We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveller rating
309
434
146
48
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
434
146
48
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station salamanca district great location retiro park stayed at the catalonia business purposes nice neighborhood rooms are fine walking distance sofa bed water pressure reception desk the hotel website yogurt stayed two nights street side staff was very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 954 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2018

The hotel is in a good location. The front is unimpressive and looks more like a 3* than 4*. Staff at the tiny reception was nice and welcoming. We had an inside room and it was quiet. Beds were comfortable and water pressure good. However, the rooms need maintenance big time, mostly the bathroom.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fromeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goya g, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Good morning Madam,

thank you for sending us your feedback and comments about your stay with us.

We are glad to see that you have had a pleasant stay and that you have been able to enjoy both our magnificent location and our comfortable rooms.

Thank you also for the special mention you make of our reception staff to whom we will send your kind words because they make us feel proud for a job well done.

We hope that after such a pleasant experience you will choose us again as your reference hotel in your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards and have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night . Great location to be able to walk to restaurants and activities. I had a room looking Over a small courtyard. Room could use a little tlc, but was clean. Staff was friendly and held our bags as rooms weren’t ready as we arrived very early.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Opustwovt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goya g, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for sending us your evaluation and comments about your stay with us.

We are happy to see you have enjoyed our magnificent location and comfortable rooms.

Thank you also for the special mention you make of our staff to whom we will send your kind words, as they encourage us to continue working in the same line to always offer the best service.

After such a pleasant experience, we can only invite you to choose us again as your reference hotel on your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards and have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Well positioned in the fantastic Salamanca district of Madrid, this hotel is over the road from Velázquez station and a only minute's walk to catch a bus or taxi. The outside entrance is unimpressive and we walked by it a few times trying to find the hotel. The entrance hall can feel cramped, especially when a large group of German tourists with backpacks barricades the narrow hall during check in! Check in was slow but we were kindly upgraded to a balcony room overlooking the beautiful 'Iglesia de Nuestra Senora de la Concepcion'. Being a city hotel, the room was small, which is to be expected. The bathroom was modern with complimentary toiletries and quality towels, and the mini bar well stocked with cava and beer and cold water. However, there is no need to drink bottled water when Madrid's tap water is said to be the best in Spain! I tried it and agree. Do order sushi via room service. The hotel partners with 'The Sushi Shop' who deliver until midnight and serve some of the nicest sushi I have tried. The balcony doors were composed of 2 sets of French double-glazed doors helping to block all street noise and contribute to a peaceful night's rest. The small balcony is not suited to people with vertigo but it is a great vantage point to take in the city and note the irony of all the Spanish flags hanging outside residents' windows opposite from our hotel 'Catalonia'. The television offers V.O. for original language audio and the bed and bedding is quite comfortable. After spending only a night we had an early start. We were able to leave our suitcases in a locked and supervised storage room for the dat, to avoid lugging them around Madrid. A great reprieve! Overall, a pleasant stay at a reasonable price for Madrid.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cassgroenewald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goya g, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Good morning,

thank you very much for the excellent rating and comments that you have given us of your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to receive comments like yours and see that you have had a very pleasant stay and that both our location and rooms and services have met your expectations, because it makes us feel proud for a job well done.

Thank you also for the special mention you make of the attention received by our staff to whom we will send your kind words.

After such a pleasant experience we can only invite you to choose us again as your reference hotel in your next visits to Madrid, we will be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards and have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Laminated flooring in my room and clearly in the room above is poor quality and needs replacing. Crunches under foot. Person in room above walking around until 2am and then from 5am so was very noisy. Wouldn’t stay here again on the basis I get little sleep.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goya g, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Good afternoon Sir,

We appreciate that you have taken a few minutes of your time to send us your assessment and comments about your stay with us as it helps us improve on a daily basis to always offer the best service.

We regret that your stay has not been as expected due to what you tell us about the noise in your room.

We have reported to the Maintenance Department your assessment of the condition of the platform for it to be reviewed and repaired.

Best regards and have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Stayed 2 nights at the Catalonia Goya. Not luxury, but the rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable, They had a nice breakfast with a nice selection of fruits, pastries and the American breakfast basics. The food was fresh and tasty. The location was very good, close to the metro (subway) and walking distance to many tourist sites. We enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goya g, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Good afternoon,

thank you very much for sending us your assessment and comments about your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to receive comments like yours and see how much our comfortable rooms as our location and our magnificent and extensive breakfast were to your liking.

After such a pleasant experience, we can only invite you to choose us again as your reference hotel on your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards and have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews