We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfick”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bethersden, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona W
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfick”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in the Cart Lodge at the Darling Buds Farm. We received a very warm welcome and an offer to help us unload our car. There was a very thoughtful welcome pack with two tea towels, dish cloth, scourer, dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid.

Both bedrooms had fluffy towels and toiletries thoughtfully put on the beds.

The Cart Lodge was extremely clean, one of, if not the cleanest holiday self catering accommodation that we have ever stayed in.

What Simon the owner has achieved here is wonderful. The attention to detail is spot on. Everything has been thoughtfully done. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything that we needed. No expense has been spared and it shows.

The location is the Kent Countryside at it's very best. Peaceful and quiet the perfect place to either explore or simply relax. All that we could hear were the geese, chickens and donkeys which was just lovely.

Whilst we were here there was a changeover at the "Larkins" farmhouse and I asked the cleaner if I could look around as we would like to stay there in the future. She kindly let us and I can only describe it as "out of this world" absolutely perfick. The lady cleaning it deserves a huge pat on the back it was scrupulously clean and smelled so clean and fresh just like the Cart Lodge did on our arrival.

We will be back soon and looking forward to it already.

Thank you to Simon and his excellent team.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S
1 review
“enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at the Darling Buds Farm whilst visiting friends who live locally, and our time here was absolutely fantastic. We rented in the Oasthouse, which has recently been restored and and decorated to be beautifully modern, whilst still managing to retain some of the real Oast features inside. The accomodation was clean, facilities were brilliant, and all set in beautiful Kent countryside surroundings.
The owner was more than helpful, and even took his time to talk to us about the history of the farm, and what places he would recommend for us to visit whilst we were staying (of which there were many) We couldn’t recommend this place more, and look forward to visiting again when we’re back in the area.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A beautiful weekend away in the depths of Kent. Upon arrival we were met by the manager, a very warm welcome including a tour of the farm and accommodation. The farm house was perfect, plenty of wardrobe space and a comfy bed!! The whole house is furnished beautifully and a great touch is having the original Darling buds dvd’s available to watch. Went on a number of walks around the Pluckley surroundings, a truly fabulous stay, ultimately relaxing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay at Darling Buds”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Ideal weekend in the Kent country side, really brought back the Darling Buds memories - fantastic for a fan of the old show and otherwise. Very warm welcome on arrival, the place itself was well kept and everything was clean and looked after, had everything you could need facility wise. Great location - very picturesque and lots to do in surrounding towns and villages. Would definitely recommend and I'll be sure to come back in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayma...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not quite there!!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The setting is beautiful - no complaints and alot of money has obviously been spent on renovating the property. I do think it should be a 3 bedroom & not a 4. Two of the bedrooms on the groundfloor are extremely cramped!! Tiny wardrobe space and very small ensuites!!! Not really enough comfy seating in the lounge area for 8 either. Our biggest disappointment was the quality and lack of equipment in the house!!! Ive rented many houses for the weekend and they have always had a few dishwasher tablets, some washing up liquid, some jeye cloths -there were none of any of these!!! One tea towel!!! The pots and pans were cheap and poor quality and the kitchen utensils bent when you used them!!! It seems such a shame to spend so much money on the house and then skimp on the quality the contents!! When we arrived the kitchen table was covered in crumbs - not a great start!! There was no milk waiting for us (which has been the norm with other rentals) and because of its idyllic location its along way from shops, we were lucky enough that a kind gentleman let us have some before we had the chance to go shopping. When we asked ourselves the question 'Would we go again?' The answer was no. A great house spoilt by lack of attention to detail in our view. When you have paid a lot of money for the weekend. You do exoect a certain level of quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Sorry to hear that although you you found the setting beautiful you had a few complaints about a few things.

With regards to cleaning materials there is a new cleaning pack put into each property on turnaround. This includes dish cloth, scourer and dishwasher tablets. In addition there is washing up liquid and kitchen cleaner provided. It seems that either you didnt find the cleaning pack in this case or possibly our cleaner forgot to leave one in on turnaround. If the latter was the case we can only apologise. We have an onsite housekeeper with all contact details in the welcome pack, and staff here 7 days so if you had just asked we could have quickly remedied that and provided a pack from stock.

We are sorry to hear you did not approve of the quality of the kitchen utensils. They are very much NOT budget range and in fact an earlier reviewer on here commented "there has obviously been a lot of thought and effort into providing equipment - the kitchen particularly could hardly be better supplied with cutlery crockery etc and probably the most efficient dishwasher I have ever come across! "

There is seating on 3 sofas, so not sure why you thought that insufficient. There are 8 further chairs in the living space too which could have been used if you wanted to spread out more.

We don't provide milk on arrival as the accommodation is self catering so all guests generally go to the shop on arrival or arrange for a supermarket delivery but we certainly consider this if others find it such an issue.

The other reviews for this property have been pretty much all been 5* so we feel we are providing a great holiday location but we are sorry we fell short of your expectations, but we do note that around half of your trip advisor reviews have been average or below average so perhaps your standards are exceptionally high or you are easily disappointed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$430
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing