We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food large portions”

La Cueva de 1900 - Montera, 13
Ranked #1 845 of 12 369 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Neighbourhood: Centro
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We came in for dinner and had one of the taster meals. It was certainly great, and the candied pork cheeks were some of the best meat I have ever had. The salad was very good. Loved the ham croquettes.And the dessert was delicious. So much food could barely finish it all

Thank JamesO1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCueva1900, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cueva de 1900 - Montera, 13, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you so much you're very kind. We hope to see you again in any of our restaurants in Granada, Malaga and Madrid so you can continue enjoying our traditional cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We had a meal for two mainly meat and sausages. The food was reasonable but served on a cold dish onto cold plates.
Soon went cool and not so enjoyable.
Mentioned to waiter who said sorry shrugged his shoulders and sloped off lol.

Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCueva1900, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cueva de 1900 - Montera, 13, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear customer, we are very sorry to hear your negative experience, for which we apologize. We have derived your comment to the manager of the restaurant so that it takes the opportune measures of correction of the possible failures happened, as well as the revision of the attention to the client and the elaboration of plates. Please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

May seem expensive but it is not - the portions are just huge!
I ordered just one plate and could not finish it, though I was starving.
The place is full of locals, more than tourists.
Food is great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bryuzga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCueva1900, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cueva de 1900 - Montera, 13, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018
Google Translation

¡Qué alegría! Nos complace saber disfrutó en La Cueva de 1900. Esperamos volver a atenderle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

Our lunch here was from the set lunch menu, and our 3 courses were reasonably priced, interesting and nicely served. I would say this a good place to eat local food at reasonable prices, with many a decent glass of wine to go with. I would return (in fact we did).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pbb451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCueva1900, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cueva de 1900 - Montera, 13, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018
Google Translation

¡Muchas gracias! Es un honor para nosotros tener clientes como ustedes. Ha sido un placer atenderles en la Cueva de 1900 y esperamos volver a verles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Very unpleaseant and not polite waiter. The Fried eggs were raw and the waiter, after being rude, made a joke about it. Not good at all. The orange Juice was Nice though.

Thank Iga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cueva de 1900 - Montera, 13 also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Cueva de 1900 - Montera, 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing