We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood restaurant in Reggio Calabria”

Degusteria Scarlata
Reserve with
Degusteria Scarlata is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$151
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 April 2018

My wife and I ate here last week. We arrived early and were the first people in the restaurant (Americans typically eat earlier than Europeans). Before we ordered, two waiters showed us the fresh fish caught that day. Each fish, one by one (there were perhaps 7 or 8 of them), was brought to our table and identified for us, so that we could better understand the menu offerings. The fish were clearly fresh and the waiters were happy to answer our questions. After we made our choices, we enjoyed a delicious meal, perfectly prepared and presented. The restaurant was small, with only 7 or 8 tables, and with a large selection of wines in full view of the diners. Its location was also very convenient, approximately 3 blocks from the cathedral and close to the main pedestrian street in Reggio. We had a great meal!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demetrio1957, Proprietario at Degusteria Scarlata, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018
Google Translation

Gentilissimo Sig. Joseph la ringrazio calorosamente per la sua recensione con il massimo dei voti alla mia Degusteria. Nel mio ristorante e' consuetudine far vedere, a tutti i nostri ospiti, il pescato del giono sempre fresco cosi' che possano scegliere tra diverse qualita' di pesce quale e' piu' di loro gradimento. Anche la nostra cantina ,come ha gia' detto lei, vanta un'esposizione di oltre 1200 etichette cosi' che si possano accontentare al meglio i gusti dei nostri gentili ospiti. Devo dire Sig. Joseph che' e' stato un vero piacere per me ed il mio staff averVi ospiti e mi auguro di rivederla molto presto. Alla prossima...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

Fifteen minutes' walk from from the main museum, this elegant little place in a residential area was open for lunch despite looking closed (phew!) A warm and courteous welcome, exquisite service, scrumptious mussels and little squid to start followed by tasty raviolini. Extensive selection of wine (including a good house wine for 12 euros) and other interesting drinks (I finished with a delightful limoncello-like bergamotto), and a very generous and unexpected sweet finish to the meal. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lmb18D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demetrio1957, Proprietario at Degusteria Scarlata, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017
Google Translation

Gentilissimo Sig. Lmb la ringrazio per la sua recensione con il massimo punteggio alla mia degusteria. E' stato davvero un piacere per me averla mio ospite e mi auguro vivamente di rivederla presto.
Alla prossima............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This place is not in the absolute centre, it's not close to the Lungomare.....so you'll really have to make a bit of an effort to find it. However....it's worth it 100%.

It looks a little unusual, like a modern wine bar with old fashioned chairs and tables (and napkins etc.) but the food is absolutely amazing. One of their specialities is carpaccio of fish (marinated tuna, swordfish) and you'll rarely have tasted this better than here. The marinated langoustines were to die for, the deep-fried octopus simply the best.
All the other options are amazing too; it's worth getting the Degustazione or just order lots of starters. Everything is made with high quality ingredients, prepared in a refined way, all just at the highest level. Like the service; these people know how to treat (i.e. spoil) their guests. We were advised great wine, we ended up with lots of complimentary sweets and bitters with our coffee...a perfect ending to a perfect meal...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HJteK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demetrio1957, Proprietario at Degusteria Scarlata, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017
Google Translation

Gentilissimo Sig. HJtek la ringrazio per la sua recensione con il massimo dei voti alla mia Degusteria. E' sempre molto piacevole leggere cosi' belle parole in merito alla qualita del nostro cibo e al modo in cui viene cucinato. E' sempre un vero piacere per me ed il mio staff avere graditi ospiti come lei. Mi auguro di rivederla presto.
Alla prossima...........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing seafood and service. Not a tourist trap. Very high quality. A very memorable meal. Could do with some more veggies on the menu.

1  Thank Columbia3083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demetrio1957, Proprietario at Degusteria Scarlata, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017
Google Translation

La ringrazio per la sua ottima recensione mi ha fatto piacere che è venuta diverse sere che vuol dire che tutto è stato di suo gradimento la prossima volta che verrà a Reggio Calabria mi raccomando si ricordi di noi l'aspettiamo grazie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We had de 7 course set menu and we enjoyed everything.

The service in this restaurant is 5 stars very very good. The owner is very friendly and the staf are nice.

A must visit when in Reggio Calabria

Thank Youngcoupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demetrio1957, Proprietario at Degusteria Scarlata, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per il 5 stelle e grazie per la sua ottima recensione a pieni voti alla nostra degusteria, mi fa molto piacere che avete gradito tutto il menù degustazione. Spero di potervi rivedere presto.
Grazie.
Alla prossima..........................

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Degusteria Scarlata also viewed

Reggio Calabria, Province of Reggio Calabria
Pellaro, Reggio Calabria
 
Reggio Calabria, Province of Reggio Calabria
Reggio Calabria, Province of Reggio Calabria
 
Reggio Calabria, Province of Reggio Calabria
Reggio Calabria, Province of Reggio Calabria
 

Been to Degusteria Scarlata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing