We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
322
269
167
55
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
269
167
55
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite roof top sun terrace sea view on a half board basis four star bar prices carihuela beach fried eggs location is excellent rooms cleaned daily higher floor buffet style small balcony sun loungers bed and breakfast sea front winter break
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 852 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018

We were a party of seven with four rooms who booked a week's stay on a half board basis at this hotel.

Firstly the positives:
Despite an early arrival, all our rooms were ready
The hotel is ideally placed for access to local shops, restaurants and the beach
The beds are very comfortable
All rooms have fridges
The restaurant staff are lovely, including the two girls who cook the fresh meat and fish
The food is generally good, indeed we noticed a significant improvement since our first visit last October.
Cleaning staff are excellent. Our room was spotless for the duration of our stay.

The negatives:
Rooms are old & tired
There are no tea & coffee making facilities (in a 4 star hotel?)
There are no drawers to store underwear and socks
The attitude of the majority of the reception staff, whose standard response to most enquiries was "it is not my fault if...." or "there is nothing I can do....."

Despite presenting as a party of seven when we arrived, unlike a three star hotel we stayed in in Majorca two years ago when on our first day we were allocated a table in the restaurant for the whole week, no attempt was made to facilitate a similar arrangement for us. We did manage to get a table reserved for the last few evenings but the initial response was the hotel is full and we only have 50 tables. I fail to see why this should prevent them putting aside a table for us and this resulted in some evenings and every morning becoming a nightmare when we tried to find suitable seating.
We were allocated two rooms overlooking the street and around seven skips of rubbish which were looted on a daily basis from around 3.30 in the afternoon, a lovely spectacle when you've returned from lunch or the beach and wish to sit and relax on the balcony. Our friend, who insists that she booked and paid for a superior double room was allocated a lesser priced junior suite above the pathway to the rear gate of the hotel and the response to her objection was basically "take it or leave it - we're full". Her room was perpetually dark due to a tree directly outside her balcony, had no view whatsoever and never got any sun.
After breakfast one morning, I had to clear a table full of dirty dishes by the pool, which had been there before we went into breakfast, so for at least 45 minutes. In a supposed 4 star hotel? The all day coffee facility, served from the bar just off the swimming pool terrace, could only be used when the barman could be located, which was rarely. We had a similar experience when we went down for pre-dinner drinks one night and had to go to reception to ask if they could locate someone to serve us. I lost count of the number of people who tried to get a drink and just gave up.
With the exception of two or three reception staff, the remainder were disinterested, unhelpful and abrupt to the point of rudeness. When I reported that our balcony light wasn't working the response was a curt "it's automatic, you have no control". I then had to explain that I was aware that the lights were on a timer but since everyone else's light was on, apart from ours, there was clearly a problem. This resulted in a begrudging "room number?" being barked at me. Additionally, two members of reception staff in particular, a young male and middle aged woman, were respectively unhelpful, ill mannered and argumentative.
We also had a balcony door with a makeshift replacement handle and the hole from the original one still visible. Paint was peeling off the balcony door and windows and our friends next door had a loose bannister on the stairs down to the living room area, highly dangerous as one of them has severe arthritis and limited mobility.

I get the impression that this hotel trades on a reputation of a hardcore of guests who return year after year, are treated like royalty and allocated all the best rooms. The remainder of us appear to be perceived as an inconvenience and heaven knows what one would have to do to be allocated a decent room. Possess a German passport?
From the point of view of decor and service level, this hotel neither warrants or deserves it's 4 star rating and the attitude of some of the staff have ensured that we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephenhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Stephenhand,

First of all I would like to let you know that we re truly regret that you did not satisfied with the experience in our hotel.

We are surprise about some of your comments, The bar salon was close during the day until 16:00pm in june but there was a notice that if you want to use it please inform in recepctionand one restaurant waiter will go in order to serve you.

We have verified the bookings and you have reserved junior suites ( standar rooms ) not superior rooms.

Once again regretting that we did not offer you a service that lived up to your expectations, receive our kindest regards

David García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

The hotel is really nice and the location is fantastic. The rooftop sun terrace is amazing. The staff lovely, helpful and friendly. I would have considered returning as I holiday in the area each year.

However, the majority of the clientele appeared to be Dutch and the attitude of many of them towards other guests and sometimes the staff was truly appalling. I travelled on my own and found their behaviour boorish, unsettling and at times intimidating and it would definitely put me off booking again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zillikiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Zillikiz,

Thank you very much for your preference to Roc Lago Rojo, as well for the time you have taken to send us your comments on your last stay.

We really appreciate your nice words about teh rooftop, our staff and location.

Hope you give us the opportunity to host you again very soon.

Kind Regards

David García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Horrible experience at this hotel on Sunday. Arrived to be told we had no room as the hotel had overbooking so we needed to move to Hotel Roc Flamingo (which is in the town) after seeing Hotel Roc Flamigo I would not house my dog there. We had a friend traveling with us who is in a wheelchair and has no use in both legs, therefore we booked this hotel so we had easy access to both the beach and bars but hotel staff were not interested and all he kept saying was, we are giving AL at Flamingo and you need to go now. Hotel Flamingo is a 20 minute walk from the beach all downhill therefore all uphill on the way back (no way could we push the wheelchair all that way). Then he said 1 room was available but the wheelchair would not fit in. When going past the pool it was made clear why we we're been moved as everyone around the pool was 50+ (we are all in our 30s). On sitting in the lobby, I saw if you was over 40 you was checked in, anyone under this old was transferred to Flamingo hotel by taxi. Very poor experience from hotel staff would not use Hotel Roc chain again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
7  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

just back from holidays Had a fantastic time at this hotel. Great staff really clean and great location. Buffet breakfast & evening meal is excellent plenty dishes to choose from all staff are really helpful and as this is an adults only hotel makes it lovely and peaceful. the roof terrace also has a jacuzzi & just doing a rooftop swimming pool . will be back later in year

Room Tip: we had room 425 good views
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valreynolds8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Valreynolds8,

Thank you for posting such a positive review. We are really glad reading that you " had a fantastic time at this hotel ". It is really important to me knowing that my colleagues and staff treated you with excellent service. I know that they work very hard every day to achieve the level of excellence that every guest deserves.

On behalf of all of them and myself , our warmest gratitude , for being the perfect ambassador of our service culture.

We hope to have the change to welcome you again in our hotel and make you live another fantastic experience...

Kind Regards

David García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Bedroom , in need of total revamp , very tired ,dated and grubby. Don’t be fooled by website pictures , we booked a triple room but got a double with a camp bed,couch in living area was filthy, no tea coffee facilities no ventilation in bathroom . On the upside lady at reception was helpful breakfast was lovely and the hotel is in an ideal location for access to beach and shops

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank bernadettem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Bernadettem1,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Lago Rojo hotel for your holidays, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us.

We are really sorry about your deceive but we have verified our web side and the room descriptions and pictures are correct. It should be a misunderstanding from your part.

In our hotel we have 3 different kind of rooms:

JUNIOR SUITE ( standar room ):
The Junior Suites of Roc Lago Rojo Hotel offer 44 m² of surface and a capacity for 3 adults.

SUPERIOR DOUBLE ROOM
Thanks to its 33 m², the double rooms of Hotel Roc Lago Rojo offer an excellent space to relax and enjoy an environment full of comforts.They are placed on the fith floor. Rooms with sea view have 10€ extra cost per day.

They all feature a balcony with views to the surroundings of the hotel, fully-equipped bathroom with bathtub and hairdryer, minibar, TV, telephone...


JUNIOR SUITE PREMIUM
Renovated spacious and comfortable rooms (44 m2 approx.). Modern decor throughout, with a lounge area and sofa bed, flat screen TV, sleeping area with twin beds and a private bathroom. These suites have a balcony including a patio furniture set.

Clients of these Premium rooms will enjoy the following amenities like Nespresso machine and Bottle of water upon arrival.

We would like to inform you that we do not have camp beds in the hotel. Triples rooms have 3 beds.

Furthermore, receiving such kind words regarding our location, reception staff and our breakfast offer, make us be motivated to keep doing our best in order to fulfill your expectations through excellence.

Finally, thanks again for your comment. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at our Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews