We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one of the many restaurants on Borgo Pio”

Ristorante Venerina
Ranked #5 109 of 13 954 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vatican / Borgo
Reviewed 29 October 2018

The only thing that made our visit to Venerina worth the while was the kind waitress.

Food was terribly tasteless, and it took long time to get the food. Ended up asking for salt and pepper, and putting some of the parmesan cheese left from appetizers on top of the pasta. Then it tasted at least something..

Never again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018

Writing a negative review is never pleasant, since I know that it is seen world-wide & might affect the business of the establishment being reviewed. However, in this case I feel that the criticisms are warranted. My experience as described here was as a member of a tour group. Perhaps if we'd come as individuals it would have been different, but here goes:

We were all seated & left at our tables for about 20 minutes with only water & bread on the tables & no communication with staff. Across from us, tables were set, apparently for another group, with lovely-looking bruschetta, which we gazed at longingly. Finally servers came around with large bowls full of something white & mushy & proceeded to sling spoonfuls onto our plates like slopping hogs. Turns out it was nasty-tasting risotto, which most of us left barely touched. Next course was mushy carrot & zucchini with a tough grayish piece of unidentifiable meat. Again, the service was dreadful. The dessert of ice cream was okay.

I understand that we had no control over the food choices since they were determined by the tour group management. However, the quality & service are definitely the responsibility of the staff, & they failed. If someone from the restaurant responds, I hope it's in English so that I, can other viewers, can understand it.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TexasClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

The lady who welcomed me to sit down was very helpful with all of the customers. She talked to all of the diners and made them feel welcome.
The food was excellent. I started with tonnarelli cacio e pepe and followed that with Saltimbocca allá Romana. On of the best meals that I had in Rome this trip.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank larrycollins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

I so enjoyed the fresh mozzarella and ham starter. My 2nd course was a fettuccini with porcini mushrooms, not fresh but canned. Since it is porcini season I assumed fresh mushrooms, but not. My cousin ordered a pizza that was fresh with spicy salami. It was tasty. We proceeded to pay separately on credit cards and my 2 plates went up by 7 euros and hers by 5 euros. So the waiter got an extra 12 euros for splitting the bill....wrong.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank DianeMonongahela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

We went there for a lunch before visiting the Vatican and we had the most obnoxious rude waiter I have ever experienced .
Very inattentive and constantly barraging us with rude remarks .
Don't waste your time on this restaurant as there are so many other places to eat around the Vatican !!'

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank kt24gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Venerina also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Venerina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing