We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$135
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$135
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Agoda.com
US$124
View deal
Expedia.comUS$135
PricelineUS$135
travelup.comUS$150
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 240)
Filter reviews
1 240 results
Traveller rating
538
471
158
50
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
538
471
158
50
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the square old town beautiful hotel guggenheim museum airport bus valet parking perfect location breakfast buffet room was spacious casco viejo city direction
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1 240 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2019

This is a very grown up hotel situated right in the middle of the city about 10 minutes walk from the Guggenheim and, in the other direction, the City Fine Art Museum. Staff were friendly, helpful, and efficient. The hotel has an underground car park - it is apparently small so the staff take your car there, but you can pull up right outside the front door; your luggage is removed from the car and magically appears in your room, when leaving, the process is reversed. We had booked a junior suite several months in advance and were amazed to be installed the the Hotel's enormous and seriously luxurious Imperial Suite at no extra charge because the hotel was full, so full marks all round. Breakfast is buffet style, excellent with a very wide choice. We'll be coming back!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2019

Absolutely loved the hotel, we stayed here for 2 nights in Sept 2019, the room was clean, very big, had great view of square on 2nd floor. Aircon was good (in takes time to come on so be patient) , we didn't eat here & ate in local area but we did use the bar & the service was great. Id highly recommend the hotel

Room tip: Wait for Aircon to come on, it takes time. 2nd floor has great view of square
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luvhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2019

It was clean and tidy. The staff spoke little English but were helpful. It was in the centre of the city and very convenient. The dining options were a bit limited I felt. I wanted rice and chicken and they didn’t have it. There was no swimming pool which was also a let down for me.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dwipanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2019

The Hotel Carlton was so luxurious and beautiful. We stayed for our honeymoon in July 2018, and expectations were exceeded.The service was friendly and displayed excellent customer service. It was located in city center near the art museum, overlooking breathtaking sights of mountains, and surrounded by unbelievably delicious restaurants. The general area was calm and relaxing, but with a lot to do.

Room tip: The price may be mid-range but the hotel is luxurious. Totally worth it.
Date of stay: October 2018
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LaFemmeTinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2019

The building looks great and is in a fantastic location opening on to the Plaza Mayor and just a few mins walk or underground to the main sites. However the first impressions weren't very good. Its an old classic city hotel with a huge sprawling maze of lounges and salon and bars. It feels dates and slightly shabby- the much photographed lobby bar has beautiful stained glass but the oval bar needed a clean, there were empty cardboard boxes stacked in plain view and the tables had those napkin dispensers that you get in diners. Not very aspirational.

The room itself was large with a nice baloney and was very clean. But again dated- heavy dark wood and curtains that made it feel gloomy. Lovely marble bathroom though.

Restaurant staff at breakfast were just plain grumpy- not a smile raised- but the receptionists were charming. The breakfast buffet was in one of the many lounges- no natural light, thick gold curtains, chandeliers. Breakfast was mainly really good with loads of choice, awesome pastries and fresh fruit. Hot though was limited and they really need to change the oil in which they fry Churros, they had that mild rancid aftertaste of old deep fat fryers.

We loved the art exhibition though and really loved Bilbao as a city. I just think there are some more contemporary hotels like the new Melia that would be my choice next time.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank hobbesmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews