We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 446)
Filter reviews
1 446 results
Traveller rating
399
661
282
62
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
661
282
62
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews electric blinds old town modern hotel huge shopping centre blue route wooden floors corte ingles department store tourist bus stops science museum four star hotel ciudad de las artes coffee machine open top bus rent bikes outdoor pool big hotel
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1 446 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

This review, as with our recent stay in this hotel is in 2 major parts.

Firstly, the good stuff! This is a beautiful hotel with great communal areas and in a wonderful location. If you are looking for somewhere to base yourself and hit all the sites of Valencia then this hotel is ideal. It is walking distance to all the major sights, and perfect to wander through the old river in the evenings. It’s also only a brisk 20-25 mins walk to the beach and all the fantastic restaurants.

But, and this a big but, a considerably Kim Kardashian sized but....

Don’t stay here.

The reasons for this are simple.

1) Staff working in the hotel stole items of my wife’s clothing, and then the hotel not only refused to do anything about it beyond “checking with housekeeping” but actively pursued to blame us for the items having disappeared. Apparently as the clothes were not locked in the safe then there is nothing that the hotel can do to avoid them being stolen by their staff. Tough breaks I guess but try getting a safe through customs big enough!

2) Do not under any circumstances stay in the middle of a floor, where your room door is near the lift lobby. If you do, you won’t be sleeping.
Amazingly, despite reviews detailing this, the hotel still claim they’ve never heard of the problem.
Every few minutes, at every few hours of day you’ll hear the screeching of the lift as it makes its way up and down.

3) Managers Of the hotel are appalling at customer service. The general manager has taken no responsibility for the items being taken from our room, and has to date, done nothing to investigate this at his end. Extremely poor attitude given the situation.

This was an extremely disappointing result to what could have been a really fantastic stay.

Please don’t fall into the same trap we did by booking here.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimusValencia, Team at Hotel Primus Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Matt, thank you very much for your comments about your stay in our Hotel Primus Valencia.

We regret to say (it is not pleasant) that we are accused to the staff for something like that. We already told you that we treated your complaint at the Hotel during your stay. We are a 262 rooms hotel with over 10 years experience, and our staff is honest. We're people who care about our work.

Your opinion is always welcomed to improve our service. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We were actually booked into this hotel for a hen do. I was pleasantly surprised by how lovely the hotel was. Gorgeous lobby, helpful reception staff and nice rooms.
Bathroom was very clean as was the rest of the hotel.
The pool was small but we always found somewhere to sit outside.
The location was good and taxis to the old town were around €8. There was a bus outside too but we didn't use this.
All in all we were really happy with this hotel and would highly recommend giving it a go.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank bluemoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPrimusVLC, Team at Hotel Primus Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay in our Hotel Primus Valencia. We always try to offer the best service and quality to our guests and we are delighted that you value our efforts and be part of Primus Hotel. We are pleased to you enjoyed the city.

Is lovely. We really appreciate you take your time and give us your opinion. I hope to see you soon in Primus Valencia send us an email in your next stay with us to: social@hotelprimusvalencia.com we will take a special atention with you. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Hello we’ve just returned from a week at Hotel Primus. The hotel itself is good it’s spacious, the rooms are nice, restaurant is good, outdoor space is good although the pool is small and there’s not enough sun loungers. HOWEVER there is a very busy road (with four lanes of traffic) right next to the hotel meaning the ambient noise of traffic is constant whether you’re outside near the pool (which is right next to the road) or in your room (the noise from the air con is tremendous). I wouldn’t book again because of this - it’s simply not relaxing. I wish all of the excellent reviews had mentioned this. This is why I take the time to highlight this now and quite clearly.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Synthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We arrived here from the train station at renfe and it seemed to be quite a way out of the town centre, and admittedly I did not appreciate the size of Valencia (the third largest city in Spain). Given a room on 2nd floor, but if you had the window open at night the traffic noise was horrendous, the speed of the traffic through the main city roads is ridiculous, motorcycles doing up to 70mph. Got a move to 4th floor, but was far away from the lift and because the corridors are very dark, didn't like that, I actually mislaid my bag as I had missed it in the dark. So after negotiation we went into a back room on 1st floor with a terrace, but, if you want a balcony of which there are very few, it was 25 euros per night extra. We did negotiate a lower price , but they are not really worth it as you cannot actually see out of the screen. We were greeted with a torn sun bed and one chair, so we eventually got replacements. The first time I laid on the sunbed I went through the material and caught my elbow. We did not get any more replacements. Got a further reduction, granted the staff did appreciate the situation and their acceptance of that was good. The tv channels were not English, just news channels. There was no money exchange at the hotel, had to go across the road to Corte Ingles store, but take tour passport. The breakfast was lukewarm and a few choice missing. Overall I would not return, but ok for a couple of nights. The bar drinks very reasonable for a hotel.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are best but you have to pay extra.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPrimusVLC, Team at Hotel Primus Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Graham, thank you very much for your comments on your stay at our Hotel Primus Valencia. We always try to offer the best service and quality to our customers and we are delighted that you value our efforts and be part of Primus Hotel. We are next to the City of Arts and science (600 meters) and the city Center (3km). From this area is normal traffic jam, but it is higher if you have the window open. On the terrace, the regular supplement for all guests is 25.00 EUR VAT included per night, but you have a special price and only paid 15.00 EUR VAT included (per night) This offer is very good for you, because you negotiated another best price directly with our reception desk, about the sun bed It is correct that we did not change immediately, but added a new one a few days after this (which the other was broken).

Take care, the hotel not have change of currency, but in front of the Hotel (“El corte inglés” 0.5 meters) You can find this service.

Thank you very much for your comments on the bar drinks which we understand is about the service and the price:)

Send us an email in your next stay with us to: social@hotelprimusvalencia.com we will take a special atention with you. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

This hotel is perfectly located for the Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias, 10 mins walk away. Travel to the hotel from the airport is simple, just get on the metro Line 5 and enjoy the classical music as you wait to get off at the other end. Turn right and either get on the bus or walk for about 15 mins. The hotel is modern and sleek. It features a number of pieces of sculpture. Didn't use the sport facilities. The rooms are comfortable and clean, I don't like laminate flooring, but it wasn't that noisy to walk around on. The electric blinds and curtains take a bit of getting used to. The breakfast was plentiful and varied, but only 2 types of cereal available. Tea and coffee are provided in some rooms, depends on what you book. We had a superior room that allowed us to make coffee using the machine in the lift lobby. Not very successful. One, the machine was not reliable, two by the time we walked all the way back to our room with hot coffee cups, our hands were beginning to burn and then manoeuvring to open the room door was difficult. Could have just provided a kettle in the room. Opposite the hotel is a shopping centre with a supermarket on the lower floor. Also the tourist bus stops. Bus line 99 stops almost outside the hotel and just a 1 min walk to get Line 19 into the city centre. You can also get Line 19 bus to the Marina area. There are a few restaurants and bars around the corner for a late snack or drink. Staff all friendly and professional. Coffee at the bar is cheap. Garden and outside seating area face onto the main avenue. Usual people asking for money outside and near the shopping centre.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Pickle085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPrimusVLC, Team at Hotel Primus Valencia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay at our Hotel Primus Valencia. We always try to offer the best service and quality to our customers and we are delighted that you value our efforts and be part of Primus Hotel. We are next to the City of Arts and science (600 meters) and the city Center (3km). From the airport we can offer you a shuttle service or take the metro (perfect explanation). About the coffee on the first floor, sorry but you can use the platter that you can find in the room with the coffee and sugar. To go to the city center the best transport is the BUS (number 19 and 35) stop next to the hotel, and for the beaches bus number 19.

We really appreciate you take your time and give us your opinion. I hope to see you soon in Primus Valencia.
Send us an email in your next stay with us to: social@hotelprimusvalencia.com we will take a special atention with you. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews