, mainly because your statements are not true:
1. as soon as you entered the restaurant our staff informed you about the air-conditioning not working properly in the upper dining room, suggesting you to take place in the lower room (where the air-conditioning was fully working), but you refused;
2. the restaurant wasn't empty, in fact there were 5 or 6 tables in the lower dining room due to the air-conditioning issue mentioned above. We won't apologise for our restaurant to not be full that evening..
3. it's really offending for a high-level restaurant like us to read about strange imaginary "odors". We have NEVER received any complaint about such a thing from both our local or stranger clients. That evening, as always, we received compliments from the few tables we had;
4. the fact we didn't have Sprite available that evening is not a good reason to leave such a negative review, we guess..

Next time, we hope you will leave a review for restaurants in which you actually have lunch/dinner, not for restaurants you leave after 5 minutes.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Good food and service. The food maybe a tad over-presented. No generous portions for that kind of money, really. Rather sleepy atmosphere. We had fish antipasto (half a bite of various fish described to us in the smallest detail) and main course, again, small. We found the place to be pretentious and overpriced, especially since the area is just okay (not far fro Stazione Termini). Too bad, we were in the mood for a great meal, we could've gone to tens of other places! Oh well, next time!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mirella Menglid... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

I've been here during my holidays! The restaurant is nice and well clean! The service excellent, ready to help you with all your request. About the food what to say.. unforgettable! The fishes are all fresh with a unique taste! Really Thank to the chef! Very good wine list too.
I will definitely come back!

Thank Flavietta111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Sardegna also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Sardegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing