We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Basilica of the Sagrada Familia
Ranked #1 of 830 things to do in Barcelona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Basilica of the Sagrada Familia is a monumental church devoted to the Holy Family: Jesus, Mary and Joseph. Construction began in 1882, based on plans drawn up by the architect Francisco de Paula del Villar, and Antoni Gaudi was commissioned to continue the project in 1883. The Temple has always been an expiatory church, built only from donations. As Gaudi said: "The Expiatory Church of the Sagrada Familia is made by the people and is mirrored in them. It is a work that is in the hands of God and the will of the people." In 2010, Pope Benedict XVI consecrated the site as a minor basilica
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We did a tour of the cathedral with a guide who spoke the tour in English and Spanish. A tour is well worth the cost as tickets for on your own viewing go fast and you could be locked out depending on the crowds.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank tomfitz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147 513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sagrada familia"
in 9 254 reviews
"nativity tower"
in 1 043 reviews
"passion tower"
in 877 reviews
"under construction"
in 2 664 reviews
"the stained glass windows"
in 1 771 reviews
"in advance"
in 4 351 reviews
"audio guide"
in 4 624 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 1 540 reviews
"on line"
in 2 088 reviews
"buy your tickets"
in 1 105 reviews
"amazing building"
in 1 287 reviews
"time slot"
in 866 reviews
"visiting barcelona"
in 1 438 reviews
"architecture"
in 8 645 reviews
"exterior"
in 2 466 reviews
"crane"
in 972 reviews
"masterpiece"
in 2 587 reviews
Filter

5 371 - 5 375 of 147 513 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Central location, beautiful architecture, and interesting history. Don’t forget to check out below for the museum, as it holds lots of fascinating information about the construction process and the architect.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank irvinse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Go! Spectacular on the outside; stunning on the inside. We could easily have spent an entire day admiring all the wonder and detail.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

The magnificence of this unique place cannot be overstated, nor can one do justice to the fascinating and unusual architectural genius of what is now not only a magnet for people from all over the world, but a consecrated cathedral, as well.

I didn't do much research in advance, and I'm glad I didn't; the surprise and awe were unspoiled by preparation.

From innovation to creativity, and from inspiration and genius design to tremendous beauty, this Barcelona treasure should be on everybody's list of priority sights, not only for Barcelona and Spain, but for anywhere on the continent.

Incomparable.

Tip: pay a little more and book a guided tour in advance when you get your tickets online. Although we were part of a group with earbuds listening to our guide along with ambient crowd noise her mic picked up, we still learned a lot and got more from the visit than if we hadn't done the tour.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank LarryOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Definitely get a guided tour! This was a highlight of our time in Barcelona. The bascilica remains unfinished, but we'll worth the price of admission.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank gmanntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilica of the Sagrada Familia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Basilica of the Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing