We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food but understaffed ”
Review of Beckett’s

Beckett’s
Ranked #18 of 1 597 Restaurants in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$80
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant & Bar Beckett’s Marbella has been established for over 16 years in Marbella. We have gained a reputation for providing top class service and serving high quality food time and time again. Our menu has innovation and fresh, locally sourced ingredients at its core. Infused with an International flavour and a selection of Specials every evening, there is something to suit everyone’s palette on Beckett’s Menu, delights and excites, offering both daring and simple homely dishes. Open from 6pm Monday to Saturday Early Bird option 3 courses at 27.50€ Bar open to non-diners with an exciting tapas menu available. The group now has two other sister restaurants - The Playwright Marbella in Elviria Alevante Marbella in the Yacht Club in Marbella marina, a short distance from Beckett's
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Having previously dined here 4years ago on our honeymoon I decided to go back to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday. I had booked several months ago for the Saturday night. There was 7 of us dining. When we arrived the gentleman working the floor was surprised to see us, I said that I had booked several months ago and left my number but they didn't phone to confirm although they did confirm at the time by email. There were only 2 staff on the floor, they also had to work the bar so getting their attention for drinks etc was hard work, definitely not their fault just extremely understaffed, that said the restaurant wasn't near full. When we ordered we did have quite a wait, but when the food arrived it was amazing. Everyone was in agreement, we all had 3 courses and each course was as good as the previous one. There were 2 chefs dining with us, one of which was my husband and they both really enjoyed it. They even had a candle stuck in my husbands dessert and we sang happy birthday. Great wee touch. Would definitely return as food was first class, but definitely need more front of house staff on. The gentleman that did serve us and took our orders was excellent. We will hopefully see yous again when we return

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Ciaralou01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becketts M, Public Relations Manager at Beckett’s, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for your review. Great to hear how much you enjoyed your meal. Im sorry the service was not up to scratch, this is not normal practice for us. Im sure the lack of staff on the day would have been due to sickness or special circumstances. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2018

We strolled along this restaurant and it looked very inviting so we opted to have dinner here. We were not dissapointed! Everything was very tasteful and wonderfully presented, both the entrees and the mains. Accompanied with a nice bottle of red wine, we had a great evening. We will be back!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gerardaVeldhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Loved this restaurant. The staff were very attentive and the food was delicious. Have eaten in some very fine restaurants and this one is very good competition. I had the turbot on a bed of saffron risotto and it was amazing. My husband had the slow braised beef and it was also delicious. Would definitely go here again. The only negative was that my husband wanted a cocktail and they said that they were too busy but offered to make a wonderful gin and tonic, which it was.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jam1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We have been regular customers for many years but felt the front of house service fell short back last summer under the new manager. So, pleased to see Jorges and Desiree back in charge. We spent Christmas Day here and enjoyed superb food, beautifully presented, and excellent service. Live music by Vicki Reid was fabulous.
We returned for dinner the following week and noticed some very good new dishes on the a la carte menu with the loin of pork being excellent. Tapas are also available in the beautiful bar area. No hesitation in recommending.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Rosemarymarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We popped our heads in the 2 rd line Restaurant on our first night in Marbs for a snack , pleasant surprise that evening with 2 glasses of champagne and 3 excellent Tapas ,and great interior decor , we decide to try the menu for a evening 3 course meal a couple of days later , Starters were a work of art a tasty to a Beef chiili type thingy 10-10, then main course Lemon sole in tempera 10-10 and i had Liver and bacon !!! 10-10
pudding was a work of art and well served . all in all a go to place next time we go back

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beckett’s also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Nueva Andalucia, Marbella
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Beckett’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing