We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and delicious food!”
Review of Bodega Monumental

Bodega Monumental
Reserve with
Bodega Monumental is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 171 of 11 179 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Hostafrancs
Description: En la Bodega Monumental queremos recuperar la herencia culinaria de nuestras abuelas, la cocina bien hecha. Además, ofrecemos el vermutillo tradicional, nuestro popurri monumental con la mejor y más variada selección de conservas. También podéis comprar para llevar o degustar en la misma bodega los vinos y vermuts de nuestras botas y nuestras conservas. Comemos para alimentarnos pero también para disfrutar y ser felices. Por eso en la Bodega Monumental, os queremos ofrecer platos llenos de sabores mediterráneos así como aportaciones propias que, incluso, os harán salivar antes de probarlas. Todo esto y mucho más es lo que queremos compartir con vosotros, esperando que todo os resulte delicioso y os sintáis como en casa. Sed felices y ¡que aproveche!
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I went to quite a few restaurants while we were in Barcelona, and the service everywhere has been great but at Bodega Monumental they take it to another level. Neu and Sarah were absolutely wonderful. They are friendly, attentive and quick. Bodega Monumental on Creu Coberta is a must for food. The tapas and desserts are out of this world delicious. Their Viña Sol wine is also great tasting.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Yajaira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodegaMonumental, Gerente at Bodega Monumental, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you very much!. We appreciate your recommendation. Thank you very much for visit us whenever you come to Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 1 027 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I visit here quite often when I stay with my brother in Barcelona. Very popular with locals and tourists alike. Nice selection of authentic Catalan dishes, swiftly prepared. Good wines too, especially as Priorat is my all time favourite red!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Exploration115226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodegaMonumental, Gerente at Bodega Monumental, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

We appreciate your recommendation. Thank you very much for visit us whenever you come to Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Got off the bus and we were starved and tired so we stopped in. The shrimp skewers were outstanding so we were happy. But then we moved onto the toasted tomato bread and it was literally dripping in oil...soaked. The potato bombas, which they advertise on the window were not good either. Perhaps there are other things on the menu that are better and we just didn't choose right. If you go, choose the shrimp.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paco1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodegaMonumental, Gerente at Bodega Monumental, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thanks for your evaluation. We have informed our team about it. We will be happy to see you again in order to guide you better, according to your preferences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We were waiting for our tour bus and saw this restaurant. We had a variety of food
Bomba potato and meat toasted bread with tomato sauce potato bravos and skewers shrimp. Well you can disregard the first portions they were horrible. The only dish that was amazing was the skewered shrimp omg so good .

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Xfiveohhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodegaMonumental, Gerente at Bodega Monumental, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thanks for your opinion. We regret that some dishes were not served well. We will take measures to keep improving. See you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Went there with my son to have tapas and enjoy our last evening in Barcelona. After reading the positive reviews and the restaurant being recommended by our host, our expectations were high. Too high unfortunately. The tapas choice was fairly limited. Beside chorizo and tripe, I couldn’t find any meat or chicken tapas on the menu. We ordered fried squid, patatas bravas and scrambled eggs with ham, and the waitress ‘sold’ us some extra bread with tomato. The fried squid had way too much salt poured on it. The scrambled egg was actually a fried egg, served with a few slices of ham on a plate of fries and cut to pieces. Would fit good in a fastfood restaurant rather then a decent tapas restaurant too my opinion. The bread was dipped in fresh tomato juice and baked crunchy. Couldn’t taste any tomato flavour though. The patatas bravas were okay. At payment, the waitress asked us if we had a good dinner - wonder if the missing tip triggered that. When I responded with a ‘mwah’ she turned and walked away, wasn’t interested in my feedback. Although our initial waitress was neutral friendly, I didn’t spot any smile with the other staff. Two Asian guests sitting next to us, were answered fairly blunt and unfriendly by their waiter. On our way out, none of the staff we passed, gave us neither a look nor a goodbye. All in all, our visit there was a bit dissapointing, not at least because we missed the ‘serve with a smile’.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank RKeenses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodegaMonumental, Gerente at Bodega Monumental, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thanks for your opinion. We regret that some dishes were not served well and that the attention received by our team was not correct. We will take immediate measures to keep improving. If you come back to Barcelona soon, we will love to compensate your bad experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodega Monumental also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Bodega Monumental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing