We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$363
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expo Hotel Valencia(Valencia)
US$105
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$126
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Malcom and Barret(Valencia)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$94
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Melia Valencia(Valencia)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$120
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hostal Venecia(Valencia)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Senator Parque Central Hotel(Valencia)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TRYP Valencia Feria(Valencia)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$67
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1 342)
Filter reviews
1 342 results
Traveller rating
761
391
127
44
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
391
127
44
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingold townspa treatmentsboutique hotelsteam roomspa areajunior suitelovely hotellarge bathroomstorage spacebreakfast was excellentturia gardensriver bedtapasvisiting valenciabeautiful citycity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1 342 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is lovely and the service is excellent. I would still rate the room as a 4 star hotel and not 5 star. The size of the room for the paid price was a bit small (my mother however got an upgrade to a bigger room for free which was very nice). There are not enough wall hooks to hang the coats or at the bathroom for the towels. The wardrobes could have been bigger. The spa is lovely, a bit tiny but nice.I was missing a jar of water at the spa, specially after taking a sauna. Drinking water should be offered at the spa. The breakfast buffet was very good, plenty of choice but again, for a 5 star hotel I missed having an offer of other bread types than just wheat such as spelt or rye. Gluten free bread could be baked upon request but the quality was not very good. The location is very good and the service was excellent. Very helpful and friendly staff. I appreciated getting a bottle of water every evening and my daughter appreciated the chocolates. The bed sheets are just amazing. It's definitely a good place to stay, however it would be nicer if the above mentioned issues would be solved since the price is set according to a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EliVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of Hospes Palau de la Mar.

It is lovely to know that you took particular delight in our convenient location and our team of colleagues who provided great service to you - thank you for letting us know. We do appreciate all feedback received and your comments have been noted for when we next review our product offering.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back one day soon.

With Kindest Regards,

Vicente Juanis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would rate the rooms in the main building as 4* not 5. The stained floorboards are quite slippery even wearing slippers so beware. The rooms at the front overlook a busy road. The hotel is in a good position if you want to walk through the park and it's a wonderful space to spend time. You can also walk to the science parc in about 30 minutes . The staff were kind. The spa is very small and too warm to sit and read so we didn't use it. I have stayed in better 4 star hotels in Spain. I didn't think it was worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter but no view. Rooms at the front have road noise. Maybe ask to see courtyard room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive remarks on the service you received during your stay at Hospes Palau de la Mar. I am sorry to hear you experienced some inconvenience with the floorboards.
We would also be happy to advise you in choosing your preferred room for a future stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Vicente Juanis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Valencia for a City break and we had enjoyed the Hospes in Seville so much that we booked the Hospes here for 4 nights and what a wonderful stay

From the warm welcome to sorting out our departure transport - all the staff are so friendly, knowledgeable and professional you can't fault anyone
The rooms are quiet spacious (superior) and great large bathroom with superb shower. Rooms are functional and modern
No AC on as its still their winter but was 25-30 degs outside so had to have windows open at night

The breakfast choice is vast Inc a la carte cooked to order and the quality was very good

We also ate in the Ampara restaurant one evening and had the Tasting menu that was 6 courses and absolutely fabulous. Superb service

Great location as not far from most sights and also many restaurants close by
Very close to the lovely park in the old river bed

Would not hesitate to recommend here and would certainly stay again

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear James

Greetings from the beautiful city of Valencia!

We appreciate the great post to TripAdvisor and want to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with the world. We are pleased to know that we here at Hospes Palau de la Mar have exceeded all your expectations and that your trip was memorable one for you. We would love to welcome you back in the near future and thank you so much for recommending our hotel.

We will see you soon!!

Kind Regards,
Vicente Juanis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall we had a great experience at this hotel. The location is fab, far enough away from the noise and hustle and bustle but only a short walk into the main old town and the restaurants. A beautiful old building with a very sleek interior. Greeted warmly on arrival and must say the staff were lovely throughout our 5 day stay. Breakfast, for us, was ideal nice selection. As a previous reviewer said the rooms are pretty minimal but functional and clean. We used the spa a few times and it was fine. Would stay here again, thank you!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MoryBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Greetings from the beautiful city of Valencia!

We have received the wonderful comments you entered on TripAdvisor and want to thank you personally for sharing your positive experience with us. It is very gratifying to receive such positive feedback and your comments have encouraged us to continue looking for ways to exceed our guests’ expectations. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay including the wonderful interactions with our staff. We also are looking forward to many repeat visits!!

Thank you so much and we will see you soon!

Kind Regards,
Vicente Juanis

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

A grand nineteenth century manor home recycled into an elegant and comfortable 5-star hotel in a prime location on the fringe of Valencia’s old city sounds good and this hotel has much to recommend it but there are a number of shortcomings that deprive it of one star and a couple more that take care of another.

The good: a stylish and welcoming entry, exceptionally gracious and proficient front desk with good English. Our deluxe double room (211) was modern, quiet, comfortable, spacious and mostly clean. Everything expected was there and it mostly worked as expected. The king bed (actually, two large singles combined) was comfortable, the linens plush and there were enough pillows for each of us to find a favourite. The bathroom is similarly modern, spacious and well-appointed. The included Wifi worked OK on all our devices although the upload speed was lethargic. The included breakfast was a small but adequate and well serviced buffet taken in the hotel’s Ampar restaurant. We also had one dinner in the restaurant which was well up to expectations with delicious meals, a fair wine selection and very attentive service.

The not so good: the deluxe guest room décor was, well, austere. Indeed, the single item in the room that could pass for ornamentation was a small vase with a few dried floral sprigs. With stark white walls, dark wood flooring, a high ceiling and recessed wall-wash lighting it had the ambience of a contemporary art gallery and not a hotel room – but the only exhibit on any wall in the room was a solitary diminutive flatscreen TV. For our room at least the outlook was dreary yet there was nothing within to attract any interest. Some of the fittings and furnishings bore a patina of age not expected in a 5-star establishment.
Overall, it wasn’t offensive but it also wasn’t very agreeable either.

The bad: The shower water pressure was anaemic and the bath towels may have been luxuriant once but are not now. The wine glasses in our room were soiled which had been exacerbated by a perfunctory attempt at cleaning. We wondered what else that we hadn't noticed that might have been as poorly cleaned .

Need to know: parking in central Valencia is a problem and although the hotel has its own parking garage accessed from another street there is no place out front to park and unload unless you mount the sidewalk and block the adjoining driveway or stop on Avenida Navarro Reverter and ignore the protesting traffic. Once alerted, the hotel staff will quickly come to your rescue and garage the car @ €26 / night

Summary: it’s not a 5-star experience and even 4 is a star too far.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear guest,

I would like to extend my gratitude to you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us in Valencia. It is disappointing we were not able to impress your in all aspects, please rest assured we are always looking for ways to improve our service levels.

May I thank you for highlighting our attentiveness to your needs by our team of colleagues, as well as your enjoyable breakfast and dinner experience.
I do hope that we'll be able to welcome you again soon for a more seamless experience, and to truly enjoy all of what we have to offer - thank you again for your review.


With Kindest Regards,

Vicente Juanis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews