We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$237
US$230
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$318/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Aurora(Amalfi)
US$263
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$380/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Lara(Amalfi)
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Amalfi(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Rina Country House Amalfi(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$298
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$1 181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$512
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$616/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$944
US$918
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1 534/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1 110)
Filter reviews
1 110 results
Traveller rating
378
407
169
81
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
407
169
81
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busprivate beachhalf boardgerry's barhotel beachamalfi coastamazing viewslocal sita busminute walk up the hillnice poolbreakfast and dinnermini barevery hourbus servicesea viewpublic areasroom number
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 1 110 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We arrived at the hotel having self driven from Naples. Our rooms were not ready, but it was still 11am, so we decided to stroll around the hotel and maybe grab some lunch at one of the bars.
We were absolutley amazed at the incredible views from every vantage point of the hotel. It's perched, seemingly precariously, at the top of a steep slope which finishes with the sea a mile down.
The hotel was very well kept and had a fifties charm about the decor and furnishings
We had a light lunch at the pool bar which you find through a cave cut through the cliffside. The staff were attentive and friendly and we could not wait to be settled in out rooms to get on with our adventure.
Our room was initially dingy looking but when the receptionist opened the shutters and french doors onto a huge balcony we just gasped at the similar views from the bar and pool areas. But this view was our very own!
Breakfast is superb, with absolutely everyone catered for at this multinational hotel.
On the strength of this visit to this hotel, I would most definitely visit Amalfi again.
The Excelsior Grand has the grandest views of all!

Room Tip: Our room was on level 4, which is confusing, but its only one up from Reception, which is handy!
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

Must admit we took a deep breath when we saw the condition of this hotel. It's maintained but very dated, I expected Dean Martin music to be playing in the lounge with the orange decor.

Breakfast is a last resort sadly. The scrambled eggs have a distinctive colour and taste. Not bad, but best described as interesting.

Dinner and lunch are better but not brilliant.

Rooms of course have great views from what is best described as semi shared balconies. No privacy whatsoever.

The shuttle bus to Amalfi is an adventure in itself and not to be missed.

Staff at all areas are very friendly and helpful. A very cheerful bunch.

You'll get to know your neighbours habits as the tile floors resonate quite well from above and next door.

Would we go back? Probably not but it was worth a go and we didn't regret it. The photos at night with the moon over the water is straight out of a movie.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank CroweyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Absolutely a magical hotel property. This location is nicely perched in the side of a mountain, high above the Town of Amalfi, overlooking the beautiful Mediterranean Sea. The Garden Suite we had was absolutely great. Two story room with a huge patio to sit on and relax, while catching a breathtaking view of the water below. The pool is great....the nicest one on the Amalfi Coast ! The restaurant on the property was wonderful, with really friendly and outstanding service from everyone . The breakfast was good, but could have a used a little more selection, other than pastries and various breads. Very friendly staff, a view to die for, reasonable rates, wonderful rooms . I'm definitely going to visit this property again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden Suite room
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank GaryO337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We drove down to Amalfi and managed to park very easily in a spot right outside the doors. Though a tip to anyone planning to stay there and drive- the roads are horrific and the other road users even worse. The public transport to and from the hotel actually seemed really reliable and cheap, so you don't really need to hire a car (we were falsely told we needed a car in order to get there- that's the only reason we did to be honest).

The room was gorgeous- there was plenty of space and the view from the balcony was stunning. We had a sea view and were away from the pool which meant that the only noise we had was the sound of clinking glasses at breakfast (you can eat breakfast on the terrace which was below our room. The only downside facilities-wise was that the room didn't have a safe.

There is a lot of choice for breakfast, both in terms of food and drink. There’s hot and cold food that you can just help yourself to, and I think even the pickiest eater would be happy there.

Lunch was also really good at the hotel- you eat at the bar either inside or just to the side of the pool, and the food is really good value for money. The drinks, though, seemed a little expensive considering you don’t really have any choice for where to buy them, particularly water. A small bottle of water is 2 euros and fizzy drinks like coke are 2.50. We’d been spending this in Rome, but that’s a capital city so we were surprised to be paying it in the hotel. That being said, we stopped for a drink down in Amalfi and coke was 5 euros, so it could have been worse.

Dinner, to be honest, is too expensive in the hotel. The food is very nice, but we had better food for less throughout our holiday. If you aren’t half board and you don’t want to spend about 70-80 euros (not including wine/alcohol) a night for a meal, then it’s best to go into Pogerola which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. There isn’t much choice there to be honest but there is a place called Gerry’s Pub which does really nice food for a decent price.

The staff at Excelsior, though were all very helpful- I never caught his name unfortunately, but there is a gentleman who runs the breakfast at the hotel and he was by far one of the best and friendliest members of staff there, though they were all fantastic.

The hotel is towards the top of the hills above Amalfi, which means that the views are beautiful, but it does also mean that you’re a little stuck when it comes to going out for food- Amalfi is about a 20-30 minute bus trip away. So it’s both a blessing and a curse.

We also found that the walls were a little thin, and it was very easy to hear our neighbours watching TV or having a conversation, which was a nuisance late at night or early in the morning.

I would also advise people to be cautious with the tab at the hotel. You can ask for a running total whenever you like, and they print out a statement which outlines what you spent. We had a problem where on our first day there were a few things we had been charged for which we never had. They didn’t correct this the first time we brought it to their attention, but the second time it was sorted out really quickly to be fair. It was just a bit concerning that, if we had had the bill as we were leaving- especially if we’d been in a hurry for a flight/coach etc. We would have probably ended up paying for things we never actually had. And when some things are costing quite a lot anyway, that can bump up your bill quite a lot. But like I said, it was sorted relatively quickly.

All in all, a very nice hotel, with very nice staff. If you want a quiet get away and you have a bit of money to spare for the additional costs of food/drink, then I do recommend this hotel. Also, if you want a day by the pool- it’s worth getting up early to get a spot because, for the size of the hotel, the pool area is quite small- though it does mean it’s pretty peaceful down there when you do want to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

The views from this hotel are outstanding. Sitting in the terrace for meals is a second to none experience.
The professionalism and friendliness of the restaurant staff could not be faulted.Perfect waiter service.
The hotel is dated but this adds to its charm and everywhere is spotlessly clean.The rooms are spacious and the plumbing is noisy but this is not a serious problem.
The pool is very adequate for a swim, but the area around it is small and sunbeds are next to each other. However,I don't think you would travel to the Amalfi coast to lie by the pool all day!
The shuttle bus from the hotel to Amalfi is reliable but does fill up early. The Sita bus service is reliable and cheap at 1 euro 20.You can travel along the coast any distance for this price.
If you have never been to Ravello you must go - stunning !
Whilst breakfast is very adequate, we did feel that the evening meal was sparse. Although it was mostly tasty, it was lacking in vegetables and we were offered no salad whatsoever.This hotel obviously runs a very tight budget on food. There is always some " recycling" of food in any hotel but the "vegetable "crepe I had for a starter was stuffed with spaghetti . I found one piece of tomato! Also the courgette pie for main course was a soggy mush floating in white sauce which tasted just of cornflower. Not very palatable at all! I am not a fussy person, but I do not think the food in this hotel could be classed as 4*. It does not match the outstanding waiter service.
We did not use the hotel bar. It was very comfortable but lacked any " ambience" so we were not tempted.
Walk up the hill to Pogerola and you will find a couple of bars and restaurants with stunning views.
I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break with stunning views and would return despite my comments about the food.

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning sea views
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mumBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews