We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 462)
Filter reviews
1 462 results
Traveller rating
1 116
267
54
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 116
267
54
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bathing platform the cliff american bar bay of naples sea view private jetty half board decking area evening meal fantastic hotel sun deck our honeymoon elegant hotel waiter service ten minute walk terrace bar reception staff
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1 462 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A really nice hotel.
Everywhere is spotlessly clean, the staff are all friendly and really helpful.
The rooms are a good size if you get the right one.
The food in the restaurant is great!
Good quiet location away from the main town with awesome views!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pilbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Pilbs,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Riviera with the Tripadvisor readers.
We are really pleased that the breathtaking views, the decor of the hotel, the quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff made your holiday a very pleasant one.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,
kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Concierge staff were helpful & very friendly. Food was average at best and not good value. Experience spoilt by two large weddings during the week - noisy and disruptive for residents. (But, good luck to the newly weds!).

Room Tip: Whilst view of bay is wonderful, probably best to choose the sunny side of the property.
Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anthonybharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear anthonybharris,
thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.
We are really sorry that the food did not meet your expectations, especially as we receive many positive reviews about the food quality.
Sometimes we do have to organise weddings to maintain the high standards of the hotel.
Anyway thank you very much again for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Riviera very soon!!
Kindest regards
Gianni
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

The grand hotel is a lovely property on the cliffs overlooking the bay. Rooms are very nice, the food is just okay. It is a 10 minute walk to Piazza Tasso. The included breakfast has many choices and the service is good.

Room Tip: Some partial view rooms are better than others. We had a lovely view from #402.
Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at the Grand in a delightful room overlooking the sea. Overall very enjoyable but lacks a little soul in places.
Reception staff exceptional but midweek bar & restaurant really give the feeling that they are just going through the motions. Spent Friday by the pool before leaving and WOW the difference of the staff behind the bar and bringing us drinks was amazing.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank edgech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the Grand Hotel Rivera on the second leg of our 30th anniversary trip to Italy. After spending 4 hectic days touring Rome, we had the perfect transition to beautiful Sorrento. Upon booking the hotel, they offered to arrange for transfer from Naples. Right away this took the stress out of our first trip to Europe. All the desk staff spoke English and suggestions for dinner and tours were perfect for us, Our room was huge, clean and had pretty tile flooring. We had an amazing view of the Bay of Naples where a huge yacht with a helicopter docked not too far from us. I felt like they were actually looking in at us and envying us for being able to stay at the hotel. At the foot of our bed, a set of French doors led out to a patio with a table and chairs. We spent a good bit of our time on the terrace just soaking in the sun, breathing in the sea air and viewing Mt. Vesuvius. Our breakfasts were filling and on some mornings offered champagne. Such a treat! We took advantage of the beautiful swim area Abyssinians taking a relaxing dip in the Mediterranean. Upon looking at the swim areas offered by the other hotels, the Hotel Riveria does have the largest and nicest set up with many lounge chairs and a large protected area for safe swimming. This hotel truly exceeded expectations and left us with warm memories to last a lifetime.

Room Tip: Splurge for a sea view room. So worth it for the best view of Mt. Vesuvius and sea of Naples.
Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Francesca S,
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about our Grand Hotel Riviera and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
We are so pleased that your stay with us surpassed your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotel facilities so much.
We are all looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon to Sorrento,
With my kindest regards,
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews