We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 19:30
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Pompeii - Archaeological Area.
from US$23,76
More Info
from US$13,80
More Info
from US$36,43
More Info
from US$71,90
More Info
Reviews (19 328)
Filter reviews
19 328 results
Traveller rating
13 367
4 277
1 089
378
217
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13 367
4 277
1 089
378
217
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide free map wear comfortable shoes bucket list ticket office walking shoes plaster casts bring water bottle of water main entrance circumvesuviana train huge site we spent hours lots of water an amazing place own pace porta marina
Filter
Updating list...
874 - 879 of 19 328 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We had wanted to visit Pompeii for many years. It was worth the wait. The scale of the site is amazing, so be prepared for a lot of walking. A few of our party found it a bit much as much of the walking is on uneven ground and not a lot of shelter.
Do take refreshments with you as once you are in the grounds there is nowhere to buy anything.
If you are using public transport - the train station is only a five minute walk to the site.
So glad we visited and would recommend

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 12 members from India. The fact that this town was destroyed by the ash n lava thrown by mt vesuvius attracted us to this place. We booked a day tour from rome through viator. Worth every bit, the tour around Pompeii bought history alive. Its beautifully maintained..clean. The tour guide was very good. All in all worth every penny.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank preethij72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This was in June. Ticket advice: buy tickets ahead on line and go to the line with no line to the right of the ticket line! We didn't, and wasted 40 minutes in line - the tour guides get to bring in whole groups of people ahead of you. So even if you think you are close to the booth, you are not. That said, once in, be sure to wear hiking boots, seriously. My sneakers were not up to the uneven large stone walkways. Those in flip flops suffered (one in our group). And I would not recommend it for anyone under 9 or 10 who can find something interesting in the site. Our 3 and 7 year old grandchildren wanted to leave after 10 minutes. We covered about 1/2 the area in a couple hours And the crowds really took away from the fun for me, anyway. I enjoyed the museum in Naples with all the artifacts better than the site. Consider it.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank lncclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

You've heard about it but to be able to see the ruins is amazing. You can clearly see the streets and foundations of buildings. The amphitheater and courtyards are great. But the most amazing thing is to see Mt. Vesuvius in the distance .

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank NICKY1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Did this as part of an all day tour . Did Pompeii in the afternoon and 2 hours was probably enough there is not
Much shelter for rain or sun so dress appropriately. It did both in our tour . Our guide Bernadette was really good . I can’t believe that there is an actual town Pompeii with ships
Hostels etc right near the ruins ! It was interesting to see the casts of dead people and a dead dog from so long ago

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 282LisaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews