We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spain Tastic! Tours
Save
Review Highlights
Bus for La Tomatina

Getting on the bus was a breeze organized simple. Coming back from Bunol was madness. People were... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2015
seadweller80
,
Phoenix, Arizona
What a Shambles

Unfortunately the tour company we originally booked with pulled out of the festival last minute so... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2015
Abbi C
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 38 reviews
  
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
13
2
4
6
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
2
4
6
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2014

La Tomatina was fun and great. The company was horrible at best. The buses left late to get there. Once there our bus, BCN 3, the guide, was always blaming someone else for everything that went wrong. He had no idea where we were supposed to be at for the fight, no idea where our lockers were. We ended up putting our things in yard and another tour guide watched it. We were told there showers available for us afterwards, no. The showers turned out to be a multiple three inch hoses hooked up to water tanks. Then afterwards we were supposed to leave at two, well at three thirty we finally got on the bus. Major confusion between the tour company and local p.d. as to where we were could get on the bus at. There was no shade, very little water, our tour guide once again did nothing for us, he just complained and threw the company under the bus. Avoid them they are not organized.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank kirbykirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 September 2014

Good morning,

First of all, we want to apologize for what happened wrong, it's not easy to manage so many people (Spain Tastic! sold around 8.000 tickets) in a small village like Buñol and so few hours available.

We had some problems with the buses from Barcelona and Madrid, problems that we gave our best to solve.

Regarding our guide, this person caused a lot of problems that day, and we only apologize for his behavior.

The queue for the shower was long only when we had to change the hose from one truck to another, otherwise it was 5-10 minutes long, and with over 2.000 people in the queue it's not much time. Moreover, we had available changing rooms next to the showers so people could get changed in privacy.


The departure from Buñol was a bit chaotic due to some traffic problem between local police and buses, which got delayed. Unfortunately one of our guides couldn't diffuse the tension, making the situation even worse.
The hot weather didn't help, people get easily stressed due to be tired so they started shouting and pushing each other to get on the first bus they can, making a mess barely manageable by everyone.

After the first half hour, situation became under control and everyone could get on a bus and come back with a short delay, understandable in a such busy tour with around 4.000 people who had, in 3 hours, to come back on a bus and don't want to wait.

Anyway, sorry again for all the inconveniences. We try to improve ourselves every day, so feedback, positive and negative, is accepted.

Spain Tastic! greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Tomatina was amazing. However, I STRONGLY encourage you to buy the Tomatina ticket as a separate ticket ahead of time and find another way to get there, without using Spaintastic. Their entire trip was a mess, from start to finish. I was on the Madrid to Bunol tour with Spaintastic. We were supposed to leave Madrid at 4:30am for an 11am event. Should have been NO problem being on time. However, the bus arrived late. When it arrived, it only fit half of the people who had confirmed seat. They had to call for a backup bus. Overall, the bus left an hour late. There was no bathroom on the bus, for what ended up being a 4-hour one-way trip. When we finally arrived at Bunol around 10am, with only an hour left to spare, the bus drove around in circles not being able to get through to drop us off. Instead of just letting us get off, it did this until about 10:45, at which point it finally dropped us off. We had about 15 minutes to collect ourselves, check our bags at the coat check, etc. To top everything off, when we finally got to the entrance to La Tomatina, we didn't even have the entrance bracelet to the event! Because we were so late, La Tomatina was literally starting. The gate guard kept trying to send us away because we didn't have the bracelet. I finally talked him into letting us in, showing him that we had the Spaintastic T-Shirt and shower bracelet, just not the actual Tomatina bracelet. If nothing else, they should have given us the bracelet on the bus. There was no reason not to. Do NOT use Spaintastic for this event! Complete chaos.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank l_longhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaintastic, Customer service at Spain Tastic! Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Good morning,

First of all, we want to apologize for what happened wrong, it's not easy to manage so many people (Spain Tastic! sold around 8.000 tickets) in a small village like Buñol and so few hours available.

Unfortunately, we had some problems with buses coming from Barcelona and Madrid. Regarding Madrid, the bracelets were handed when the buses arrived to Buñol, so everyone could have their bracelets in that moment.

The departure from Buñol was a bit chaotic due to some traffic problem between local police and buses, which got delayed. Unfortunately one of our guides couldn't diffuse the tension, making the situation even worse.
The hot weather didn't help, people get easily stressed due to be tired so they started shouting and pushing each other to get on the first bus they can, making a mess barely manageable by everyone.

After the first half hour, situation became under control and everyone could get on a bus and come back. We are sorry for the delayed departure, understandable in a such busy tour with around 4.000 people who had, in 3 hours, to come back on a bus and don't want to wait.

Anyway, sorry again for the inconveniences. We try to improve ourselves every day, so feedback, positive and negative, is accepted.

Spain Tastic! greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Unfortunately this company continues many of the negative stereotypes the world has of Spain. Very poor organization, do NOT use Spaintastic. The buses left over an hour late for la tomatina, they didn't have enough buses for a known quantity of people, the did not pass out entrance bracelets to some people, they couldn't even drive the buses to their sites due to unexpected closed roads, and the departure was a free for all. Clearly very little to no prior organization or planning is accomplished by this company, don't use them, they are a joke.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank 492bryanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed the experience of la tomatina but the organisation by spaintastic leaves much to be desired. Thankfully we didn't pay 6 euros for a shower at end of tomato fight and 12 euros for paella and sangria as the queues were rediculously long and could easily have been waiting an hour in the baking sun covered in dried tomato juice. Having said that the bus was over an hr late on the way back to valencia so endes up baking in the sun anyway! Apart from logistical issues guide was ok and day was amazing. But at the end of the day the last thing u want to do is wait around

Thank nicola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 September 2014

Good morning,
first of all, we want to apologize for what happened wrong, it's not easy to manage so many people (Spain Tastic! sold around 8.000 tickets) in a small village like Buñol and so few hours available.

The queue for the shower was long only when we had to change the hose from one truck to another, otherwise it was 5-10 minutes long, and with over 2.000 people in the queue it's not much time.

The queue for the paella was a bit longer, but was inevitable: the giant paella, freshly cooked, with cold sangria, could not be prepared in the morning and served cold after hours. We, and the company who was carrying out the food (it wasn't a Spain Tastic! thing) try to do our best, serving it still hot.
This implied, of course, a queue in the sun, and we apologize for this, because we can imagine was not a nice waiting time, or maybe could be shorter.

The departure from Buñol was a bit chaotic due to some traffic problem between local police and buses, which got delayed. Unfortunately one of our guides couldn't diffuse the tension, making the situation even worse.
The hot weather didn't help, people get easily stressed due to be tired so they started shouting and pushing each other to get on the first bus they can, making a mess barely manageable by everyone.

After the first half hour, situation became under control and everyone could get on a bus and come back with a short delay, understandable in a such busy tour with around 4.000 people who had, in 3 hours, to come back on a bus and don't want to wait.

Anyway, sorry again for the inconvenience. We try to improve ourselves every day, so feedback, positive and negative, are accepted because maybe we could not realize if something didn't work in the right way.
Spain Tastic! greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The actual festival was a lot of fun, and I recommend it highly. However, this review is about Spaintastic. I took a bus to and from Madrid for this, and every step of the way there was total chaos. First off, the bus was 1.5 hours late. What? We then got lost on the way and circled a roundabout ten times while the bus driver and Spaintastic representative shouted at each other over who was to blame. The bus driver and company rep got out of the bus multiple times, spoke with the local police multiple times, etc... and yet we somehow did not get the correct directions for a very long time. One would think that looking up directions would be part of the preparation for this. We finally got to Buñol, and then there was more confusion as everyone very slowly received the two necessary bracelets (one for Spaintastic and one for the entrance to the festival - why did we not just get these on the bus in an effort to not waste more time?). Then there was an absolute madhouse to try to put our belongings into the storage cubbies. There was no line - just hundreds of people frantically trying to push their way to the front because we were already late.

Oh yes, we were late. For a one-hour tomato fight. Thanks Spaintastic. I really appreciate paying you and showing up in a parking lot at 4:30 am to NOT MAKE IT ON TIME to an event at 11 am.

The tour package says that showers are provided, but as other reviewers have said, it is not a real shower. You just line up and get briefly hosed down in your clothes on the street. Do not expect to get clean, have soap, have towels, have privacy, etc. It's not a problem, but you should just know what you're getting into and Spaintastic should advertise with more truth. Bring a change of clothes.

On the way back, it's a bit confusing for getting back on the bus since all the bus meeting areas are in the same place. There's no checking of tickets/ID/names to get on the buses, and we ended up circling back to pick up people who had been left behind. I'm glad that we did not strand people there, but seriously, how hard is it to have a checklist or even count how many people are on the bus?

What's craziest is that not only is this not the first time Spaintastic has operated these tours, they're the official vendor!

Date of experience: August 2014
4  Thank Leila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews