We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
154
116
19
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
116
19
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst floorminute walknice poolold townup hilladequate breakfastfree parkingbear in mindstayed for nightsprivate parkingswimming poolwalking distanceyogurtsassicarcappuccinocheese
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We picked this hotel because it has free car parking on site and within walking distance of the Sassi - bear in mind that the hotel is on top of a ridge so it's a stiff walk back.We had a room on the first floor at the front with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and views across the valley.Comfortable and clean so we were very happy with it.Breakfast was fresh fruit etc but nicely presented and the best we had in our tour of this region.Very friendly and efficient staff so enjoyed our 2 night stay

Room Tip: First floor front with balcony is serviced by lift, next floor it's stairs
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We had a very nice quiet room. We stayed two nights. The hotel is well located, only a 10 minute walk to the historic Matera sassi sites and many good restaurants. Free parking. Very adequate breakfast. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BarbaraJeanVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Casino Ridola is a lovely house that has been done up beautifully to a high standard. It's in a very good location about 700m from the entrance to the old town. Also, on the plus side, it has it's own gated car park - so if you are driving it is a very good location.

The staff were helpful, particularly the first lady we met on check in. Breakfast is basic, but fine. The bed was comfy.

However, we did have a number of small issues. First, our room (Room 105) is probably the best room in the house with a huge balcony. I noticed on check in that it was quite hot in the room and there was no air conditioner. The lady said that our room had under floor cooling (the only room that depends on this entirely). It transpired it was wasn't working. Fortunately, it was cool enough over night that we could have the door open with the blinds closed - just risking mosquito bites. So that's what we did for the next 3 nights. They tell us that all the other rooms have traditional blow air conditioners.

Second, the toilet seat was broken by the previous occupants. Not the Hotel's fault, but we had to go without until our third day when it was replaced.

Third, they put some scent in the room - attached under the sink. We really disliked the sickly chemical smell. We got them to remove it, but it took till our third day for the smell to disappear. The smell was in the other rooms we looked at too (my mother in law moved rooms).

Fourth, on one evening the live in owner's teenage son (we think) had some sort of party. It was noisy and went on till 11pm. It actually wasn't a problem for us, but would have been had we had an early start the next day.

In total we saw 4 of the approx 10 rooms. Our view was that the ground floor rooms are ok but a bit dingy. The first floor rooms were very nice. And the second floor room was a bit in the eves of the house. So, go for a first floor room if you can get it.

Matera is a really interesting place to visit. It was our favourite place in Puglia of all those we visited (even though it's not actually in Puglia!).

Despite its small faults, I'd say Casino Ridola is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room if you can.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Hotel Casino Ridola is just at the entrance to Matera,(less than 1 KM to the historical Matera).
They have private parking at hotel (what is a must if you came to Asissi by car) If you want to walk to the city center, it is not far, an easy walk of cca 15min.
The staff is very kind and helpful. The pool area is nice and really welcome in summer.
Rooms are nice and you get everything you need. Our room was on first floor with the balcony.
Breakfast is good, typical Italian with mainly croissants and cakes, juice from machine and very good cappuccino.

Room Tip: room on first floor with the balcony
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleksander s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights - perfect if you have a car.
Downside is the walk into the centre - it's not pretty and the walk back is uphill.
Helpful and friendly reception team.
A bit expensive for the standard - it has a small swimming pool which I guess would be welcome during the summer months.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 269alfons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews