We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
271
322
72
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
322
72
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa cruz quality accommodation rooftop bar perfect location pedestrian area walking distance spanish style superior room noisy at night free wifi hotel staff fantastic hotel lovely city bus station star hotel short stay tenerife
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018

We stayed in this hotel one night. It is downtown Santa Cruz. A little bit complicated to find if you are travelling by car and following the direction of Google Maps. Better to look at the map and find where it is. Difficult to find free parking nearby but the hotel has paying parking (16 €/day). The hotel is very nice and few meter from the pedestrian area. The room was very nice, clean and well equipped. People at the desk were very helpful and nice. Check in and check out very quick. We did not have breakfast so we cannot say anything about. Free wifi, very fast. There was not free coffee and tea in the room: I was expecting for it. We payed 65 € for the room. I think it is an extremely good price for the level of service. I feel to suggest this hotel for your stay in Santa Cruz in Tenerife.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eugenio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro C, Director General at NH Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Eugenio C,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review and recommendations.

I'm happy to read that you had a nice global experience at NH Tenerife and you enjoy the hotel location, our rooms and our front desk staff. We take note of your comments about the free coffee and tea in your room, we have it for free in our Superior Rooms and Junior Suite.

Thanks once more for the opportunity you gave us. We kindly remain at your service in this your Home.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Great hotel! Room was very comfortable with more than enough space and an extra seat, airco was working, great shower. Breakfast was good. Only downside was you have to order fried or scrambled eggs separately (but then again, you get freshly made eggs exactly as you like it).

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Esther v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro C, Director General at NH Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Esther V,

Thank you for staying with us and for your sincere review and recommendations about our hotel.

Thank you for your lovely words expressed for the NH Tenerife and its services & breakfast: we always strive in order to deliver an excellent service to all our guests! We take note of your comments about the eggs orders but as you could see, we have a small breakfast buffet and we prefer to serve the eggs orders as fresh as possible.

Should you need more information for your next stay, do not hesitate in sending us an email. We would be glad to welcome you again!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

compared with other nh the standard a bit lower (some details like room small, breakfast quality, several little details in the room) but good for a short stay. relatively quiet, may depend by weekdays and room as close to night live area.

warm welcome by the very helpful Juan, after many stays in nh hotels the first person put us a profil at the hotel for a better check in and service in future! also advice us around the corner a very good restaurant for our first lunch.

few meters to harbor and beside tramline, to busstation/auditorium 15min walk.

don't miss palmelita cafe with excellent pastries just close by.

good to know: the multibono for bus are for different areas valid, so not for the whole island if you doing day excursions (very good and frequent running bus system)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro C, Director General at NH Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Reto G,

Thank you for staying with us and for your sincere review and recommendations about our Hotel.

I'm happy to read that you had an overall nice experience at NH Tenerife. Reading your comments is so gratifying and is definitely a great reward for Juan Pablo and in general for all our staff who make a great effort day after day to please our guests in all possible manners. Our goal is to make the hotel a really good option for families and business because our location is one of our strengths. We hope to see you next time again.

Thanks once more for the opportunity you gave us. We kindly remain at your service in this your Home.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Stayed here for the carnival 2018. One street away from the carnival action, but incredibly central. Of course it was a little noisy at night, but that didn't stop us sleeping, & was worth it to be right in the centre of the action. They had a very sensible door policy during carnival that made us feel safe. NH Hotels are excellent quality for a 3 Star, & this did not disappoint. Great stay - & apologies for leaving so much glitter behind us!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineBilbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro C, Director General at NH Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Caroline,

Thank you for staying with us and for your sincere review and recommendations about Carnival season in Santa Cruz.

I'm happy to read that you had an overall nice experience at NH Tenerife. Reading your comment is so gratifying and is definitely a great reward for all our staff who make a great effort day after day to please our guests in all possible manners. Our goal is to make the hotel a really good option for Carnivals because our location is one of our strengths. We hope to see you next year again.

Thanks once more for the opportunity you gave us. We kindly remain at your service in this your Home.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

I have stayed at many NH hotels. They are a popular chain throughout Spain and Europe. mainly the heathy breakfast is selling point. However we were disappointed with the breakfast at this hotel and the price. So we just had breakfast on the first morning. We stayed 18 nights. this is a problem because the NH website won't let you book for that length of time, so I had to book the boking over the phone. The location is excellent. Our Superior room wasn't much better than the regular rooms, so that was a bit annoying. Our window didn't really open very well. So the view was poor and didn't let much light in. See photo. This hotel had a rooftop bar and spa but have sold it off. So it now only opens in the evening with no spa. So no where to sit and enjoy the sun, as rooms don't have a balcony

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor (4th) and get the room to face the town. They are larger than the back rooms. don't bother with superior room
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnj1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro C, Director General at NH Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear johnj1950,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review and recommendations.

I'm happy to learn that you had a nice global experience at NH Tenerife and you enjoy the hotel location. We take note of your comments about the breakfast. About the "spa", we don't have any spa at the hotel so maybe you are confused about that. We have a nice terrace with Chill out Bar on the top floor and it is open till afternoon to midnight.

Thanks once more for the opportunity you gave us. We kindly remain at your service in this your Home.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews