We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/24
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/25
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/24
Expedia.comUS$160
eDreamsUS$160
travelup.comUS$171
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 238)
Filter reviews
1 238 results
Traveller rating
538
471
157
49
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
538
471
157
49
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the square old town beautiful hotel guggenheim museum airport bus valet parking perfect location breakfast buffet room was spacious casco viejo city direction
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1 238 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2019

We really enjoyed the Carlton's old-world charm and location in the wonderful Bilbao. The hotel is a 4* property (not 5 tbh) and the price very reasonable, and thus accept some of the criticisms offered by other reviews.

However, the "fine-dining" restaurant is a slur on the cuisine of Bilbao, which we found as exceptional. Here is our review

Service or should I say lack of service
We booked a table to eat in the hotel after a tiring day out in San Sebastián. We have been so impressed by our culinary experiences in Bilbao and will review them separately. Sadly Artagan was the worse service I’ve experienced in years and in a 5* hotel’s restaurant - more like Fawlty Towers on a bad day. We arrived and received a cold and rude “welcome” before being shown to an empt)y restaurant and left to sit with a menu but no water, drinks menu or bread. After 15 minutes of listening to waitress chatting on phone we walked out! She didn’t even finish the phone call and turned her back as we left. After failing to find somewhere to eat, we returned to hotel whom did help us find another restaurant, which was very good.

The hotel management must sort this out otherwise this restaurant will become a laughing stock, where only tired and sad conference attendees eat.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bpfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2019

This is a very grown up hotel situated right in the middle of the city about 10 minutes walk from the Guggenheim and, in the other direction, the City Fine Art Museum. Staff were friendly, helpful, and efficient. The hotel has an underground car park - it is apparently small so the staff take your car there, but you can pull up right outside the front door; your luggage is removed from the car and magically appears in your room, when leaving, the process is reversed. We had booked a junior suite several months in advance and were amazed to be installed the the Hotel's enormous and seriously luxurious Imperial Suite at no extra charge because the hotel was full, so full marks all round. Breakfast is buffet style, excellent with a very wide choice. We'll be coming back!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2019

Absolutely loved the hotel, we stayed here for 2 nights in Sept 2019, the room was clean, very big, had great view of square on 2nd floor. Aircon was good (in takes time to come on so be patient) , we didn't eat here & ate in local area but we did use the bar & the service was great. Id highly recommend the hotel

Room tip: Wait for Aircon to come on, it takes time. 2nd floor has great view of square
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luvhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2019

It was clean and tidy. The staff spoke little English but were helpful. It was in the centre of the city and very convenient. The dining options were a bit limited I felt. I wanted rice and chicken and they didn’t have it. There was no swimming pool which was also a let down for me.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dwipanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2019

The Hotel Carlton was so luxurious and beautiful. We stayed for our honeymoon in July 2018, and expectations were exceeded.The service was friendly and displayed excellent customer service. It was located in city center near the art museum, overlooking breathtaking sights of mountains, and surrounded by unbelievably delicious restaurants. The general area was calm and relaxing, but with a lot to do.

Room tip: The price may be mid-range but the hotel is luxurious. Totally worth it.
Date of stay: October 2018
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LaFemmeTinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews