We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely ground floor apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alicate Playa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alicate Playa - designed by award-winning architect
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Alicate Playa - designed by award-winning architect
Private pathway to the beach
Private secure underground parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Marbella, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Veronica...
West Malling, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What you see is not what you get!”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location which cannot be faulted, close to one of the best beaches we have been to in Spain, but the apartment was very very dark and we had to use lights throughout the day, regardless of the time. No sun reaches the terrace at any time, and there is absolutely no view of anything from the apartment, other than looking into a couple of Palm plants. Due to this, the place felt extremely unwelcoming, so we spent as little time there as possible.
Although this is a ground floor apartment which we normally prefer so as to access the pool easily, we were unable to go outside of the flat other than via the front door. The only way to access the pool is by going all the way around the outside of the apartment, so we may as well have stayed in an upper floor apartment with a bit of a view.
The apartment is equipped with the absolute barest of necessities, is very tired and in need of a good facelift. The shelves in both bathrooms are badly rusted. The ad says that the apartment is well decorated, when in fact there is hardly any welcoming decor to speak of. The lounge has an old leather lounge suite, a centre table and TV. There is a dining table and six chairs - a couple of lamps that don't work, and a painting on one wall. There are no carpets, or anything else to make the place feel homely.
The ad mentioned satellite TV, and we wrongly assumed that we would be able to get some English Channels - to our dismay, there are only Spanish Channels - not that we wanted to stare at TV whilst on holiday, but it would have been nice to at least keep up with the news.
We reported that the aircon controls were not working on our first day to the Agent, and she only sent a Technician to repair this on the day we were leaving two weeks later! We had to work out that we needed to switch on the main switch in the DB board, and then switch off there as well.
We are regular visitors to the Costa del Sol, and this could be rated as one of the worst places we have stayed in thus far.
The owner cannot be faulted for his friendly helpful manner, but his representative in Spain could learn a few 'people skills'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2014
Although the review meets the guidelines, I feel that it is unfair and misleading as it makes criticisms for things which are beyond our control and makes disparaging remarks about the state of repair and presentation of the apartment that seem aimed at damaging our reputation rather than guiding potential guests.

I stayed at the apartment immediately after this guest and found it most agreeable. The guest immediately after me gave the following feedback:

"Hi all good thanks we had a great time and enjoyed the apartment very much. I will leave feedback when I get a chance. We hope to come back in the future. It was a perfect location for us with the kids. It would have been good to have known ref the recent satellite TV change as we would have brought some DVDs with us but managed to find a great app called filmon which allows you to access British channels without paying - maybe useful to mention to future guests." Susanne.

The items that I refer to that are beyond our control are:

1 The TV channels available. The review failed to mention that removal of English-language channels affected the whole Costa del Sol, and that we installed WiFi to provide an alternative source of English TV.

2 That the shadow cast over our one of our terraces by another building occurs in the low season when the sun is lower in the sky. In Spring and Autumn, when this guest was there, it receives sunshine at certain times of the day. The other terrace gets full sun, Neither this nor the fact that a sunny pool and lawn area with loungers is meters away from that terrace was not mentioned in the review.

3 The layout of all apartments in the complex involves access to the pool via the front door rather than the pool-facing terrace. This complex was designed by an award-winning architect and, even if this guest disapproves of this design, it remains a prestigious and highly regarded complex boasting first-class facilities.

4 The planting of the gardens with tropical plants in front of our apartment is something I would like to be thinned and am trying to get the Community to do this. However, criticising the apartment for a overdue trimming is used to give the impression of a dark unpleasant apartment, which is not the case. It is true that some bulbs needed replacing and I did this when I stayed there just afterwards. Hardly a serious failing!

The remarks about the furnishings, fittings and décor are particularly hurtful as I am continually upgrading these aspects. I am currently replacing the linen, DVD player, adding a sofa-bed and making various other improvements. We have recently replaced the TV and have installed WiFi. The sofa, table and chairs are of quality leather and oak. The apartment was painted less than 12 months ago.

This guest has taken a lot of trouble to write a long and scathing review. I am a loss as to why. I know there was a problem with the washing machine, which was rectified by our technical staff and one with the a/c which could not be rectified until the guest had vacated. Due a mix-up on my part with departure times, he arrived early to make the repairs, for which I made sincere apologies. I would have hoped that the fact that I had allowed the guest to leave much later than the normal check-out time would have been taken into account.

The negative remark about my local agent is also unfair, since she is my greatest ally in dealing with any issues that occur and works very hard to make our guests welcome and well-looked after.

As the other reviews on this site and on others that we have received over the years testify, this is a nice apartment that has a long record of providing a great holiday base for our guests. Any owner will tell you that things sometimes go wrong, but our guests are normally very understanding as they realise we take all problems very seriously and do our best to rectify them, as we did in this case.

Tony Murphy (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely ground floor apartment”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely ground floor apartment in a quiet complex. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The pool was great, even in August no need to bag a sunbed as there were plenty available all day!!!. A short walk to the beach along the private path approx 3-5 mins, turn left and you will find an abundance of beach bars and places to eat. 'El Rosario' is nearby with a supermarket for all your needs. Car hire recommended. Yes I would stay here again:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Lack of shops nearby
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R R
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes that needed ticking, great holiday!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had everything that we wanted, very children friendly, quiet and good restaurants within walking distance - having a car helped getting to the local Super Sol and visiting Marbella. The Hippo Bar was a popular place to grab a drink, something to eat and located on the beach. The pool was great and never crowded. Highly recommend and an easier owner / agent to deal with - great holiday and would return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment in quiet loaction all you need like home from home”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is about 6km from Marbella it had two bedrooms and two bathrooms it was very clean and well equipped . We were meet by the local agent who was very helpful and at the property at the time promised to meet us . The communication with the owner was always good with fast responses to any questions and lots of good advice given to us as well in the welcome pack .
The apartment has a secure parking place provided under ground with electric gates to get in and out . The apartment has everything we needed and the WiFi was good to have to stay in contact with friends at home .
You have a nice beach and restaurant just 5 min walk away the apartment was quiet while we were there and the pool clean and a good size .
A car is a bonus to have to get to the Local resorts and the local supermarket .
I would certainly recommend the apartment and certainly would stay there again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmabrut
Montlucon, France
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2018
Merci, gracias er thank you!

Tony & Paola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing