We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cafe with terrible restrooms”
Review of Caelum

Caelum
Ranked #21 of 151 Bakeries in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Deli, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The cafe is wonderful, if a little pricey, with a great selection of teas and cakes. But be warned that the restrooms are awful - really tiny and filthy - and not befitting the rest of the beautiful ambience.

Thank BCStereotype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caelum B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Caelum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear BCStereotype,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your visit. We are also happy to know that you liked our humble cafe, our teas and cakes selection.

We are sorry about the fact that our restrooms are a little bit narrow. We always try to keep them as clean as we can, but sometimes it's not possible when there is a lot of work.

Anyway, we will try to do our best for.

Sincerely yours,
CAELUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018

This place used to be much better and have the most delicious and awesome cakes! Now I came again with visitors in town since the place looks so cool. We both ordered different cakes and were both disappointed, there were not very good at all anymore. Super dry chocolate cake and the other cake was a cake with cherries and brown sugar, and it tasted like a piece of toast with jam. I love toast, but when I am having cake, I do not want this to taste like toast. It really wasnt good as before. Also another table next to us all 4 didnt finish their cakes since they were just not so good.
for the price you are paying I would only go back for a drink since it looks so cool, but not more cakes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RGMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caelum B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Caelum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear RGMex,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your visit and your trust in us as a must go place in town, talking about sweets and drinks.

Regarding our cakes, we are sorry if their taste wasn't the one you were expecting and you were disappointed about it.

Cakes are baked everyday and usually receive good comments, so we will talk with the artisan patissier to see what happens that day.

About the cake with cherries, it's made with wholemeal flour, honey and brown sugar on the top, that's maybe the reason of the toast's like taste.

Anyway, we apologize for the inconvenience.

Sincerely yours,
CAELUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

You should really try the "Tarta de Santiago de las Clarisas". Its the best almond cake I ever had, Its super healthy without flour. And its made by the Monastery of the Clarisas.
And there Thé es exceptional. The teahouse has also a shop with authentic products. If you ara looking for a special and unique present please have a look in the Caelum shop. You won't disappointed !!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hilde T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caelum B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Caelum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Dear Hilde T,

We would like to thank you so much for your visit, we appreciate a lot your kind words.

We are glad to know that you spent a relaxing time in our cafe / tea house and that you tasted and enjoyed the "Santiago's almond cake" and some of the teas we have.

We are also grateful that you like the selection of pastries and other sweets made in Monasteries from all over Spain that are exposed at the shop.

If you have the chance, next time we would like to invite you to discover the downstairs' cafe, that it's open everyday in the afternoon. A beautiful and unique place in town, surrounded by ancient stone walls.

Sincerely yours,
CAELUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

A few years ago this used to be a place with great cakes and excellent cake of the day selection. Now it is a far cry from that. The cheesecake was good despite of the looks however the chocolate cake was dry and the Oriental style cookie completely stale with bad taste. The waiter refused to admit the facts shifting the blame to me who does not supposedly understand the concept of chocolate taste. He refused to either replace or compensate for it. His colleague from another department was following suite, he finally very reluctantly agreed to take 1.5 EUR from the bill. I will not return.

Thank ibaykov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caelum B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Caelum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear ibaykov,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your visit again.

Regarding your experience, we would like to deeply apologize if the taste of the cake and pastry didn't fulfill your expectations. We're also sorry to have not compensated you in a best way for the inconveniences. You're right that maybe the waiter should changed it for another slice or took the price of the cake from the bill.

But, by other hand, we would like to stress that all of our cakes of the day are daily fresh made, cheesecake and the chocolate ones are not an exception. We must say that the chocolate truffle cake is a dried one, not creamy or spongy. Maybe that day it was a little bit dryer than other days, but the fact is that nobody else complained about it the rest of the day.

And about the pastry filled with pumpkin and sugar paste, the taste was as good as ever. The staff unboxed the pastries the same morning. Usually, that kind of pastry is a little bit dry.

We hope that you change your mind in the future and come back to visit us. You will be welcome as always.

Sincerely yours,
CAELUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

All is delicious and so refined in a beautiful environment. The best hot chocolate in Barcelona as they don't add milk. Worth a stop!

1  Thank Sonja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caelum B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Caelum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Sonja C,

Thank you so much for your visit and also for your kind words.
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our cafe / tea room, and you liked how our hot chocolate taste.

If you come next time, we would like to invite you to discover the downstairs' cafe.
A beautiful and unique place in town.

Sincerely yours,
CAELUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caelum also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Caelum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing