We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say?”

Rao Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Ranked #27 of 10 961 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$29 - US$47
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: El Raval
Description: Raó Restaurant and Cocktail Bar, "where fine meets casual". A new restaurant situated on one of the most emblematic streets of Barcelona, very close to Plaça Catalunya (Canaletas!). The beautiful decoration is a subtle mix of the authentic Catalan architecture with modern style. The chefs can be seen through the open kitchen preparing contemporary local dishes that are perfect to share. The fun ambience, flawless service and very reasonable prices makes for the perfect evening out in Barcelona.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Francesco. First of all, bravo on the Sangria. A complex flavour with a wonderful twist on an absolute classic.

I honestly can't explain the quality of the food and staff in this establishment. From the timing of each dish coming out, to the the 5* quality of the flavours;

I can say hands down, this is the best experience I have had in a long time.

I could go on to talk about the interior and comfortable yet chic vibe, but say no more. 10/10.

Perfecto.

Rao - you have done wonders.

Thank Toby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rao_BCN, Manager at Rao Restaurant & Cocktail Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

It´s really great for us to read about your experience with us. Thank you for coming to dine at Raó.

We offer traditional Catalan cuisine with modern twists, with plates that are bought to the table in an easy flowing way.

Gracias.

The Raó Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

Rao is probably the best restaurant in Barcelona. A hidden gem at the moment, but the word is getting out fast so get there whilst you can. With an atmosphere perfectly placed between fine dining & casual, food perfectly balanced between tapas & main courses, all at reasonable prices, Rao is a force to be reckoned with on the BCN culinary scene!

The restaurant has a cosy feel, but with a contemporary rustic touch. The exquisite presentation of all courses is the icing on the cake and only adds to perfectly balanced and innovative combinations of flavours.

On our visit the owners, Julian and Maryana kindly added their in depth knowledge of the menu and surrounding region to educate us on the source of many ingredients, as well as local wines and beer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Reece-Travology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rao_BCN, Owner at Rao Restaurant & Cocktail Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

I was our pleasure to have you dining at Raó. We really enjoyed to meet you and chat with you on your visit.

Our motto is "whewre fine meets casual" and we balance local traditional dishes with modern touches.

We hope we see you again.

Kindest regards

The Raó Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent meal by far the best meal we had in Barcelona. The scallops and the octopus dishes were excellent and we will order them again. The service was very friendly and accommodating. It is a small restaurant and they really try to make sure that if you have a reservation you will have a table so at times a table us empty for some time which is why the impatient reviewer saw open tables. Make a reservation relax and enjoy. We did and so we are returning tonight

Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rao_BCN, Manager at Rao Restaurant & Cocktail Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thank you for coming to eat at Raó.

It was really great to see you again on your second visit. I hope we surpassed your expectations on your return.

Hopefully we see you again next time you´re in Barcelona.

Kind regards

The Raó Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We are in Barcelona for 3 nights for our 10th anniversary. We found this gem of a restaurant on our first night and fell in love with the ambiance, the owners, and most of all - the amazing food. My husband said it was one of the best meals he has ever had. We are seriously considering going back again before we leave. It was heavenly. Don’t miss this!

1  Thank MsJackiepayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rao_BCN, Manager at Rao Restaurant & Cocktail Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Jackie

it was a pleasure for us to have you dining in Raó to celebrate your anniversary. Congratulations!!!

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

The Raó Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

The restaurant is absolutely beautiful! The food was amazing! We had the chicken wings, Pork cheeks, & duck. These by far were my favorite. The Paella and scallops we good, not as amazing as the first three. If forced to pick, the I would say chicken wings and pork cheeks. The pork cheeks are cooked for 16 hrs and are so tender. Best I have ever had.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NICOLLE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rao_BCN, Manager at Rao Restaurant & Cocktail Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Nicolle

Firstly, thank you so much for coming to dine at Raó. And thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We´re so glad you enjoyed your dinner. As we use selected suppliers and have a very close relationship with organic and small-batch producers, we are able to obtain the very best produce, which comes across in the flavours.

Hopefully we see you again on your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards

The Raó Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rao Restaurant & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Rao Restaurant & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing