We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pompeii..an archaeological delight..history at her best”

Pompeii - Archaeological Area.
Ranked #1 of 80 things to do in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home of the world's most famous volcanic disaster when Mount Vesuvius erupted in 79 A.D., Pompeii is now a significant archeological site that provides an amazing glimpse into the daily life of an average Roman town over two thousand years ago.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 12 members from India. The fact that this town was destroyed by the ash n lava thrown by mt vesuvius attracted us to this place. We booked a day tour from rome through viator. Worth every bit, the tour around Pompeii bought history alive. Its beautifully maintained..clean. The tour guide was very good. All in all worth every penny.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank preethij72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19 500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio guide"
in 953 reviews
"free map"
in 182 reviews
"wear comfortable shoes"
in 208 reviews
"bucket list"
in 281 reviews
"ticket office"
in 250 reviews
"walking shoes"
in 193 reviews
"plaster casts"
in 194 reviews
"bring water"
in 181 reviews
"bottle of water"
in 138 reviews
"main entrance"
in 224 reviews
"circumvesuviana train"
in 144 reviews
"huge site"
in 142 reviews
"we spent hours"
in 136 reviews
"lots of water"
in 105 reviews
"an amazing place"
in 150 reviews
"own pace"
in 159 reviews
"porta marina"
in 102 reviews
Filter

927 - 931 of 19 500 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

This was in June. Ticket advice: buy tickets ahead on line and go to the line with no line to the right of the ticket line! We didn't, and wasted 40 minutes in line - the tour guides get to bring in whole groups of people ahead of you. So even if you think you are close to the booth, you are not. That said, once in, be sure to wear hiking boots, seriously. My sneakers were not up to the uneven large stone walkways. Those in flip flops suffered (one in our group). And I would not recommend it for anyone under 9 or 10 who can find something interesting in the site. Our 3 and 7 year old grandchildren wanted to leave after 10 minutes. We covered about 1/2 the area in a couple hours And the crowds really took away from the fun for me, anyway. I enjoyed the museum in Naples with all the artifacts better than the site. Consider it.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank lncclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

You've heard about it but to be able to see the ruins is amazing. You can clearly see the streets and foundations of buildings. The amphitheater and courtyards are great. But the most amazing thing is to see Mt. Vesuvius in the distance .

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank NICKY1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Did this as part of an all day tour . Did Pompeii in the afternoon and 2 hours was probably enough there is not
Much shelter for rain or sun so dress appropriately. It did both in our tour . Our guide Bernadette was really good . I can’t believe that there is an actual town Pompeii with ships
Hostels etc right near the ruins ! It was interesting to see the casts of dead people and a dead dog from so long ago

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 282LisaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Walking around the Pompeii ruins was a touching experience. Not only is the decimated city a window into life thousands of years ago with the ruins of open markets, gardens, houses and entertainment venues, getting to see the artifacts and casts of people and animals who died terrified holding loved ones or holding onto to their earthly belongings really gives you a sense of the literal final moments of life in Pompeii. Give yourself at least 4-5 hours to walk through and see everything. You are literally walking through the remains of a large city. It's a can't miss stop in the Naples region.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank rudyrodjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pompeii - Archaeological Area. also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Pompeii - Archaeological Area.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing