We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Prestigia.com
FindHotel
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveller rating
592
174
35
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
592
174
35
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace guggenheim museum le cafe great location directly across the street old town the river top floor luxury hotel great bathroom first stop an easy walk breakfast room room was large airport bus puppy city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 830 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2020 via mobile

The hotel is in a perfect location for visiting the Guggenheim museum Bilbao which is across the road. The rooftop restaurant which is used for breakfast provides excellent views of Bilbao. The ground floor restaurant and bar in the hotel are also very good. All staff were very helpful and the concierge provided good recommendations for restaurants outside of the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DmitriKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranHotelDomine, Guest Assistant at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Dear Mr. / Mrs. DmitriKim,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel as your accomodation in Bilbao, we appreciate your kind words regarding our facilities, location and service.
We are extremely flattered to have met your expectations and to have left you pleasant unforgettable memories.
Care is the core of our service! We are commited to provide each and every one of our guests a simple, smart, spot on experience. We are eager to see that we have been successful!
Please keep recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Kind Regards,

Estitxu Etxebarria Garcia
Guest Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

Nice, staff and accommodations, I would say that the location is the nicest part of the hotel. Amazing views of the museum from the rooftop restaurant. Staff was very pleasant too. Breakfast was different than the buffet you are offered in other 5 star restaurants. The menu that they give you every day was a bit limited. Overall a great stay.

Room tip: Great location
Date of stay: January 2020
Thank DoctorLexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranHotelDomine, Guest Assistant at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

Dear DoctorLexus,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel as your accomodation in Bilbao, we appreciate your kind words regarding our facilities, location and service.
We are extremely flattered to have met your expectations and to have left you pleasant unforgettable memories.
Care is the core of our service! We are commited to provide each and every one of our guests a simple, smart, spot on experience. We are eager to see that we have been successful!
Please keep recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Kind Regards,

Estitxu Etxebarria Garcia
Guest Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020

Indeed a "gran hotel" with excellent quality of service and good rooms although not particularly large. Our room looked out towards the Guggenheim (especially requested and paid for), which was great.
Staff is exemplary and helpful. We had to leave one day early because of life threatening illness of a family member and reception was so helpful that they even sent by post all the things that we in our hurry had forgotten.
We will come back to finalise our visit to Bilbao!

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranHotelDomine, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Dear jlok2016
Thank you very much for choosing us as your hotel in Bilbao. It is a pleasure to know that you have felt so comfortable among our walls, so as you are promising, we hope to welcome you back very soon. We'll pass your beautiful comment to our team.
Receive a cordial greeting,

Maite Abascal
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2019

The hotel lobby was beautiful. Our room overlooked the Guggenheim, so that view was unbeatable. Our room was very large. The biggest negative was the bathroom. It was a totally open concept, meaning no door to the toilet area, the bath and separate shower were on wood slats with no door. The shower area itself was pinned in by the bathtub. The toilet seat was not a slow moving (quiet seat), so I am not sure when this bathroom was renovated if ever. We couldn't get the heat quite right, and we found the bed quite hard, both waking up with sore shoulders, etc.

The upper floor restaurant had a great view, and the staff were very attentive. The food was of high quality, and I got to have a green juice every morning. We did eat lunch in the Cafe, and it was fairly good as well.

The hotel was well located for both the old and new towns.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thetorontotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranHotelDomine, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2019

Dear Thetorontotraveller,

Thank you for choosing our Gran Hotel Domine as your hotel in Bilbao. We are so proud to know that you have enjoyed the room, the views and the atentions of our staff. We are constantly renovating and improving our installations, and that's why of course, we always take note of your comments. Our Guest opinions are our most valuable thing, and what make us get better many times. It will be our plesure to welcome you again in a close future and to offer you even a better stay. Best regards,

Maite Abascal
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2019

Gran Hotel Domine is expensive but worth the price if you want to splurge for a few days. We got a room with view of the Guggenheim. Puppy was across the street and the Gehry masterwork right behind. Beautiful day and night. The hotel is easy walk to the Museum of Fine Arts which has a great collection. (Better art than the Guggenheim) We saw the Isabel Baquedano show -- magnificent.

Room tip: Get room with view of Guggenheim
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranHotelDomine, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2019

Dear Mr. Greg D,
We would like to thank you greatly for your contribution to this page to express your satisfaction regarding your stay with us. It is always an honor to know that we have met the expectations of our guests. Please, hope you will be back soon, so you can enjoy our facilities again.
Kind regards,

Maite Abascal
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews