We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 024)
Filter reviews
3 024 results
Traveller rating
1 268
1 169
414
109
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 268
1 169
414
109
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bowling green sunny side half board plenty of sunbeds walk in shower plenty of choice across the road reception staff don marco building work side sea view hotel complex dining room indoor pool lovely hotel evening entertainment entertainment area
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 3 024 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Family holiday including daughter and partner. Son and family who were s/c came to visit us and were turned away. Very embarrassing for them, especially as we were welcomed to their accom, so not happy with that. Could have been done in a nicer way.

Room tip: Instructions for air con please
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank Dream521989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Pablo By Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Dream521989,

Thank you very much for your time and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are genuinely happy to know you overall had a nice stay at Sol Don Pablo.

Sorry for the inconvenience we may have caused due to the incident with your family.
Mainly the hotel facilities are for people staying at the hotel, we would like to inform you that if we have known you'll have visit at the hotel before they arrived we would have been able to organize it.
Sorry again if you feel embarrased.

We hope you choos us again for your next visit to Torremolinos.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,

Verónica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel but horrible service. First time employees refuse to help me for a call in spanish (!!). Long line-ups for check-in and check-out. Nobody at the desk by night... only security. And smiles are rare.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Pathfinder824791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Pablo By Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Yayie D,

Thank you very much for your time and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
Sorry for not reaching your expectations regarding our staff. Well discuss this with the reception manager so a situation as you described won't happen again. We would like to inform you that there should be always someone at the reception, maybe he was at the back office at that moment but we have 24 hours reception. We apologise again.

We hope you give us the chance to have you with us again so we can provide you the product and services expected.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest regards,

Verónica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Hotel Sol Don Pablo

We arrived at the hotel by taxi from Malaga airport. The journey took about 15-20 ,minutes. Although we arrived early around 12:45pm, before the 2pm check in time, they still let us check in early for no extra charge. The staff wasnt very friendly and the check in seemed to take quite a long time.
The room
It is somewhere in between a 3 and 4 star. We had asked for a double bed but got two singles pushed together but these used to move apart if we moved in the bed whilst sleeping. For a young married couple like us not very convenient. It has an LCD tv, an empty fridge for your convenience, a clothes presser thing, big wardrobe, and in the bathroom there is a bathtub, shower in the bath, hair dryer, thin towels (not the nice fluffy kind)
The room was cleaned and towels replaced daily. The room walls are very thin and you can hear people in other rooms talking and moving things about in their rooms. First night I was awoken by a full blown conversation in one of the other rooms.

Facilities
There are several pools in the complex but these seem to be frequented by families with young children and teens. There are plenty of sunbeds unlike other hotels I've been to and you can get these at almost anytime of day.
On the other hand the restaurant seems to be patroned by elderly people and mature couples and a few families with children. We like our holidays to be a time of relaxation and peace and quiet so the restaurant was a nicer atmosphere. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel. The food was ok, I preferred the breakfast than any other meal.
They have some kind of dress code for the dinner but the rules seem to be inconsistent. They say they dont allow shorts and sleeveless tops. On the first night despite the heat, my husband wore a trousers and shirt but to our surprise there were plenty of men in shorts. On the 2nd night my husband was asked at the entrance if he could please go and change because he had a sleeveless top on but strangely enough there were more than ten men wearing shorts and somehow that was ok. We pointed this out and the lady said shorts are ok.
The gym is located in one of the sister hotels in the complex but is very tiny. There are a number of classes and activities that take place during the day and evening shows in the evening. These consisted of musical shows, bingo and there was a mini disco for the kids.

The area
The beach is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and you can take lovely walks along the promenade or beach if you wish.
It's a lovely small town with lots of souvenir ships, restaurants and cafes. You can also get the train to Malaga where there are bigger shops and restaurants. The train also goes to the airport and is reasonably priced.
In all we enjoyed our stay and would return if we were in the area.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Missy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Pablo By Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Missy J,

Thank you very much for your time and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are glad you overall had a nice stay.

It's great to know you get the room as soon as you checkd in. Regarding the bed request, we would like to inform you that this kind of requests depend always on the availability of the hotel on your arrival date, we can not confirm them untul you get here. It's possible that when you checked in we had no rooms with a double bed available.
We really appreciate your comments about our buffet services. About the dress code, we are more flexible during summer season as our guests come mostly with summer clothes.

Thanks again for choosing us for your holidays.

We llok forward to having you with us again.

Kindest regards,

Verónica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We have stayed in this area several times, having stayed in the Sol Principe on the two previous occasions. Walking along the promenade last year we were very impressed with the front of the Sol Don Hotels. We chose the Don Pablo as the rooms faced the front and sea. Our room was on the 8th floor overlooking the bowling green, not the best sea view but nice enough. Our room was very nicely decorated, cleaned daily and towels changed. Plenty of storage was available focus and the beds were comfortable. Bathroom was clean with a good bath and shower.
Overall the refurbishment is very good and we liked the clean streamlined look, with lots of pools to sit beside and plenty of sunbeds, although we prefer to sit on the beach. We ate in the smaller of the dining rooms and loved the outdoor area. Waiting staff were efficient and friendly. Food was only average in our opinion - not a great choice and very much the same each evening, although the snack bar food during the day was very nice. Bar service was good and staff friendly. Entertainment was rather hit and miss. The hotel is perfectly placed for the old town and also for walking along the promenade. Being regular visitors to the all inclusive holiday, we had a very enjoyable time, but I'm not sure we would visit again, although that may be the resort rather than the hotel.
I do have to commend the reception staff - on the morning we left, we inadvertently left an item in the safe. By the time I realised and telephoned the hotel, the item was already at reception. The wonderful receptionist (I'm sorry that I don't remember her name) arranged for a taxi to bring the item to meet me at the airport, for which I am very grateful.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Jules18754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Pablo By Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Jules18754,

Thank you very much for your time and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are genuinely happy to know you had a nice stay at So Don Pablo. It's great to know you liked our renovated rooms overlooking the sea. Thanks a lot for your comments regarding the cleanness of our rooms and facilities. The housekeeping department work hard every day to make sure the hotel is absolutely clean.
Sorry for not reaching your expectations regarding the food and all inclusive service. We would like to inform you that we are developing a new all inclusive offer for next season.
We are glad we were able to return you back your forgoten item.

Thank you very much again for choosing us for your holidays.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Kindest regards,

Verónica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Visited hotel in September ,any requests we asked for when booking were met.At check in we were greeted by a friendly face who welcomed us back.Room was clean and we had a little welcome treat in the room on arrival .Plenty of choice at mealtimes entertainment during day and evening was good ,don't have anything bad to say about hotel or staff ,and a big thank you to Lusia who is always so helpful.

Room tip: Pay a little extra to book a room on the sunny side facing the bowling green
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mal96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Pablo By Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Dear mal96,

Thank you very much for your time and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are genuinely glad you had a great stay at Sol Don Pablo. We really appreciate your comments about our facilities, services and staff.
It's great to know we met all your expectations.

Reviews like yours make us keep working hard so our guests leave the hotel wanting to come back.

Looking forward to welcomingo you back again soon.

Kindest regards,

Verónica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews