We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
590
172
34
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
590
172
34
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace guggenheim museum le cafe great location directly across the street old town the river top floor luxury hotel great bathroom first stop an easy walk breakfast room room was large airport bus puppy city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2020

Super good hotel with a great service crew. Location is really good close from Guggenheim and old town. I loved the breakfast and the rooms were confortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to stay in Bilbao. Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Richardukra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghd2020, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2020

Dear Richardukra,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

We are delighted to hear we exceded your expectations. At Gran Hotel Domine, the luxury means quality, an exceptional and customized service, design, comfort and attention to detail.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Gran Hotel Domine very soon, your new home in the Basque Country.

Sincerely,
Alejandra Baranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2020

What a great place to stay! First of all is the location. Right opposite the Guggenheim, but also just by the first stop of the airport bus. Easy walks to restaurants, shopping and metro.

Second is service. Without exception, all staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. This includes reception, concierge, restaurant staff and maids. Especially helpful were Alberto and Marta at breakfast.

Third is the food. The breakfasts are superb with a great choice of food either from the buffet, or ordered from the kitchen. The view from the breakfast room is wonderful too: Guggenheim opposite with the river and hills behind. One of the restaurants was closed for renovation when we were there, but dinner in the breakfast room was excellent too. Not a large menu but all choices were top notch.

The rooms are very well-appointed with a choice of view overlooking the lobby, the street, or the Guggenheim. We chose a view of the street but might well have chosen the lobby had we known how interesting it looks.

This is definitely where we'll head to next time we're in Bilbao.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghd2020, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2020

Dear Dennis457,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed a memorable experience in Gran Hotel Domine and you spent an amazing time in Bilbao. As you say, the hotel located in the Art District , in front of the Guggenheim Bilbao Museum and next to the Fine Arts Museum, has an unbeatable location to explore the city.
We are certain your feedback will serve as encouregement to our team to continue working to turn moments into memories for our guests.
We can´t wait to reopen the recently renewed Le Café Bistrot and Beltz Restaurant, to delight our guests and locals with our seasonal and contemporary Basque Cuisine.
Our Reservation and Concierge Departments will be pleased to assist you to design a tailor-made trip in your next visit to Bilbao.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Sincerely,
Alejandra Baranda


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

Stayed here for 2 nights before going to Porto and it was wonderful. Location is perfect, just opposite teh Guggenheim museum, we walked everywhere and it was safe, clean and accessible. We parked at the side of the street and it was accessible to everywhere we wanted to go.

Our room was a bit small but it was very clean and we had everything we want. Gonzales at front desk is extremely knowledgeable, suggested us places to go to and we had the best time visiting other small towns near Bilbao.

Thank you so much!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranHotelDomine, Guest Assistant at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear Mrs. Michelle,

Thank you very much for choosing our Gran Hotel Domine during your travel plans. We appreciate your time in evaluating your stay. We are excited to learn that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us! Our remarkable staff of well-trained professionals are dedicated to provide personalized loving care to our guests and assure them an unforgettable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you soon for another fabulous stay!
Best regards,

Estitxu Etxebarria Garcia
Guest Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Great location, across the way to The Guggenheim. Very clean, lovely staff. Breakfast on the roof top terrace fantastic. Wouldn’t hesitate to revisit. Not stuffy and very homely. Yes very modern, but you can just really relax. Love it

Room tip: We had an inside Double. All Rooms soundproof all with Lovely slippers and Bathrobe.Look on different sites for best price.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isherwoods6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranHotelDomine, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2020

Dear Isherwoods6,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and for dedicating us the highest score. Please, come back son as you promise in your review, it will be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Best regards,

Maite Abascal
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020 via mobile

Very nice and confortable hotel, just in front of the Guggenheim Museum and walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants, and all the Pinchos that are amazing. Very safe to wall at any time. People are friendly.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CarlosH338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranHotelDomine, Guest Assistant at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Dear Mr. CarlosH338,

Thank you for choosing our Gran Hotel Domine as your hotel in Bilbao and for taking the time to share your comments. We are very proud to know that we have met your expectations and that you have enjoyed a fabulous experience with us.
We will be delighted to welcome you again very soon!
Best regards,

Estitxu Etxebarria Garcia
Guest Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews