We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$141
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/08
Expedia.com
US$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/08
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$142
US$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/07
Hotels.comUS$142
TravelocityUS$142
Orbitz.comUS$142
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 565)
Filter reviews
1 565 results
Traveller rating
620
727
161
33
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
620
727
161
33
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent hotel rooms are big walking distance spacious room old city reception guggenheim cafes direction
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1 565 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of the size of the rooms and prime location - both of which rank very high. The hotel is within walking distance to all the prime attractions, as well as the biggest department stall with a huge supermarket on the 6th floor. Breakfast was also decent with a fairly good selection though there was not a single change to the menu on all 5 days we stayed here.

But service-wise there’s a lot left to be desired. The hotel is right next to a casino with no service staff at the main entrance and frankly no security. So it was literally try your luck, enter the doors and the lift and look for instructions for the reception. Next we discovered there is no ventilation in the rooms - the air conditioning is solely for display and we were told to open the windows for ventilation!!! Which means loud blasting noise from the road.

The last straw was by the third night house-keeping standards began to drop - we paid for three persons but they kept forgetting the third set of towels and stopped replacing toiletries or washing any of the used glasses! And when we called reception they told us to go down to reception ourselves to collect the extra towel as ‘there was no staff’. We just got back to our room after a long day out and exactly the same thing happened for our final night here - we had to go collect our own towel again, cups left dirty around the room and even the floor towel went missing. No apology when we collected the towel from reception. I have never stayed at a hotel like this all across Europe!!!

This is not a cheap hotel and we had paid for a superior room. So no I would not recommend the hotel unless you don’t mind paying to do the work of the hotel staff.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank katherinehor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion D, Director General at Sercotel Coliseo Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

Dear Guest
Our customers are our best reference for improvement and that is why your comments are very important to us.
We follow up your observations to the relevant departments.
Hoping that these problems do not prevent you visiting us again in the future.
Best regards
Alvaro Saiz, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located in Bilbao . It’s close to all the bars and restaurants.
The rooms are modern and the beds provide a great nights sleep . We did not have breakfast but there are lots of cafes close by .
The staff are very friendly and helpful .
This is a great value for money hotel

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bees7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion D, Director General at Sercotel Coliseo Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2018

Dear Guest:
Our customers are our best reference for improvement and that is why your comments are very important to us.
We are glad to transmit your feedback to the rest of the staff, because for all of us, client satisfaction is our main goal.
I look forward to seeing you in our hotel again soon.
Best regards.
Alvaro Saiz. General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2018

We have been traveling to Spain since 1970. This is the first time we visited Bilbao. We chose Sercotel Bilbao due to the fact that we had stayed in Sercotel hotels before in different provinces. This was the worse stay ever, except for the location. Very poor customer service! small rooms, the bathroom did not have space to store anything at all, very small and shower stained. The weather was warm and the room has only had one small window that was directly to a construction site. All kind of things went wrong since the moment we arrived, the first room they gave us had a terrible tobacco smell. We call front desk and they change us to another room, the safe box did not work and they did not do an effort to correct the problem. The manager Álvaro Saiz Bernuy met with us and did not offer any kind of solution, except I am sorry. Terrible stay!

Room tip: unable to do it.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion D, Director General at Sercotel Coliseo Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2018

Dear Guest:
I am at your disposal so that you can contact me and I can answer you conveniently, since under a pseudonym I can not know the scope of the conversation you say you have had with me.
Normally with the clients that meet with me, alleging problems like the one that you have, they always have a solution or at least an explanation from this Director.
Yours sincerely,
Alvaro Saiz.Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2018

On arriving at the airport we traveled to the city center by bus, we got off at the second stop and from there the hotel is about a 10 minutes walk. As pointed out by other reviewers the hotel is centrally located. Left side of the hotel and you find yourself in the old town a in a few minutes. The location is very convenient to explore all areas of the city on foot.
The young lady at reception was very friendly and helpful and spoke English and French fluently. All staff were friendly and happy to help with anything.
Our room was adequate, well cleaned and there was no noise during our stay. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as there are plenty nice cafes near by as well as restaurants and friendly pubs where you can enjoy food and wine much cheaper then in the hotel.
The fitness room is adequate too for a few days, spacious, clean and give access to a few well maintained cardio / weight machines.
Overall our stay at the Coliseo hotel was good and should we return to Bilbao we would not hesitate to book again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 329Damien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion D, Director General at Sercotel Coliseo Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Dear Damien:
Our customers are our best reference for improvement and that is why your comments are very important to us.
We are glad to transmit your feedback to the rest of the staff, because for all of us, client satisfaction is our main goal.
I look forward to seeing you in our hotel again soon.
Best regards.
Alvaro Saiz. General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Lovely friendly hotel in a central location, perfect for walking around beautiful Bilbao. The room we had was spacious enough for myself, husband and very active three year old. The room was spotlessly clean and the facilities great.
Breakfast had everything you could want and they entertained my son endlessly which made breakfast an unusually pleasant and relaxing affair. Nothing was too much trouble.
We would definitely come back.
Don’t miss the Guggenheim museum it is fantastic and everywhere was so accessible with a pushchair, not only in the museum but all over Bilbao.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank BeckersClevedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direccion D, Director General at Sercotel Coliseo Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Dear Guest:
A pleasure to have had you among our customers. We hope that soon return visit in Bilbao, or in any of the hotels in the chain Sercotel
Sincerely:
Alvaro Saiz. General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews