We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 031)
Filter reviews
1 031 results
Traveller rating
367
391
156
67
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
391
156
67
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool old town turkish bath two double beds euro deposit el corte ingles air con sea view minute walk mini fridge good size ceiling fan hen weekend lovely hotel girls holiday bars and restaurants breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1 031 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

The check in was fine although we found the reception staff were not very friendly , the stafff on the roof top bar were allways happy and helpful dispute tthere been a lack of sun beds , and one jacussi was having a overall surely this could have been done in the winter months , the food was very average not 4 star , I wouldn’t go half board again and a coup,e from Dublin had their full safe and suitcases stollen they broke intoo their room and they were treated appallingly and had too fight for a lift too the embassy for temporary passports and even too have a free dinner has they had no money not good enough I won’t be going back too this hotel no entertainment on

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senator-Hotels, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We are very sorry about your comments that our recetion staff services were not very satisfactory; because all our formation is based to improve the kindliness and be professional to our guests.

With respect to the incident regarding the jacussi, I would like to inform you that it got damaged and we had immediately to close it in order to repair it. At any time we had programmed any jacussi works it was an unexpected event.

Concerning your comments about the quality of the food, we would like to communicate, that for many years we pay the most attention to the quality of the products and their elaboration. We apologise for your discontentedness with the quality of dinner in your stay , but I guarantee you, that our kitchen staff is constantly improving and trying to satisfy the different tastes of our guests.

We take guest feedback seriously, and it is disconcerting to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Therefore, we
will work on the issues you addressed since our goal is to provide an experience that exceeds our guests´expectation. We hope that you give us another chance and to have you as our guests again.

Yours sincerely,
Jose Martos
GM. Senator Marbella Spa Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel has had a light refurb since our last visit but thankfully no drastic changes.
Great to see some familiar friendly staff on arrival. Comfortable and clean rooms.
The only downside to this hotel sadly is some clientele. The hotel has become a magnet for stag and hen parties and sadly whilst some are well behaved, some behave in a manner which negatively impacts on other guests. I trust the hotel management will continue to monitor and address this problem as needed.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TrevorB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senator-Hotels, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We do apologise for the inconvenience suffered during your stay, we did warned them several times and even reinforced the vigilance at the hotel.

We always do our best to control the noisy people. We hope that the next time your stay at the hotel will be more pleasant.

Kind regards,
Jose Martos
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We recently stayed in the Senator Marbella Spa hotel.Our experience of the hotel was marred by a large group of extremely rowdy and rude guests many of whom spent their days drinking in the lobby bar of the hotel from as early as 9 am. They also spent a lot a time drinking and being disruptive in the roof top area.
Their children spent their time in the foyer and roof top area as well - often unsupervised -and made it extremely difficult for other guests to come and go, to enjoy the roof top area and even at times to simply go in and out of the lifts as they constantly pressed the elevator buttons and refused to wait for people to come out of the lift before entering it themselves.
We felt extremely uncomfortable at all times while in the hotel and at times even had difficulty entering and leaving the hotel as this group loitered around the only entrance to the lobby as well.
The reception and service staff dealt with this situation as best they could but at no point did we see management make an effort to intervene and support either staff or their other guests by asking this group to modify their behaviour.
This lack of consideration for other guests on the hotel's part fell well below the 4 star rating of the hotel. We were extremely disappointed overall with our stay and won’t be returning to Marbella for some time and probably never to the Senator Marbella Hotel.
Mr & Mrs Johnston

Date of stay: May 2018
2  Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senator-Hotels, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Our aim is our guests have a pleasant stay and that is what we work for, trying to improve every day.

Regarding your comments we are sorry you felt the way you explained in your email. At the same time I would like to inform you that we have not information about the kind of group entering the hotel, till the moment of check in.

From that point, I can assure you that, the staff was warned about the situation at the hotel, the security reinforced, adding one more concierge on duty together with the swimming pool lifeguard and the timetables reviewed.

I can also asure you that the management team was at all time present, and dealt with the situation the best way we could in order to try your stay would be as pleasant as we could. Even the local police was contacted and they visited us in several occasions. As you could see, it is not easy to deal with guest having this kind of behavior, and we are sorry that your stay at the Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, coincides with their stay, as it is not the normal guest we have at the hotel.

We will take into account your impressions and will work to improve these points you mentioned so your perception of our product will be completely satisfactory next time you visit us.

Kind Regards
Jose Martos
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We went here with 20 guys for a golf trip. The hotel looks pretty nice from the outside, is located about 2/300 mtrs. from the beach and boulevard.

The check-in was ok, even though that was a misunderstanding with our booking. However compared to other 4 star hotels I have stayed it was quite slow. Received only one room card which was to be used to unlock the electricity. It was fine now but in the high season and it is hot one would like to keep the room cooler when leaving the room and that is not possible with just one room entrance card.
Small thing where a hotel that pretends to deliver quality should think off.

Another thing I never experienced in a 4* star hotel is the fact the room safe is be paid for, something like EUR 6/day.
Seeing some reviews where apparently people experienced theft in the hotel a safe should be given for free.

The hotel bar is quite small and not really inviting to spend a long time but good for a quick drink or a small bite.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful when needed.

The breakfast also was not really 4* quality in my view. half of the fruits presented were from cans. Did not see any choice of vegetables.
Eggs were prepared on request which was very nice.
There was a fresh orange juice machine so plenty of fresh juice.

We had 4 dinners included but used it only once as the choice was not great neither was the quality. More of a 2 or 3* class hotel.

Rooms were nice and spacious with good beds and a big bathroom and all looked very clean! Room service was of a good quality!

Overall an ok hotel but in my view not a true 4* hotel.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senator-Hotels, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel and your kind comments given towards our establishment, and particularly, our staff. I will take this positive review to them personally.

We´re at the same time surprised about the mention, about the fact that you have seen in recent reviews that there were theft in the room, as far as I remember; I have no knowledge of it.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

We are at your full disposal should your require any further information and hope we can meet you soon in our hotel or any of our Senator Hotels & Resorts chain establishments.

Respectfully yours,

Jose Martos
GM Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

This is a fabulous hotel. We stayed bed and breakfast. Breakfast is fantastic fruit fresh bread jam. Omelettes cooked to order. Cold meats etc plus fresh juice and coffee. In fact anything you could want for breakfast. Room very good. Fresh sheets towels etc every day. Coffe tea facilities plus toiletries supplied. Sea view. Dressing gowns and slippers plus complementary drinks in mini fridge. We had room service on Sunday for lunch as local supermarket closed. We had club sandwiches. They were excellent. Cannot fault this hotel. Towels supplied. Paid extra for safe which we always expect. Ignore negative reviews.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 589dandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senator-Hotels, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comment regarding our hotel. It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay in our hotel was as pleasant as you indicated.
Your comment makes us feel proud of the work done on a daily basis,with the only aim of satisfying the needs of our guests.

We stay in your entire disposal and and would be delighted that you would provide the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again .Meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Respectfully yours,

Jose Martos
GM Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews