We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience!”
Review of Adventure Around

Adventure Around
Ranked #332 of 937 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We were approached by a man, the contact of the tour office, who explained to us about the Vatican tour and the skip the line option. He added that the price included a map and that we’d be ‘in a small group of 20 or less’ starting at 11:15. We never got a map. Then we were taken to an office to pay, and afterwards to another office to pick up the guide. By then it was 12:00. The guide took us to the office again, where more people joined the group. We walked to get to the security check having to wait in line a long time. At some point a lady from the office came with about 15 more people who cut in front of us and joined the group. When my husband complained, the lady said he could go back to the office and get his money back. We were then 50 people in the group. We finally went through security at about 1:30 and had to stand waiting for people to use the restroom and for students to get their discounted tickets. We started the tour around 2:00 pm. Our guide was Marta, and she was good and knowledgeable, but by then many people had left the group wanting to continue on their own. By then we were exhausted, hungry, and overwhelmed by the number of people everywhere. We decided we’d move on to the Sistine Chapel, which is what we really wanted to see. By the time we left and returned the audio device (mine had stopped working about an hour before) it was well after 3:00. I thought we paid €60 for service we didn’t get, and the ‘lady’ from the office was rude by offering the solution to go to the office and get our money back if we didn’t like the group increased.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"vatican city"
in 21 reviews
"sistine chapel"
in 23 reviews
"tour guide"
in 22 reviews
"enter st"
in 2 reviews
"great tour"
in 10 reviews
"important things"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing guide"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 5 reviews
"queue"
in 15 reviews
"company"
in 19 reviews
"art"
in 15 reviews
"knowledge"
in 11 reviews
"michelangelo"
in 8 reviews
"information"
in 9 reviews
"stories"
in 7 reviews
"valentina"
in 2 reviews
"context"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

We were approached by an employee on our way to the Vatican at about noon. Although we weren't really interested in a guided tour, we decided to do it just to skip the line. The guy brought us to their office where we paid for the tickets and were told the tour would start at 12:15 and would be 2 hours - 2.5 hours long. We were only in Rome for the day and planned to go to the Colosseum afterwards so this seemed like the right decision in order to save time. The tour guide didn't show up until 12:45 and when he did, he went into a ton of detail about the history of Rome while we waited for another tour guide and her group. By the time we started walking over to the Vatican it was after 1pm. When we arrived at the Vatican we were told we would need to wait in line. Interesting, I thought we paid to skip the line. We waited about 45 minutes and were finally let in at 2pm. Once the guides went up to the ticket counter to get our tickets, there was clearly a problem. He was calling someone on his cell phone and the guy at the counter was pointing his finger "no" at him. By the time they resolved whatever the issue was, it was 2:30. We decided to just take our tickets and forgo the guided tour as we had already wasted 2 hours waiting just to get in! Not worth it - we could have been in faster and paid 1/3 of the price!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank tmarch823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We researched the skip the line tickets before leaving home but never had a chance to purchase. When we were approached at the entrance to buy them from Roberto and he said the tour was leaving very soon we followed him to their office 10 mins walk away and purchased. The group was smaller only 15 or so, which was perfect for us. Our guide Valentina was very good spoke English very clear, and knew her history of the Vatican and St. Peter’s Basilica. We saw the line to get into the Vatican and she told us some of these people waiting for hours would probably still not get in. We went back to thank Roberto for getting us into that tour so quickly and he thanked us by buying us a cappuccino! We would recommend their tour, as a smaller group, and it was worth every penny.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We took a tour of the Vatican with Adventure Around and we’re so happy that we did! Deny Martines is a tour guide that you want to experience the Vatican with. She’s so funny and charming and brought us to all the most important things walking through the Vatican towards the Sistine Chapel. Before heading into the building, Deny gave us a lovely discussion about Michelangelo and the history of the Renaissance art that we were about to see so we could know what to look out for and have plenty of context.

The Vatican is incredibly crowded but Deny knew exactly where to stop and give us context about what we were looking at. I can’t stress enough how funny and personable Deny was, and most importantly how knowledgeable. In addition to being a tour guide, she’s also a painter and a writer so she had a wonderfully artful and well-rounded perspective that was easy to understand.

If you’re headed to the Vatican I would highly recommend taking a guided tour—that’s the only way to pass through the crazy lines! Furthermore, don’t miss out on Adventure Around and on Deny. She and this company made our visit to the Vatican seamless and really interesting.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

The estimated time in Line was 2 to 3 hours. By the time we went to their office and waited for our scheduled time. Then we walked to two other locations and picked up more people and tickets. We arrived at the door and another line. It took us 3 to 4 hour to get in the Museum Vatican. where we were meet with more lines.

They got us in, but it took longer than if we waited in line.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank bsnsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adventure Around also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Around? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing