We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bellissimo”

Review of VILLA IL GIOIELLO

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Sorrento, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
NormaF17
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bellissimo”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in this villa with our adult children and partners. The location was perfect for access to shops, restaurants, and transport links for the Amalfi Coast / Pompeii etc.

Villa itself is magnificent in décor and size. Having 5 double bedrooms, we were spoiled for choice and had plenty of room to have our own space.

The owner, Mena, met us on arrival. She was extremely helpful and made us feel that nothing would be too much trouble for her or indeed her housekeeper, Leyla, who kept the house spotlessly clean, arriving each morning, but somehow managing to be totally unobtrusive.

The house is extremely well equipped, with gas BBQ and pool. The electric blinds were a “God send”. No waking up at the break of dawn with the light streaming into the villa.

There are no views from villa as it is a walled garden, but we didn’t feel this was necessary when we returned to the villa, tired after our day out sightseeing.

We would definitely recommend this villa and if we had a large group going to Sorrento again, we would most certainly book this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim W
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My wife and I and our 4 grown up boys stayed here in July. This was to be, hopefully, our holiday of a lifetime. It certainly was that. This Villa was exactly what we wanted, a short walk into town, a small pool, 5 very comfortable double beds enough bathrooms for us all and plenty of room so we could all have our own space if required. The patio area outside was lovely to sit out in from early morning to late at night. Mena our host was lovely and always available if we needed her. The cleaner was in every morning and kept the Villa immaculate.
The Villa is very well equipped and presented. No of us wanted to leave and we will return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey...
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Superlative”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Five couples stayed here for a week in a lovely villa, hostess most accomodating, house immaculate, marble throughout. The kitchen has modern American type appliances, excellent for preparing large dinners. As I say, there were 10 of us and there were rooms we did not even go into, that is how big the house is. We all thought the location was great, go to the Music Bar at the top of the street.Felt very safe. Cleaning lady comes every day. We'd go back in a heartbeat, but don't book through rentvillas.com as they will mishandle your reservation for sure, book direct.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esme C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had had a very busy year, and I booked this villa so that our family could have a relaxing holiday - it was advertised as having a restful garden and wonderful views over the bay of Naples, neither of which was true. Beside the villa is one of the busiest roads in Sorrento, with traffic going down it into the early hours. On the other side of the road there is a football Club where events happened most evenings, involving floodlights, which had the effect of floodlighting our restful garden too! The pool was really just a plunge pool, and there was no view of the Bay of Naples from anywhere in the villa. We had imagined sitting by the pool with something cool in our glasses and admiring the view of the Bay of Naples - unfortunately not so. The villa itself was as advertised

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Terrace was pretty but very very noisy
Liked least: The noise from the road and football club, the lack of a proper pool and no view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzoRi...
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing