We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Iglesia Catedral Basilica de la Encarnacion
Open today: 10:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Giant and guilded - DON'T use the audio guide!

We chose to visit the cathedral having spotted its multi-domed roof from up in the castle of... read more

Reviewed 22 October 2018
skyisblu
,
Montreal, Canada
Beautiful city and cathedral

Walking around Málaga is an amazing experience. There are so many sites to see and spend a time... read more

Reviewed 3 January 2018
Mark D
,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Read all 50 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Malaga
from US$9,30
More Info
from US$4,60
More Info
from US$9,90
More Info
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
24
20
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
20
4
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Beautiful from inside. A 400-year old organ is still working.
Tips: Someone said it's closed on Sunday but actually it's open, at least in the morning.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Zheng W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

I visited in New Years Day. I did not have to pay. Entered via Front Door. Plenty of information in various languages. I observed mass given by Bishop even though I am neither religious or Catholic and it was worth the hour I spent there. Very nicely maintained. Built on site of ancient mosque. Smack in the middle of the old city. Beautiful facade. See pictures I am attaching!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank jocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

This is a big building which you have to pay for to see - and no concessions for retired! There is very little information about the paintings, relics or history and I just came to the conclusion that they just wanted to take the money - not worth it!

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank cyclecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015

This was built to impress, and it does, but it is not particularly beautiful and does not benefit from canned organ music and a ban on photography and an exit contrived to take you tyhrough the shop. Architecturally, it is a good example of how to waste space.

The final rip-off is that you have to exit and find another entrance, and pay, to enter the Royal Chapel to see the most interesting feature, which is the crypt holding the tombs of Ferdinand and Isabella. At that point, a guard will interogate you and demand that you delete the photo you had just taken, without flash, of the only thing worth seeing: I had, probably, better not attach it to this review.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank EssexRiparian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews