We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parco Sommerso di Gaiola Area Marina Protetta
Book In Advance
More Info
US$264,89*
and up
Wonderful Naples by car plus by boat
Ranked #27 of 790 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Gaiola Underwater Park is a Marine Protected Area established in 2002 along the Posillipo coast, in the northwestern Gulf of Naples. The Park owes its singularity to the fusion of volcanological, biological and archaeological aspects inserted in one of the most attractive coastal landscape in the Gulf. Many ancient roman remains (I Century b.C.) lie underwater because of a geological phenomenon (bradyseism). It’s possible to visit it by glass-bottom boat, snorkeling and diving tours.
Reviewed 22 February 2017

The best time is april, may and june. You have to walk for about 20 minutes, descendin from about 80 m to the sea level. Not good in hot summer . Interesting place about animal and plants of Mediterranean Sea and with a boat with glass window you cav see Roman ruins and vulcanic gas on the floor of the sea.The aerial picture was taken by me from helicopter.

Date of experience: April 2016
4  Thank cagtripodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"protected area"
in 5 reviews
"snorkel tour"
in 3 reviews
"glass bottom boat"
in 3 reviews
"metro line"
in 2 reviews
"sea life"
in 2 reviews
"roman"
in 5 reviews
"visibility"
in 2 reviews
"tanks"
in 2 reviews
"plants"
in 2 reviews
"rocks"
in 3 reviews
"posillipo"
in 2 reviews
"path"
in 2 reviews
"beauty"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2016

A very pleasant visit about, History, Sea and volcanic Rocks. Spring and Summer are the best season to be there. You will be embarked on glass bottom boat to obserbe submerged roman ruins and sealife.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank cagtripodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We were supposted to take metro line 2 then bus from napoli then walk 1 km to get there but first thing line 2 was closed that day so we had to take line 1 then cable care then the bus and walk and its not easy to really follow the map we were about to get lost like 3 times but when we finally made it we found out that you cant swim by these 2 islands coz they are like preserved so you swim the other side ..
So i don really thinks its woth all the effort we did to get there

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Mira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

This place is a spot locals go to the beach. It is hard to get to and gets very crowded. Also, it is a protected marine and archeology area, so there are strict rules. That being said, I really wanted it. I found this place gorgeous and fantastic. There isn't a ton to see, but what is there is amazing. There is a small public beach and cold shower/changing area first. Then the marine protected area. Only 100 people in at a time, so there was a waiting line by noon. No food or drinks for purchase and nothing allowed in the protected area. Go early to avoid it being too crowded and take in the fact that you're looking at part of a 2,000+ year old town.

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank UWDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Got to Gaiola the day after a storm for a pre booked snorkelling tour. Our guide, Oscar, directed us past the queue for entry to the protected area of the park. There are only 100 people at a time allowed into the area in order to help preserve it.
The views here are amazing and it really is beautiful, however, we were warned that the water was a bit choppy and the visibility was poor and were given the opportunity to cancel if we wanted to.
We decided to do the tour anyway and were given an informative presentation before getting into our wetsuits.
Visibility wasn't great but Oscar adapted the tour to make the most if it, showing us the areas he could but also giving us a live marine life demonstration. He really knew his stuff!
We still had a good day and it was worth going down there just to see the view of the water and the spectacle of the most densely packed beach I've ever seen (outside the protected area is a small, public beach). Our guide even had a drink in the bar with us (well it was a cave with a fridge) afterwards and his rapping was pretty amusing!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank 811vickyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parco Sommerso di Gaiola Area Marina Protetta also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Parco Sommerso di Gaiola Area Marina Protetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing