We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this restaurant!!”
Review of Restaurante Sixto

Restaurante Sixto
Price range: US$11 - US$23
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

I dined here with a Spanish friend on my last night in Santiago this Wrdnesday and it was a total disaster!!

The seafood paella @ €34.00 was cooked with frozen seafood and it had No flavour. The waiter brought two baskets of bread for two!!

We had a few mouth full of the paella and decided it was too horrible and disgusting and left.

We went to another restaurant to have the best dinner at El Papatoria tapas y bras and had the best dinner.

The staff could not be less enthusiastic!! People travel widely today and are knowledgeable about cuisines and tastes.
Avoid this restaurant at ALL costs!! Don't pay good money for rubbish!!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank pacero599
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2020

called evening, midweek. Friendly welcoming staff. English speaking. Steaks very good. We chose the chuleton ( rib eye steak ). Very good, huge, so two of us shared. Wines very good. The decor is very basic, but don't be put off. The food is good and restaurant worth a try.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2019 via mobile

I heard of famous Octopus as Galicia's specialty. My friend who is a priest in Santiago recommended this restaurant as it is a family owned and family recipies on the menu.
We had Pulpo A Fiera, Calamarie and Seafood paella (good for 2 but good for 4) to finished with Santiago Almond cake and coffee...I find the food esp the seafood really fresh, octopus cooked so tender and calamares so good I would love to have it with plain rice, the prawns on paella was fresh..all of those was taste of the ocean...satisfied with their coffee too.
and we were luckily to sit on the table where the King and Queen of Spain normally dine when in Santiago.
I will come back again here in the future.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank melindau2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2019 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by a friend leaving in Santiago de Compostela, known to be where the King and Queen of Spain dined once upon a time! We ordered seafood, it was prepared simply with olive oil . We found there was really nothing special about this restaurant. Friendly and good service though. Price is reasonable.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank AdelaidaGigiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2019

My husband decided to try the local Galician beef as it's supposed to be good. Well, all we can say is what we got in this restaurant is not a patch on good Irish beef!! He was served a very tough steak, which lacked flavour & was VERY fatty. We know our beef & that's not to say it's all like this in Galicia, but this steak was not at all good. I ordered veal which is not so available in Ireland & again it was tough! Veal should be delicate & soft (like a fillet steak) The veal came with chips (how boring) which were somewhat greasy & they were strewn all over the meat, making it even more unpalatable. We would not visit this restaurant again, as you only get one chance to get your customers to return....& this was SO disappointing! We didn't order dessert & found a lovely place nearby to relax & enjoy some sweet treats & nice coffee. The only thing on the plus side the owner/waiter was very pleasant & service was quick.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C_and_H_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Sixto also viewed

Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to Restaurante Sixto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.