We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfule!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Torre d'Alba

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Sorrento, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LBMholls
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfule!”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a once in a life time sort of a place. Everyone should stay somewhere like this at least once.....or preferably every year! Its about a 10/15 min walk down into Sorrento to bars shops restaurants. All on a walkway away from the busy roads. The shops are full of everything you would need to cook a meal....OR eat out the prices are reasonable and the food is to die for..the weather was lovely even though it was Sept 22:::23 a few thunderstorms over night and rain but all gone by the morning. The walk into town is good but getting back a bit steap...so slower! Leave the town in plenty of time to get back. Or get the bus back ask it to stop at the (Hotel President ) that is just round the corner from the villa.
Amalia was always on the end of a phone if you needed advice or anything or cabs booked. The garden is just amazing the pool the same. The whole experience was unforgettable and we are hoping to go back.
If you are thinking of booking this villa STOP THINKING! Book it before someone else does and you miss out, its the best. Thank you Amalia and everyone so much. Xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
276mandy2...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa with fantastic views over bay of Naples”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful villa with breathtaking views over bay of Naples and across to Vesuvius. The villa has a large terrace and is exactly as it appears in the photograph. This is a view to die for - you could spend all day and evening just sitting there looking out into the bay, or watching the daily activities in Sorrento which is below to the right. The villa itself is on two levels as it is built into the rock. Kitchen/diner as you enter the property, and downstairs is the living area/bedroom and bathroom - however you can also open the doors from the living area to a second smaller terrace if you wish. The villa host Massimiliano was fantastic and went through how everything worked in the villa when we arrived. It is a beautiful place without a doubt. Be aware though that it is at the top of a steep hill above Sorrento and whilst there is a winding path you can walk down in about 20 mins or so to get to the town, it is not really walkable to get back up, particularly if you had any food shopping! You will need to get a bus or a taxi. The Sita bus will stop very close to the villa. We would highly recommend this villa, it is stunning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomandkat...
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a magical spot with spectacular views of Sorrento and the bay. It is a great place just to relax and enjoy the property. Since it is centrally located, it was also perfect to access the entire coast for day trips. Capri is 30 minutes by hydrofoil. Positano is 45 minutes by car- although you will want a driver to take you. The villa is perched on the mountain with an easy 20 minute walk to Sorrento down a pathway. Not so easy coming back up but good exercise if you are fit and adventuresome.
Massimilano was extremely helpful in all aspects of our stay. He booked dinner reservations, transfers from the Naples airport, cooking class with Chef Carmen and was generous with his knowledge of the area. When we arrived, he had stocked the fridge with staples and even has a bottle of wine. The property is beautiful and very well maintained. The Grand Hotel President next door is a good spot for a cocktail on the terrace and for spa treatments.
Torre d'Alba is a special place. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancyBKir...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

You know when James Bond needs the perfect hideaway in paradise? Well, this is exactly the place he would choose if he was escaping to the Amalfi coast and the beauty of Sorrento. A week doesn't seem long enough to enjoy everything this enchanting space has to offer - and yet once outside you get to enjoy this untouched slice of heaven and the surrounding jewels like Capri. Firstly, the views are outstanding and the outdoor spaces are immaculate. You can literally relax in the sun or dine out whilst enjoying priceless views of Sorrento. Indoors, everything has an air of quality and excellence, from the Frette bedding to the authentic Italian kitchen. It is very modern, but the watchtower element is respected, meaning that even on the hottest days, inside remains cool, which is a real bonus in high summer. Massimiliano meets you on arrival, and the fridge is stocked with goodies - fabulous!!! This is not the place to be if you want to be in the heart of things, but that means it is peaceful and serene. It is easy to get into Sorrento, and Massimiliano stays in touch if you need anything at all. I could be here all day, but really, this place has to be seen to be believed. Thanks to all of the team who made this the experience of a lifetime!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian J
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I could run out of superlatives for this apartment and in this location because it was simply sublime from beginning to end.

Massimilliano was our arrivals guide on behalf of the owner and in our opinion he should be paid more money simply for being brilliant! He was always on hand if we needed anything and was always thoughtful and happy to help whether it be showing us where to visit, what restaurants to try and he was more than accommodating on our last day by driving us to Sorrento's train station.

Now for the apartment.... OH MY GOD ITS AMAZE BALLS!!! The apartment itself is quaint and well thought out but it's when you exit the property on to the veranda where your breath gets taken away by the view of Sorrento. I'm pretty sure I stopped breathing for a while when I first took in that view and thanked my lucky stars that we fortunate enough to be able to have this for 7 whole days!

With beautiful private gardens, a built in BBQ which Massimilliano told us to burn the acorns as well as the stock pile of logs for burning which made my birthday all the much better!

Then there's the infinity pool. 2 metres deep so diving and childish bombing in to the pool became a necessity and again a view to die for looking over the mountainous regions of Italy in the distance. The best thing about this place is the ultimate privacy. You didn't have to worry about the music being too loud or annoying the neighbours and if you are a little partial to the occasional skinny dipping then this is definitely the place for you!

I will end by saying that everyone, at least once in their life should sample Sorrento, the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, Vesuvious and The Isle of Capri but do it from Torre d'Alba as a base where you feel like you are living like a movie star for the duration of your stay. We feel a little bit privileged for staying here as it truly was the most special of places.

Signing out with the my very limited Italian

Ciao bella!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;